We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Fernlea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fernlea Guest House
Ranked #9 of 24 Stranraer B&B and Inns
southend essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fernlea”
Reviewed June 19, 2007

We stayed at the Fernlea Guest House, Stranraer on June 8th 2007. We were greeted with a smile at the door. We were treated as friends immediately. Although all hotel owners are friendly, Lynne made us feel so welcome in her home straight away.
Nothing was too much trouble for Lynne. In the room was a small fridge which was very welcome on such a hot day.
Lynne sent us in the right direction to all the local higher quality eateries, although she had provided maps in the rooms she still took the time to personally tell us.
We also saw a fellow guest ask for something for breakfast which was not actually on the menu, but instead of saying that this item was not available, she got in her car and went and got it. The gentleman wanting this said bigger hotels have never done that. Lynne is such a nice lady. Really enjoyed our stay. Would highly recommend The Fernlea Guest House to anyone.

  • Liked — friendliness,
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank mopsey59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernleaguesthouse, Owner at Fernlea Guest House, responded to this review, June 21, 2007
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. It is much appreciated. We hope to see you again sometime in the future.

best wishes,
The Drysdale Family,
Fernlea Guest House,
Stranraer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
49
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2007

..... that I stayed twice.
I enjoyed my two overnight stays at Fernlea. Yes, it may be graded 3-star but there are those little touches that make it a 5-star. Very convenient for the ferry terminal. And the town centre is a short walk away.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jazzroadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernleaguesthouse, owner at Fernlea Guest House, responded to this review, June 21, 2007
Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed you 2 nights with us. We hope to see you again next year if you are coming this way.

best wishes,
The Drysdales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2007

I have never stayed at a B&B before and had no idea what to expect. Was greeted by Lynn upon arrival. A beautiful home, with very clean rooms, and a nice personal touch. I would certainly recommend Fernlea to anyone wanting a nice, quiet place who like being treated as an old friend rather than a guest.

  • Liked — The friendliness or Lynn the owner and the cleanliness of the rooms
  • Disliked — There was nothing I didn't like.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank stayceeleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernleaguesthouse, owner at Fernlea Guest House, responded to this review, June 23, 2007
Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad your first bed and breakfast experience was a good one. Hope to see you again soon.
best wishes, Lynn and Kenny & Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2007

Had a really lovely stay. We chose this b & b because it had a private car park and our car was full to the brim as we were moving house. Our room was spotless and warm with a huge en-suite shower room. It even had an lcd tv. We opted for the full breakfast in the morning which was delicious. First time trying Haggis!! We would def be back to stay at this fab place. Totally recommended!

  • Liked — Location, parking and owners
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hotpotato2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernleaguesthouse, owner at Fernlea Guest House, responded to this review, June 23, 2007
Hello and thank you for taking time to leave a review for us. We are pleased you enjoyed our home. I hope all went well with the move.
best wishes, The Drysdales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon,England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2006

Lynn immediately made us feel very welcome. We had not booked the guest house personally so did not know what to expect. The room was very well presented, a comfortable bed and - what luxury - a large well appointed bathroom with huge towels to wrap up in. We had spent the previous few days struggling in tiny bathrooms - with a 6'3" husband not easy for him. Breakfast was very good, served by Kenny, and set us up for our journey. We would thoroughly recommend Fernlea to anyone who is visiting Stranraer.
Roger & Melanie Baldry, Devon.

  • Liked — comfortable, spotless, spacious
  • Disliked — no problems on any aspect
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tavonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2006

This is our 3rd stay with Lynn and Kenny at the Fernlea Guest House. As usual everything was top notch. (nice refurbishments). Great comfortable room with tv, tea, coffee, fruit and herb teas. Choccy bics and sweets. Exceptionally clean and great breakfasts. My wife is vegan and was accommodated superbly. Private car park is just an added bonus. Looking forward to our next visit. See you next year guys.

The Kellys

  • Liked — Clean, great owners, private car park.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mincetatties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2006

Stayed here for two nights in June 2006. Friendly welcome and good sized and spotless accommodation. Noticeably a place that people visit repeatedly as was borne out by conversation at breakfast with fellow guests. Definitely recommended. Stranraer is situated quite dramatically and the Dumfries and Galloway (Wigtownshire) area is by-passed by so many when it warrants an extended visit to explore its many beauties.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dubris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stranraer
0.4 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
355 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
506 reviews
5.4 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stranraer
105 reviews
5.6 mi away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
272 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cross Haven Guest House
Cross Haven Guest House
#8 of 24 in Stranraer
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernlea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernlea Guest House

Property: Fernlea Guest House
Address: Fernlea Lewis Street, Stranraer DG9 7AQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Stranraer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fernlea Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star bed and breakfast in Stranraer. This detached Victorian villa has been owned by the Drysdale family since 1997 and had been tastefully upgraded. A beautiful B & B offering a high standard of accommodation. Bedrooms boast Laura Ashley decor and Dorma bedding for that extra special feel. Fernlea offers a free private car park for guests. All rooms offer en-suite facilities with towels and flannels provided. Each room has flat screen digital TV, hospitality tray with hot chocolate, biscuits, tea and coffee. Only 5 minutes walk to the town centre and perfect for ferries to Northern Ireland. A non-smoking bed and breakfast. Free wi-fi in public areas upon request. The village of Cairnryan is only a 10 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fernlea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernlea Guest House Stranraer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing