We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
North West Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stranraer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We enjoyed our 2 night stay and found the bedroom very comfortable, a good size, well equipped and clean. The dinners were excellent and the wine included in the 50th anniversary deal was very good. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly and we enjoyed using the swimming pool. The hotel is well maintained and it is in a bit of a time warp but that is part of its charm. Thank you for a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: We were in the new wing and there was a band on Saturday night which finished at midnight. It may b...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
There are newer reviews for North West Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 371 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

room was the biggest hotel room I have ever had in Scotland but unfortunately the room was very dated and had a musty smell. I was unimpressed with the furniture, the bathroom, the carpets and the bed. Hotel due a refurbishment about 20 years ago. The food though in the curling bar was excellent. The breakfast was Ok too. Hotel just needs to be updated and I amsure it will be fine.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

OK if you want the latest in modern design/food/decor/styling/fashion/service then you may not like this. I have been going for 3 nights every November for 10 years for a curling competition: the food is fabulous the hospitality warm and friendly, the rooms comfortable and clean. It is also exceptional value for money. The staff are always friendly, helpful and obliging. Yes there is something of the Miss Marple (as played by Margaret Rutherford) about the place (decor, carpets, whatever) but I believe this adds to the charm of it all. I've just arrived home from there today & have already booked our 3 nights for next year.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Derek_Basilios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My parter & I stayed at this hotel last week (early Oct) and upon arrival it was very obvious that this hotel needs a refurb to bring it upto date! Very retro appearance, corridors and rooms are worn and in desperate need of a lick of paint. The bathrooms are not of 4 star standard, and walls in the room are extremely thin - we could hear the person in the room next to us having a conversation on their mobile!

Bar area & lounge out dated and not very inviting! Absolutely no idea where the "leisure facilities" were - however I believe they were somewhere behind the reception area!

Overall this hotel does not live upto it's 4 Star grading & we were so disappointed that we left the hotel a day early!

The only good point to this hotel is the standard of food in the restaurant and the friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suz198801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for two nights in October and were disappointed. It has a four star rating which in my opinion is very, very generous. The hotel is a step back in time, very retro but not in a good sense. The decor and layout are dated as is the ethos and the hotel is in much need of a major refurbishment. The corridors have a damp carpet odour and on our return one evening, we were met with a stench of sewage in the reception area. The standard double room was small, two beds pushed together, no modern duvets here ,instead blankets and woollen covers are used. The door entry to the bedrooms is by using an awkward well worn old fashioned key. No wi-fi is available, no iron in the room although we received one when we inquired and the leisure facilities remained locked throughout our stay which we found strange. Entry to the swimming pool was via a trip to the reception who would provide a towel and accompany you back to the door and unlock it!
We paid for dinner on both nights as part of our stay. We had friends join us on the first evening and booked a table for 6.30. The dining room opens at this time so again it was strange that upon our arrival we were asked to have a seat in the lounge as the table would not be ready for a further 30 minutes. The food was very bland and not at all what we expected, however on the second evening it was a vast improvement. Perhaps a tale of two chefs, but in any case there should be consistency in a hotel of this rating. The plus side of our stay were the very friendly staff, however this is not enough to recommend this hotel. The overall impression is that it is a big fish in a very small town, and maybe once upon a very long time had a delusional air of grandeur, unfortunately it has failed to 'live up' to the standard of four stars hotels I have previously stayed in by a long way and therefore I would be reluctant to stay in any of the other hotels that this small chain own and operate if this is typical of their approach and management style.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in August. We just dropped in on speck and were given a very helpful reception by the staff. The decor in the rooms was a little tired but the excellent food and lovelystaff more than made up for this. It was great to be able to have a swin in the pool, but again it was in need of a little TLC. We do understand that in the present financial climate it is very difficult to plough money into refurbs. Well done North West Castle, a lovely break for us.

Room Tip: Choose front view
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a two night stay based on their "Anniversary Offer" which included breakfast, dinner and a bottle of wine on the first night. The food was absolutely exceptional and we were spoilt for choice, excellent menu and presentation very good. Staff were all very pleasant and we used the swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna both days. We upgraded to a superior front facing room which was a very good size and very clean, room slightly let down by a rather hard bed and awful pillows. Shower over the bath and toilet looked like there had been a very recent upgrade, lovely tiled floor, absolutely spotless. The hotel was very quiet and we were the only ones in the bar at night. We had our dog with us and although right next to the town centre, there are some short walks in the immediate area. This was our first visit to a McMillan hotel, won't be the last.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin_millar590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stranraer
5.7 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
336 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
530 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stranraer
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
12.5 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
296 reviews
5.8 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North West Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North West Castle Hotel

Address: Portrodie, Stranraer DG9 8EH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stranraer
Price Range: $102 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — North West Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional town centre hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your North West Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North West Castle Hotel Stranraer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing