We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great golf break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
North West Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stranraer
Certificate of Excellence
borders
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great golf break”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

4 of us took advantage of a golf deal
£81 per nite DBB +round of golf
We played at Stranraer and portpatrick GC both good courses
Hotel very comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
We stayed 2 nites and the food both nites was excellent
Good facilities we tried to play snooker without much success!!
But there was pool and carpet bowls
Did not try the swimming pool but it was there.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank tog3878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    127
    52
    26
    15
See reviews for
57
129
21
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

It is wonderful in the current day and era to find somewhere like the North West Castle Hotel where things haven't changed over the decades. The staff are amazing in catering for your every need and the decor and surroundings are like those seen in movies with similar traditions upheld.
The story of the North West Castle is amazing and looking out over the water you really feel the atmosphere of what it was like in those early times.
Absolutely loved our stay and would recommend at the highest level possible.
Great stopover fir catching the Belfast ferry the next morning as breakfast can be replaced with a lunch-pack for the voyage.

Room Tip: I don't think that there would be a bad room in the establishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This hotel is ideal for a wedding if you want everything in the one place, with different meal and drinks packages to choose from, many a wedding has been held here so we had no worries about their experience. All the guests who came from afar and some which were local booked accommodation, all meals whether dinner or breakfast were very good with efficient and friendly waitresses. All reception staff were also welcoming, friendly and very helpful, all in all Mrs McMillan and all staff involved made it a very stress free day and a memorable weekend for all especially the Bride and Groom.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Junie0628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Used to have weekend breaks at this fine old Hotel...years ago with friends.....and on a recent visit was pleasantly surprised to see it had lost none of its "old fashioned charm"......ie the style, the service, the excellent food and the comfort which sadly is lacking in most of the modern hotels.
Very reasonably priced in comparison to its sister hotels.....but every bit as good.
Would recommend to friends and to anyone who wants a break in welcoming surroundings.

Room Tip: The rooms to the front seem to be a bit bigger and have a little more modern feel to them....worth t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarlet1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

This hotel looks a bit tired, but the staff more than make up for what it lacks in decor.
I visited the hotel for business today and it was a great success, all down to the staff.
The receptionist was second to none and the waitresses in the breakfast room were lovely, very helpful
Would certainly recommend the hotel and use it again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank blether18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Just Stayed 2 night dbb break . Room and bed were comfortable for us. Decor, while an old fashioned feel and look, is well maintained and not shabby in any way. Food was very good, and we enjoyed all our meals, with the service nice and quick even though it was really busy. Also going through to a comfy seat in the lounge for tea or coffee with a bit tablet to round off your evening meal is a really nice touch. Pool was a decent size and ideal for a swim .each and every member of staff came across as friendly and helpful which always helps you relax. Seeing the owners go about the place daily makes you feel they care about their business and customers and is always a good sign. There was a buffet dance downstairs and the music did filter up to our room but not enough to put us off returning here if having another break in this area. You can walk into town centre in less than 5 minutes and we had a very enjoyable weekend here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

A pleasure to stay here once again, even if it was for only one night on a hurried departure to N Ireland. My wife and I visited a few years ago, and were happy to find that the hotel had not changed in character in the interim. Indeed, there has been a great deal of upgrading and redecoration in the intervening years but this has all been to advantage with no loss of style etc.

We look forward to another visit soon when we might have more time to enjoy the welcome of staff, quiet location and unique ambience.

Room Tip: Loch view rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stranraer
5.7 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
320 reviews
9.0 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
5.8 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stranraer
105 reviews
6.0 mi away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
272 reviews
5.8 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North West Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North West Castle Hotel

Property: North West Castle Hotel
Address: Portrodie, Stranraer DG9 8EH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stranraer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — North West Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional town centre hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HRS, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your North West Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North West Castle Hotel Stranraer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing