We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfection”
Review of Brora Lodge B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wigtown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brora Lodge B&B
Ranked #2 of 7 Wigtown B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Myself and my business partner stayed for two nights while working in Wigtown. Brora Lodge was simply fantastic.

Very warm welcome, wonderful views, very comfortable and well presented rooms.

I live in the region ... but will find an excuse to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ingamcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrparnold, Owner at Brora Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

We have been overwhelmed by your very kind review of our B&B home, and knowing your position in the local tourist business community we are indeed honoured by your comments. So pleased you and your guest really enjoyed what we offer here, and we look forward to you staying with us again when you can. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 123 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night and we were very impressed with everything. Our room was spotlessly clean and well-equipped and we were made to feel very welcome. It was very refreshing to hear " you tell us what time you'd like your breakfast, it's your holiday after all"
As we are used to a king size bed, we found the double bed slightly cramped but this is certainly no reflection on Brora Lodge, simply our preference. Great breakfast and a beautiful conservatory for guests to use.
We fully recommend Brora Lodge - you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We were in room 4 which has a double bed. It is not a particularly large room but we had enough spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison14210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrparnold, Owner at Brora Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thanks very much for your kind review of our home, we're very pleased that you had a good time here and hope you will stay with us again the next time you 'spoil' your husband with a trip to our area. Sorry that our double bed did not meet your king size expectations, but we hope it encouraged you to get a little closer to each other! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is the first of three visits this year and comfort, quality, and welcome outstanding. Hoping during our visit in June we will be able to sit out and look across the marshland and estuary from the garden and soak it up, if not there is a fantastic conservatory that we eat breakfast and also can use at your leisure, with this B and B you can treat it like home all day come and go as you please. You only have to leave at 10 on the day you depart. Fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baltinettles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrparnold, Owner at Brora Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you very much for the kind review, nice to know we have enabled you to have a lovely visit to our area once again. The sun shone again today and we have been very busy planting up the window boxes and tubs, and working on the garden to ensure its as good as ever. Our table and chairs are now out on the lawn and waiting for your return to have a nice pot of tea and some biscuits, whilst you drink in the amazing view that surrounds us, and relax in the peace and quiet of Wigtown. See you in June when we pray the sun still shines for you. All the best, and thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Situated with outstanding views over Wigtown Bay this outstanding B&B provides comfortable accomodation,great breakfasts and a warm friendly atmosphere in a well maintained home.
Much has already been written regarding Brora Lodge all of it praiseworthy.
I can do no more than to wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Just had two nights at Brora Lodge, our second visit. The rooms are comfortable, even though there are only showers rather than baths, and just about big enough to make life easy. The welcome and hospitality were great, which shows consistency with our first visit, while the breakfasts in the conservatory were tasty, with good choice, and a superb outlook across the RSPB bird reserve. You'll see a review on here that criticises the Golden Shred marmalade - if that's all that's wrong then shred the reviewer for being too picky! A lot of effort goes into making this a B and B or rare quality and it shows. We rate comfort above price, although Brora Lodge is great value compared with others in Wigtown, and will be back soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happytraveller030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrparnold, Owner at Brora Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Hello and thank you very much for your kind words. As a regular you now know we try our best with what we've got to offer here, to make sure your stay with us is as good as possible, and do we try to supply the best products and ingredients (in our humble opinion) to make our breakfasts the best. That includes offering a certain marmalade that the maker boasts is the best in the world (check the label), and with which we agree, and not just offering any old product just because its made in Scotland. We do not go in for the typical touristy tricks, we just want you all to have the best. We think the 50 odd excellent reviews confirm this and we are very happy that the majority of our guests are happy too.
Once again thank you for your support, and we look forward to ensuring your next stay is as good as the others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is our second stay this year, what a place, comfy,warm, good views, very clean and a very good breakfast. The conservatory was great setting for breakfast, hopefully we will get to sit out in the lovely garden to chill out next time. The other nice thing is you can come and go as you please any time of day and treat it like home.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baltinettles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had 2 nights here and could recommend the B&B without hesitation.
Why have I not given it 5*s -
I am not a fan of man made fibre duvets?
We had a shower en suite not bath.
Little things like only Golden Shred marmalade - no Dundee stuff and in Scotland.
Just nit-picking.
The hosts were wonderful and the views from the breakfast extension to die for.
We would go back, and probably will, without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nookman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wigtown hotels
0 mi away
Hillcrest House
Hillcrest House
#1 of 7 in Wigtown
118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glaisnock House
Glaisnock House
#3 of 7 in Wigtown
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Craft Hotel
#4 of 7 in Wigtown
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brora Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brora Lodge B&B

Address: Brora Lodge Station Road, Wigtown DG8 9DZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Wigtown
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Wigtown
Price Range: $53 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Brora Lodge, a comfortable modern Visit Scotland 4 star graded bed and breakfast residence located in the historic town of Wigtown. Feel at home in this luxury base to explore the many sights and attractions of the Galloway area and beyond. A warm welcome, a pleasant stay, a delicious breakfast, and good bonhomie awaits you here. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brora Lodge B&B Wigtown, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing