We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Value !!!!!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of North West Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
North West Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Stranraer
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Value !!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed again last weekend for a curling weekend, and once again had a terrific time. This hotel provides unbelievable value for money, with beautiful meals and terrific service. Staff could not be more helpful. The breakfast is a feast in itself and sets you up for the day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    123
    51
    23
    14
See reviews for
54
119
21
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arbroath, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Extremely tired and dated and in strong need of some attention. My requests and wishes as a paying customer were not adhered to however minor they appeared and this resulting in the terrible service I received from management. I have to state that this is not the case with the reception staff as they were poliot and willing to help. I will not be returning to this hotel nor will I advise anyone if they are considering doing so.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phil670879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

I use this hotel when I'm on business in Stranraer and I do like it. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the food is excellent. The rooms are spacious but very dated. The walls are thin and I could hear the man snoring next door. I found my room and the whole hotel very cold and the radiator in the room was so old that I couldn't alter the temperature. I asked for a heater which didn't work so I had to ask for another one. The taps in the shower were very stiff and the shower curtain didn't cover the whole bath so the bathroom was soaked after a shower.

I would say that this hotel desperately needs a refurbishment. I would only come here on business and not for pleasure and I don't think it deserves its four-star rating. As far as I can see, this hotel caters more for elderly people than for anybody else. With a little TLC, this hotel could be beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heraldomanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

I along with my wife attended a 50th wedding anniversary dinner and dance in the North West Castle.

From the minute I entered the hotel I was very impressed by the whole ambiance of the establishment.

The interior of the dinning room was warm and bright, the service was very professional and the food was delicious.

The lounge was also warm and comfortable and the staff were a credit to their employers.

On the whole this venue, the staff and the service enhanced the enjoyment of the occasion.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SOGgy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Lovely building although the view slightly spoiled over looking the old Stenaline terminal. Grand restaurant and cosy bar is a bit compromised by the dated rooms. Clunky banging room doors wake you from your sleep, lack of blinds on bath room windows must give others an eyeful when you shower.

But the worst was the staff! Uninterested, dismissive and do not pay attention when you request something. Not worth £80 B&B

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
217 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Curling weekends are fantastic value and not to be missed. Dinners are fantastic and I've never been disappointed yet. Breakfast and lunches equally so. I've never seen anyone wear what I would consider to be formal dress and have seen diners in T-shirts. Rooms are comfortable and very warm; too warm if anything. Both bars are good but the curling bar must be one of the best in the country. The whole hotel simply reeks of curling with a curling shop, a collection of ancient curling stones (some on display and some just lying about) and a well maintained rink. We'll be back again in March for more of the same.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGoodShag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auchtermuchty, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Famous Grouse Curling Weekend was a great success.
The Macmillans and there staff always look after you so well.
The staff at reception are friendly and helpful. The room was clean and tidy.
The dinning experience was very good.
The ice was beautifully prepared by Gail and her colleagues.
It is a great way to spend a weekend, excellent food, good company, comfy hotel, great curling and the odd drink or two and all for a very reasonable price. We will be back in March (as we were runners up of the weekend and will be returning for the Dalrymple Cup).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlasdairMacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stranraer
8.9 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
0.1 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stranraer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
6.0 mi away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North West Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North West Castle Hotel

Property: North West Castle Hotel
Address: Portrodie, Stranraer DG9 8EH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Stranraer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — North West Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional town centre hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS and Agoda so you can book your North West Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North West Castle Hotel Stranraer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing