We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nearly Perfect, clean and homely”
other travelers have booked this property
Old Stables Kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old Stables Kitchen
Old Stables Cottage Bedroom The bedroom has dual-aspect windows
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Old Stables Kitchen
Old Stables Cottage Bedroom
The bedroom has dual-aspect windows
Old Stables Shower Room
The porch / sunroom looks out across the courtyard
The cottage looks across to our paddocks and surrounding countryside
A summer visitor to Wig Bay
Torrs Warren Forest, Stranraer
Ailsa Craig and the Isle of Arran are visible from Stranraer
The lighthouse at the Mull of Galloway
Sandhead Beach
Summer Sunset over Ardwell Bay
The old lighthouse at Port Logan Bay
The snow-capped mountains on the Isle of Arran, visible from the coast road
Black Loch, Galloway Forest Park
Grey Mare's Tail, Galloway Forest Park
Clatteringshaws Loch, Galloway Forest Park
Castle and Roundhouse at Dunure, Ayrshire
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
matthew97...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nearly Perfect, clean and homely”
Reviewed September 7, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Nice and clean spacious cottage, lovely isolated location, but close to Portpatrick and Stranraer.
Comfy living room and beds, really effective heating.
It does say it has wifi, but it really only works in the entrance hall, so if you need it to do work or emails it's a bit of a pain, but didn't really affect our holiday.
If I'm really nit picking the knifes in the kitchen are a bit blunt if your preparing food.
Other than that, a lovely place that I would recommend and happily stay again.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2015
Dear Mr Eastwood,

Thank you for your review. I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay.

I'm sorry to hear you had difficulty accessing the wi-fi which was available both in the sun room / porch and along the hallway (although hampered by the thickness of the stone walls). A wi-fi extender has now been installed to boost the signal.

I was disappointed to read that you had a problem with the kitchen knives. A sharpening steel is provided within the cutlery cupboard for this very purpose. Alternatively - since we only live next door - we would have been more than happy to sharpen the knives for you, had you asked.

I hope these issues will not deter you from returning in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back at some point.

Regards,

Viv Andrew.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete B
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent, Very Clean & Very Comfortable,”
Reviewed August 21, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Old Stables Cottage is very clean & comfortable. It is appointed to a very high standard & all the fixtures & fittings are good quality. The kitchen is well appointed with a halogen hob, grill, fan oven & combi microwave oven. The bed is very comfortable & the linen is clean & fresh & good quality, as are the towels. The shower room is very clean & functional. There is more than ample parking. The owners are very hospitable, friendly, helpful & accommodating & I have no hesitation in recommending Old Stables Cottage for a stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality Of The Owners
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2015
Dear Pete,

Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I hope we will be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Viv Andrew.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waynos
liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very Nice and Comfortable”
Reviewed November 20, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Just back from a 3 night stay at The Old Stable Cottage, and have to say how nice, clean and comfortable the cottage was, full of everything we needed and more than we expected, the place had old charm, but with a modern feel to it, very spacious for a cottage with large kitchen/living area and lovely bedroom (with the most comfy bed) and nice bathroom.
the kitchen is fully equipped with everything from cooker, fridge, microwave, cutlery, crockery, kettle, toaster, all very clean. the living room had reclining sofa, relaxing chair and footstool, tv with dvd and sky tv... the cottage is very nicely decorated, and has framed pics taken by the owner VIv, a very nice touch.. all in all we totally enjoyed our stay, and the owner was so nice... along with the fantastic setting we would recommend Old Stable Cottage to anyone visiting the area

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee4li...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very comfortable clean”
Reviewed October 29, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of days in October. The cottage is in a great location, about 1 mile from Stranraer.

The cottage was just what we needed, warm, comfortable and clean.

The WiFi was not great, you had to go into the porch to use it, so not the place to go if you have to do some work online.

Overall, really comfortable

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and comfortable
Liked least: WiFi reception
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portermud...
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pease & quiet”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Lovely well kept cottage. Very well equipped kitchen & a comfortable bed so perfect for lazy lie in's! Stranraer itself is not very exciting but the cottage is a 5 min drive out of town in beautiful countryside & a 10 min drive to beautiful Portpatrick and then onward for another 20 mins to the Mull of Galloway. The cottage is in a quiet spot with only the owners home & 2 more holidays lets in the vicinity so it was very peaceful at all times.
The large porch is handy for coats, boots, wet weather gear etc.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue h
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy and peaceful”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A lovely property and a fantastic host; the location is secluded but the town of Stranraer is only a couple of minutes away. Turn left out of the property where you will find a lovely coastal road and head for the Mull of Galloway where you can see as far as Ireland.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 28, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing