We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
North West Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stranraer
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the staff could not have been more helpful or done anymore to make not only our stay fantastic but also our daughters wedding the best day of her life. Really amazing service and incredibly friendly obliging owners and staff. A special thank you to Mr and Mrs McMillans' grand daughter who was so helpful and had such a warm and welcoming smile.

Room Tip: We were situated in the old wing and it was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smcmenemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    129
    52
    27
    15
See reviews for
57
129
21
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I have stayed at the North West Castle on several occasions, on weekend breaks and for family weddings and I have to say that the hotel is brilliant. The staff are outstanding, they are attentive and polite. The food quality is top notch, we normally stay on a dinner bed and breakfast basis, and the breakfast and dinners are scrumptious. The rooms are clean and well furnished. The hotel is not particularly modern but we find a comfort in this more traditional style. The swimming pool is lovely and the water is always warm and the changing areas are clean. Our family love this hotel and return here every year.

Room Tip: The rooms with a sea view are lovely. The dinner bed and breakfast rates are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkshiregirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratho
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed here for one night in a family of 5. Phoning the hotel, we got a good deal that included dinner (4 courses) and bed and breakfast.

Like other reviewers, the hotel does look like it has faded over the years but the warmth and hospitality of all the employees more than made up for this. From the receptionist to the porter, the Staff can't do enough for you. An absolute pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RathoMuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fethard
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We arrived at this hotel very late and without a booking. Luckily they had a family room available at a very reasonable price for 2 nights with breakfast and one evening meal. The interior decoration alludes to a very oppulent times in the hotels history but every place now is a bit faded but the bygone grandure still remains. We had a room on the 1st floor near a lift with an adjoining room with 2 single beds. The main room had a double bed and a single bed which were all very comfortable. The shower was very powerful and refreshing. The hotel has a games room in the basement so we enjoyed a game of table tennis and snooker. They also have a pool table, bowling and childrens toys. My husband and son used the swimming pool located on the ground floor and they found it to be very enjoyable. The food was excellent and many thanks to Michael (waiter) and all the waitresses for their hard work and attention to detail. Everything was "nay bother" to them. We were leaving the hotel at 06.30 on our last morning as we were sailing from Cairnryan at 7.30am. Cairnryan is only a 10 minute drive from the hotel. The hotel supplied us with 3 packed lunches for our trip home. Over all we had a very enjoyable stay in the castle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathytrehy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mowsley
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for two nights in early July 2013. I had a Loch-facing room which was both spacious and reasonably well appointed. The bathroom was very clean and the shower therein both modern and powerful.

I guess for some the hotel is locked in a bit of a time warp but is nevertheless good value for money. The food was excellent and the piano-playing during the evening meal reminiscent of another era but charming all the same.

The staff were very helpful and the phrase "Nae bother" a standard watchword. It was disappointing to see some of the other less favourable Trip Advisor reviews as they certainly did not match my experience but I guess that that is always going to be the case.

On my next visit to Stranraer I will stay here again.

Room Tip: The Front facing rooms overlook the Loch and whilst it is difficult to avoid looking at the now defu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaandTYJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I booked this hotel for a family wedding 18 months in advance, I requested a SEA view at the time of booking, however upon arrival the reception had no notification of this request. We had multiple complications with the bookings resulting in several emails and telephone calls and every staff member I spoke to gave me different information each time.

At first the hotel was very old fashioned.. definetly NOT the 4* Hotel as advertised! It smelled of stour and dust, with dampness and mould in the bedrooms.. Definetly NOT a health friendly hotel for anyone with Asthma.. following a 2 day stay my asthma became so bad that I was put on oxygen just to steady my breathing. This is an old building and has an asbestos roof - viewable from my room window!

The staff on reception were rude and unhelpful, their attitude to their booking errors was disgraceful, they didnt care as long as we paid.

We paid £45.00 per person per night - this was a discounted advance rate; however other family members booked on the day and were only charged £30.00 per person per night?? Not sure how they work out their tariffs but pricing is not standard!!

I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE!!!!

Room Tip: No Air Conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I chose this hotel for a romantic birthday treat for my husband. I was worried when I first saw the hotel as it looked a far cry from the glamorous photo on the McMillan Hotels website. My heart sank further when we entered the dated and musty smelling reception. The stairwell smelled even worse and the carpet looked like it had been down for many decades. I'd booked a front room with a view over Loch Ryan and you could see it in the background - past the back of the police station and the car park for the now closed ferry terminal. The room itself had in it what you'd expect in a hotel. The bedding was clean and of good quality but the decor and carpet were in need of a refresh. On the plus side, all of the staff were extremely friendly, helpful and efficient. The food was absolutely fantastic with 4 course evening meals featuring several choices of starters, mains and desserts. This is followed by coffee in the lounge with tablet (a kind of fudge). For breakfast, there were the normal cereals, fruit juices etc and a cooked choice too. The staff and the food are the only saving graces of this hotel which is definitely in need of a total refurbishment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith_A77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stranraer
5.7 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
323 reviews
9.0 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
5.8 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stranraer
107 reviews
6.0 mi away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
273 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North West Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North West Castle Hotel

Property: North West Castle Hotel
Address: Portrodie, Stranraer DG9 8EH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stranraer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — North West Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional town centre hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HRS, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your North West Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North West Castle Hotel Stranraer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing