We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Stranraer

“A proper bar tender!”
Review of Custom House

Custom House
Ranked #1 of 2 Quick Bites in Stranraer
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Family pub located on the shore front of sunny Stranraer. Food served daily 12pm - 10pm Monday to Friday and 12pm -9pm Saturday and Sunday. Loads of great offers daily Pet friendly area so tell them to bring thier human. Give us a call.. we are always happy to see you
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

So I find myself in Stranraer with work for a couple of days/nights. This evening my colleague and I go for a wander about town after our food. We popped I to the Custom house for a final drink. Got to meet the seemingly infamous Danny. A top guy who was engaging, entertaining and a genuine pleasure to meet. Hopefully we will be back up here for work in the near future. Should that be the case I will be popping along to see Danny for another chat about life, films, Scotland and whatever else. The man is a born bar tender. Top man!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank RichJacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Owner at Custom House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your positive comments about our pub and our wonderful Danny.

We look forward to your next visit, take care and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you ever have the pleasure when visiting the wetherspoons in stranraer when Danny is working, he knows what hospitality is all about, had me in stitches several times. Makes everyone, and I mean everyone the centre of attention and wanting to spend time with him. If everyone had the same work ethics and charm, as Danny does in abundance, his world is definitely oyster!!!!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank peterhH5919CD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Owner at Custom House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Peterhh5919cd, great to hear you enjoyed your visit to our pub.

The reason we are not a normal spoons is we are not a Wetherspoons. We are owned by Greene King.

Danny is a valued member of our team and we are happy he pleases the guests as much as he entertains us.


Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Danny and Charlotte were great they came and made sure our food was good i loved it . We took our dog in and they gave her treats and a water bowl for her. Danny seemed welcoming and cheery.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gabbiew2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Owner at Custom House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Gabbiew2020, thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review and for the high rating, it's really appreciated. Danny and Charlotte are a great team and we will pass your comments on to them. We look forward to your next visit, take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020

Great staff and food. Charlotte the manager was really helpful in placing our order with my allergy’s. Our dogs loved that it was dog friendly even if they weren’t aloud their dads fish and chips

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank charlotteu716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Owner at Custom House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to let us know how we did. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020

We went here 2 nights running and the menu certainly has plenty to choose from. Both nights we both asked for changes to the set menu due to food allergies and the very helpful staff not only put this into the order on the till, but also went to make sure the chef had got the message. Then the 2nd night, the lovely girl behind the bar even remembered our allergies - so nice to be treated like valued customers rather than nuisances tinkering with the menus!
There is also an excellent choice of drinks and the red wine is served at just the right temperature - so often it is just too cold.
The first night we were there was quiz night so we joined in and were a bit mortified to come last but 3 out of 13 but the questions were very varied and fair to all ages and backgrounds. The lads on the table round the corner were very friendly when we were swapping papers for marking and the whole experience was good fun. If we lived in Stranraer we would be there every week.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paulinehogg8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Owner at Custom House, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2020

Hello

Thank you for your review. We do try to accommodate our guests with allergy as best as possible and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your food and red wine.

Our quiz is very popular and is a great way to spend a Sunday evening.

We hope to see you again soon. Take care.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Custom House also viewed

Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway
Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway
Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway
Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Custom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing