We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly welcome awaits you at Harbour Lights!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harbour Lights Guest House
Ranked #2 of 25 Stranraer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We booked the accommodation at Harbour Lights based on the reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed.

The welcome we received put us completely at our ease and was great after the seven hour drive we had just had.

The room was well decorated and appointed and Rhona and Colin had also provided items in the room (biscuits, toffees, sachets of short gel etc) that were things you don't get in expensive hotels! These were nice touches and appreciated.

The room was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was superb.

Rhona and Colin are great hosts and we will certainly stay again when we are next in Stranraer.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppytraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Harbour Lights Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 187 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2011

Hosts Rhona & Colin were very welcoming. Our family room was fabulous, lots of space, very clean & the view was great. Would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliefisher_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

The Harbour Lights Guesthouse is a comfortable & convenient location, both for touring Dumfries & on the way to taking the ferry to Belfast.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schirato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We had a great stay. the room was lovely and comfortable.
The breakfast was every thing you could ask for.
Nothing is to much trouble for Rhona and Colin.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitzi38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRBR, Owner at Harbour Lights Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2011

Thankyou so much for your comments, we really appreciate you taking your time to add your views and hope to see you again at the Harbour Lights in the near future.
Rhona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

This is the best one we have been to. Very clean, big room, with a lot of nice details. Hosts are really helpful, friendly and kind. Breakfast was excellent. We strongly recommend this place. We will come back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmencita40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRBR, Owner at Harbour Lights Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2011

Colin and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Harbour Lights and would like to thank you very much for your wonderful comments.
Thankyou again
Rhona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2011

This is a wonderful b and b with great location for the ferries...a wonderful hostess who provided the children with sweets and drinks as a welcome. Relaxing, homely and thoroughly peaceful night.
Great for couples, great for kids...and warm Scottish hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thevontrapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

This lovely B&B is perfectly position if you are catching the ferry from Sranraer to Ireland as we were. The lovely large room with two double beds was exceptional, it had facilities for a wee baby if required. The hosts were very friendly and obliging. This is a great value B&B, lovely breakfast and service. Lovely area for walking along the coastal walkway. 5 out of 5. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeandspock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stranraer
0.4 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
371 reviews
0.5 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stranraer
112 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lakeview Guesthouse
Lakeview Guesthouse
#3 of 25 in Stranraer
144 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thornbank House
Thornbank House
#1 of 25 in Stranraer
189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cross Haven Guest House
Cross Haven Guest House
#11 of 25 in Stranraer
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Lights Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Lights Guest House

Address: 7 Agnew Crescent, Stranraer DG9 7JY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Stranraer
Price Range: $75 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Visit Scotland family run Guest House on the shores of Lochryan and only a 5 minute drive to the ferries for Ireland, Free parking in the car-park opposite, all rooms are en-suite with free 24 hour Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Harbour Lights Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Lights Guest House Stranraer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing