We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
North West Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stranraer
Certificate of Excellence
perthshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Just there for a couple of nights relaxation and found the hotel excellent. Warm welcome.Bedroom and bathroom were clean and well appointed.Food was fantastic and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    129
    52
    27
    15
See reviews for
58
129
21
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2010

had a lovelly stay at the north west castle, would highly recommend it food fantastic facilities great wonderful atmosphere

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2010

Excellent 2 day stay, first class food, staff could not have been more helpful, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millport
2 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2010

Hotel, food and staff were excellent. I will go back as soon as I can and any time afterwards.

Stayed February 2010
Helpful?
Thank millportcurler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

This is a good value hotel for the money. The restaurant was excellent with great choice beautifully served - it was comparible with some of the very best restaurants I have been to. So I would return for an evening at another time. Just a few small niggles - the television was not tuned in properly and the shower plumbing was a wee bit on the erratic side - water completely stopping for a few minutes mid shower. But these were only small problems the hotel itself was charming - the staff went out of their way do cook breakfast just as I requested and were checking if all was fine. Very attentive and service is clearly something in which they take pride. I would rather stay somewhere like this than another anonymous chain where receptionists bark at you for a credit card on check in. Old fashioned good service in this place - I will be back..

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparky-parrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2009

If you are travelling on the Stranraer ferry, the location is great, right opposite the terminal. However, the convenience of the hotel is no justification for the high price. We had driven from the Midlands and thought we would be staying somewhere really good for the price we were paying, but we were sorely disappointed. The hotel has delusions of grandeur. It thinks it is grand but it is severely dated and faded. The rooms seem to be in a seventies/eighties timewarp, especially the bathroom. When we arrived, there were two receptionists, one of whom was dealing with two guests and the other receptionist did not acknowledge our arrival for several minutes. We ordered a newspaper for the next morning which did not arrive. They did have a swimming pool which was virtually empty, but you had to pay to use the jacuzzi. You had to pay to use the wi-fi. Do not waste your money!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ch0c0lategirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanarkshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Just returned from a lovely 2 night stay . We have stayed before, and it was a welcome return. This is a real nice hotel. Ok, its not got all the flash frills but it has wonderfull food in a lovely dining room, comfortable, clean bedrooms and good hospitality from all the staff in the hotel. The leisure facilities are also good. This is one of our favourite hotels. Would gladly return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LanarkshireDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stranraer
5.7 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
323 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
511 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stranraer
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
273 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
107 reviews
5.8 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North West Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North West Castle Hotel

Property: North West Castle Hotel
Address: Portrodie, Stranraer DG9 8EH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stranraer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — North West Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional town centre hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HRS, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your North West Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North West Castle Hotel Stranraer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing