We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just perfect”
other travelers have booked this property
Balker Lodge, Lochinch Castle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balker Lodge, Lochinch Castle
Balker Lodge, Lochinch Castle, Bathroom detail Lochinch Castle & White Loch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Balker Lodge, Lochinch Castle
Balker Lodge, Lochinch Castle, Bathroom detail
Lochinch Castle & White Loch
Lochinch Castle and Castle Kennedy Gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JCH124
Isle of Arran, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Just perfect ”
Reviewed June 17, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

If you love wildlife, peaceful surroundings and home comforts look no further. We spent a fabulous week at Balker Lodge, the setting is great as it allows for lots of walking from the cottage in the estate and into Castle Kennedy gardens which are about 1.5 mile walk through the estate along the loch. Bird song is constant and if you enjoy photography this is the place to stay. The enclosed garden is secure if like us you have a dog. The wildlife is literally on your doorstep. Red squirrels, deer, hares, bats, tits, jays, buzzards, wrens, pheasants and so many more to mention. You will find it hard to stop looking out of the windows.
The cottage is very cosy, spotlessly clean and well appointed. The most comfy bed with cool cotton bedding, super shower, fluffy towels and log burner in the lounge with plenty of logs for cosy evenings in. There are 2 mountain type bikes and helmets if you want to explore further although we didn't use them with having a dog in tow. You are welcomed with cake, wine and a few other essentials of milk, eggs, butter, tea and coffee.
Take a camera, binoculars and some bird nuts and you will be squirrel spotting in no time.
The cottage is located well for exploring the area with the Galloway forest around a 30 minute drive away as is Wigtown, Mull of Galloway, Portpatrick and some nice beaches.
We would return in a heartbeat.

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery, peace and quiet.”
Reviewed April 22, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Well appointed and maintained cottage, very comfortable. Gluten free cake and wine left for us. Castle Kennedy gardens are beautiful. Very quiet and peaceful. With added shooting stars.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaucotta...
Warton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Birthday trear”
Reviewed March 19, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
3
people found this review helpful

My husband booked a week away in Balker lodge for my birthday together with our dog. Words can't really express how delightful the lodge was and the Lochinch estate. When you take the turning onto the estate you enter a different world! The gardens,woodlands,lochs are there for you to wander. The lodge itself was immaculate,comfortable and fully equipped. Who wouldn't want to wake up with deer in the back and pheasants taking their morning walk. The buzzards were amazing as were a variety of creatures. The welcome on arrival was second to none ,a beautiful homemade cake (white milk chocolate ) and a variety of goodies. There was even a dog bed ready and waiting . It was wonderful, relaxing and the weather was even kind to us in early March. We hope to return next year for our Scottish fix!!

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie548
Wirksworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Luxury Lodge. Luxury setting.”
Reviewed March 27, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We are writing this review on our last full day at Balker Lodge. We will be very sad to leave. The Lodge is exactly as described but the photographs don't do it full justice. It is beautiful and has such a relaxing feel. The garden is a delight. We have seen red squirrel, hawks, deer, pheasants, blue tits and hares, all from the kitchen window! The grounds of the estate are fabulous. We were too late to enjoy the snowdrops and too early for the bluebells and rhododendrons but the daffodil displays were lovely to see. Wandering through Castle Kennedy Gardens before it was fully open for the season was priceless. These Gardens are stunning! Our walks from Balker Lodge along Black Loch and White Loch have been so relaxing and we are grateful that the weather has been kind to us. Everyone on the estate works incredibly hard and great care is taken to make this a special and memorable holiday home.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2016
Dear Debbie, thank you for taking the time last year to kindly review your stay with us at Balker Lodge. We really appreciate your comments and are so pleased that you enjoyed the place so much and were able to glimpse so much of the wildlife and the spring bulbs! Best wishes from all the team at Lochinch Castle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iwishtole...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage and location - unmissable experience”
Reviewed November 10, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Although we were only able to spend a few days at this luxurious lodge, it was well worth the journey. We were welcomed by a cosy cottage, beautifully appointed and a very welcome pack of provisions, including a mouthwatering chocolate cake. We had the best sleep we've had in years as the bed was so comfortable. The kitchen was very well appointed and we had everything we needed and more to make our stay special. We enjoyed walks through to Castle Kennedy gardens which were closed for the season, so we had them to ourselves and very lovely they were too, even at this late stage in the season. The wildlife lived up to expectations, although the red squirrel only took the nuts when were weren't looking (we did catch glimpses though). I personally shan't be making use of the very good mountain bikes - I tried, but my body just isn't built to cope with the saddle! We also enjoyed a trip to nearby Port Patrick and up to the Corsewall lighthouse for views of Ailsa Craig, Arran, Ireland and perhaps a glimpse of the Isle of Man? We did catch site of some glossy backs and fins, but couldn't tell if they were dolphin or porpoise - still felt lucky to have glimpsed them. We look forward to vising this lovely spot, perhaps in a different season.

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and seclusion
Liked least: The two day shoot on the Estate (not sport in my eyes but obviously a tradition)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Idyllic break in a stunning location”
Reviewed October 11, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Balker Lodge is a charming, romantic and secluded cottage, beautifully laid out and everything top notch! Could not fault it - was warm, comfortable and so perfectly located. Just a 5 minute drive from Stranraer, yet surrounded by woodland and wildlife! Bliss!

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Coming away!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An exceptional holiday cottage in a glorious setting -”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We cannot praise this cottage highly enough. It is beautifully decorated and furnished and very comfortable. It is full of pretty and thoughtful touches and feels luxurious and cosy. There is a lovely little garden and it feels private and hidden away in the woods. The weather for our week was patchy (as must often be the case) but what is marvellous about this cottage is the free and easy access to Castle Kennedy gardens. As soon as the rain clears, you can, within minutes, be exploring the extensive, varied and beautiful woods, gardens and lochs of Lochinch and Castle Kennedy. We hope to return soon.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to choose! The setting is exceptional, and we loved how beautifully decorated it was - also the bed is So comfortable.
Liked least: The rain - but we spent those days cosily reading by the fire, so it wasn't a problem.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing