We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sky cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Sky Cottage

Sky Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sky Cottage
Living room Fully equipped kitchen with everything you need
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Sky Cottage
Living room
Fully equipped kitchen with everything you need
Dining area
One of the double bedrooms overlooking Loch Ryan
Second double bedroom
Twin room which overlooks the garden
Tiered Garden
Play Area in Agnew Park
Stunning photo of the Island in Agnew Park
Taken from a pedal boat on the boating lake in Agnew Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wulyfalco...
Kilmarnock
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sky cottage ”
Reviewed June 28, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely little cottage not too far from the town centre
It's actually bigger than It looks from the outside
We were working here for the week and this cottage had everything we needed to suit our needs perfectly
Two double rooms with a sea view and a nice twin room
Two lovely bathrooms and a little room with tv PlayStation and an array of games
For the kids
A cosy livingroom and a well stocked kitchen/dining area with old photos of stranraer back in the day adding some character to your visit
There is also a beautiful tiered back door area with barbecue equipment and lots of florabunda
This property is cleaned to a very high standard
Thanks to james and Gillian our hosts for making our stay brilliant
And thanks also for the amazing welcome pack too
Hopefully we will be working down this neck of the woods again before too long
And I won't hesitate to give you a call
Many thanks wullyfalcon

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libby m
Glasow
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 3, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We are just home after staying in this amazing cottage over New Year!!!! this is in an exellent location and we had a lovely welcome from James ,there was also bread milk butter cakes and biscuits provided which was a lovely touch and much appreciated by ourselves.The cottage has everything you need, and morewhich made our stay in Stranraer just perfect,we are already talking about returning in the future,and would love to rent Sky Cottage again !!!
A BIG THANK YOU to Gillian And James,

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2017
Thanks so much for your kind words and leaving the cottage so tidy. It was a pleasure accommodating you. A wee bonus for the gents was their team's result. Can't take credit for that! Would love to see you again. All the best for 2017 and beyond.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsE-Edin...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Super cottage, especially with kids - hope to visit again”
Reviewed November 4, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Sky Cottage is full of character, clean, quiet, cosy and equipped with everything you will ever need.
We have a 3 year old and an 18-month old and it was so nice to have everything in place for the wee ones, including a small playroom with toys, high chair, travel cot, stair gates and kids' cutlery, plates etc.
The area around Stranraer is a lovely place to explore, and the cottage's position in town means that everything is within walking distance.
Our stay was easy to arrange directly with the owners, and they provided a warm welcome, even with a few essentials in the fridge to greet us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2016
Thank you for your positive response. We were delighted to accommodate you and your family in Sky Cottage and are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Having young children ourselves, we understand the importance of ensuring that the cottage is child friendly, welcoming and fully equipped for families. Thank you once again for choosing our cottage. We hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole M
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 2, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Sky Cottage was very well presented, very clean and tidy. I do feel that pics were slightly misleading. The rooms were all very small especially the staircase. The garden was overgrown so we didn't get to use it.
Sky Cottage is very well equipped, everything you might need. Ideally situated.
The only thing I was disappointed with was room sizes, it did feel very cramped.
I don't think I would return, I prefer a bit more space. More comfort.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2016
Sorry to hear you were disappointed with the cottage Carole. As a former Fisherman's cottage dating back to 1749, rooms were naturally smaller in those days. We try to make the most of the space available however appreciated that they may not have been as big as you were expecting. We hope that all other aspects of your stay were enjoyable, though you were very unlucky with the weather. Thank you once again for staying at Sky Cottage. Kindest regards, James & Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murdoch W
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good location pleasant stay”
Reviewed August 9, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Myself, wife and 4 family stayed at Sky cottage for 6 days 1st week in August,we enjoyed our visit and cottage was ideal.The welcome was great and facilities good, hope to return..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2016
Thank you for your review Murdoch. You and your family were a pleasure to accommodate and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We would be delighted to see you again in the future. Kindest regards, James & Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie W
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We are a family of 6 with children of 6, 8, 13 & 14 and stayed in Sky cottage for 5 nights at the end of May/early June. The cottage is lovely and clean, well sized bedrooms and well located. We used it as a base whilst visiting family in the area so didn't spend a massive amount of time in the cottage but when we were there, everything was great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2016
Thank you for that really positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Sky Cottage and would welcome you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidIHut...
Eggleston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very welcoming”
Reviewed October 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Parking very good as there is a car park over the road as well as outside the cottage. The cottage was clean and tidy and we enjoyed our stay at Stranrear. We were up visiting friends for a wedding, we had a lovely weekend

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing