We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stranraer
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Well, to was a title trip instead of going abroad so we treated ourselves to two nights at this wonderful lighthouse. The staff were really friendly and very professional. The rooms were what you would expect from a 3 star hotel in a lighthouse. The food, was out of this world. Every single course we had just got better and better. This is really worth a trip just for the food, and then your staying in a lighthouse as well. Views fantastic and some great sun sets. We would really recommend this hotel if you want to get away from it all. Brilliant two days. Thanks to everyone at the hotel for making our stay great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LighthouseHotel C, Owner at Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Many thanks for your positive comments which I know will be appreciated by our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    55
    26
    11
    7
See reviews for
56
228
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jablonec nad Nisou, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Thanks to all staff make my night with my missis absolutely special service was briliant and the food absolutely lovely special thank to David McCubin to stay longer because of us.Andrew Downey for perfect meal and Juris for service with the personal touch.hope to be soon back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pedros33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LighthouseHotel C, Owner at Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Many thanks for your praise of our restaurant which I will pass onto our staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was our 8th trip to the Lighthouse and once more we have had a most enjoyable break. Again we stayed in the Stevenson Suite, which is wonderfully equipped with THE most comfortable bed. The peaceful, stunning surroundings were only surpassed by the kindness and attention of the staff and the delicious food. Staying here has a calmness you wont find anywhere else and is a real tonic. Can't wait until our nest visit.

The Millars

Room Tip: The 2 newest suites are wonderful and very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colintonmains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LighthouseHotel C, Owner at Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty and we promise to make sure we meet your expectations in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

A stay in this hotel will take your breath away. Situated on a rugged rocky shoreline with superbe views this is the ideal getaway for romantics of all ages. We stayed in a cottage with a conservatory where we watch the stunning sunset. Later the working lighthouse gave an interesting effect on the rocky coast. The staff are very friendly and also knowledgeable about the area and what it has to offer. The quaint dining room of a generally nautical theme is very pleasant and both dinner and breakfast very nicely presented and delicious.

Room Tip: Make sure that you have a sea view as that is the main attraction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LighthouseHotel C, Owner at Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Perhaps another romantic evening will not be too far away.
Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

As our first step onto Scottish soil from Ireland this was a rare treat indeed, we stopped in the Lighthouse suit. Sure I can see where some of the previous reviewers were saying about the size of the bed rooms but thats where I must draw the line.
Excellent living area great shower and kitchen facilities.
And then there was the food, every experience seemed to top the last.
From our waitress who was 100% personality engaging and funny to the quality produce and delivery.
Well done to all the team at the lighthouse.

Room Tip: This is a quality experience it delivers value for money I suggest if you can get it go for the Ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dafecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LighthouseHotel C, Owner at Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments which the staff appreciate.
I'm glad you enjoyed your first stay on Scottish soil and I hope there will be many more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Must apologise in advance for the quantity of superlatives that follow, but words can do little to convey the wonder and magic of the amazing experience which staying here brings to life. Firstly, staying in a working lighthouse - how unique is that?! The views are naturally out of this world with the Irish Sea to one side and rolling green fields to the other. The shoreline is home to some wonderful bird life and the sound of the sea coming over the rocks is pure joy. The food here is delicious and plentiful, and is complimented by excellent service. The rooms are beautifully and sympathetically decorated and the bed very comfortable. We cannot get Corsewall out of our heads and long to return there

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LighthouseHotel C, Owner at Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review which I know will please our staff who always go the extra mile

The most important thing is that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duns, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

My brother bought us a weekend at the hotel for our silver anniversary, based on a recommendation from Scottish friends. We had a wonderful weekend staying in the Stevenson suite with its spectacular views.

With such a remote location it is essential that the food is good and we were not disappointed. It was very good.

The hotel is also well located for a number of different day trips. As a gardening widow there were plenty of interesting and different gardens for me to suffer.

It was interesting to note how many of the visitors at the hotel had been there before. Always a good recommendation in itself.

Room Tip: The Lighthouse suite was recommended by most as the 'best' suite. The Stevenson suite was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thebeercard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LighthouseHotel C, Owner at Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Our staff will appreciate your very kind comments and I am pleased that you enjoyed your Silver Wedding Anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stranraer
8.9 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stranraer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
13.0 mi away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
11.4 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
8.6 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
9.0 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stranraer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel

Property: Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
Address: Corsewall Lighthouse Corsewall Point | Kirkcolm, Stranraer DG9 0QG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stranraer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel Stranraer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing