We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great welcome, fantastic comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fernlea Guest House
Ranked #5 of 25 Stranraer B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 27, 2008

We had the good fortune to stay in this very well-appointed and most comfortable b&b when on business near Stranraer. We can highly recommend this accommodation - from the friendly welcome by Lynn and Kenny to the lovely breakfast (which came back to haunt us during the dance workshops we were delivering that morning!). And the tariff was very good value. We'll definitely be returning if we are ever in Stranraer again. Thank you both!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Carduus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Fernlea Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 95 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2007

My partner and I stayed one night and vowed we'd be back.

Kenny and Lynn made us feel so welcome - even though our football team (East Fife) beat the local side!

The room was excellent, a good size and immaculately presented while the en suite facilities were bigger than some hotel bedrooms I've stayed in.

Breakfast was first class - a traditional Scottish one with haggis and tattie scones as well the bacon eggs etc. Even the cooking ofr the fried egg was spot on.

We intend coming back and we'd recommend Fernlea to anyone wanting a first class B&B experience.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EastFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernleaStranraer, Owners at Fernlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2008

Thank you for leaving us a review. We are looking forward to seeing you again for the next match. Hope its a good result.
best wishes,
Lynn and Kenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2007

This was our third visit to Fernlea (1999, 2001, and 2007). Each time we have enjoyed a friendly welcome with clean and comfortable accomodations. Our hosts, Lynn and Kenny, are always most anxious to assist in any way needed. This time we had just spent the day on several trains coming down from Edinburg so we were very grateful for a nice place to relax. The addition of the room refrigerators and snack options hit the spot since we were too tired to go out looking for a place to eat. The breakfast the next morning was, as usual, top grade. Kenny graciously drove us to the ferry for our journey back to Belfast. We live in California, but travel to Belfast each year and always enjoy a trip by ferry to Stranrarer. Fernlea will always be our guesthouse choice when stopping in the area.

Stayed: September 2007
4  Thank Caligirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2007

A friendly reception, wonderful spacious accommodation, excellent food, what more can you ask for, but return again.
Definitely a base for touring South West Scotland.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Capedcrusader355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernleaStranraer, Owners at Fernlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2007

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We look forward to seeing you sometime in the future. All the best for 2008.
regards,
Lynn and Kenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2007

You'll receive a very warm welcome from Lynn & Kenny, a very lovely couple. We booked overnight stay only as we were catching the ferry the following afternoon. Great location for walking into town for an evening meal and also for visiting the local area.

Our room was immaculate and of very high standard and the breakfast was excellent and delicious and set us for the the ferry crossing - it was just a pity that we couldn't stay longer!

We would highly recommend a stay at Fernlea, and as we now have relatives in Ireland, I think that this will be a regular stop over from now on.

Kerry & Liam

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thewalshes_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernleaguesthouse, Owners at Fernlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2007

Hi Kerry and Liam,
Thank you for your kind review of our home. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We both look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best wishes,
Lynn and Kenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2007

We stayed at the Fernlea Guest House, Stranraer on June 8th 2007. We were greeted with a smile at the door. We were treated as friends immediately. Although all hotel owners are friendly, Lynne made us feel so welcome in her home straight away.
Nothing was too much trouble for Lynne. In the room was a small fridge which was very welcome on such a hot day.
Lynne sent us in the right direction to all the local higher quality eateries, although she had provided maps in the rooms she still took the time to personally tell us.
We also saw a fellow guest ask for something for breakfast which was not actually on the menu, but instead of saying that this item was not available, she got in her car and went and got it. The gentleman wanting this said bigger hotels have never done that. Lynne is such a nice lady. Really enjoyed our stay. Would highly recommend The Fernlea Guest House to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank mopsey59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernleaguesthouse, Owner at Fernlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2007

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. It is much appreciated. We hope to see you again sometime in the future.

best wishes,
The Drysdale Family,
Fernlea Guest House,
Stranraer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2007

..... that I stayed twice.
I enjoyed my two overnight stays at Fernlea. Yes, it may be graded 3-star but there are those little touches that make it a 5-star. Very convenient for the ferry terminal. And the town centre is a short walk away.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jazzroadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernleaguesthouse, owner at Fernlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2007

Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed you 2 nights with us. We hope to see you again next year if you are coming this way.

best wishes,
The Drysdales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stranraer hotels
0.4 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
371 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cross Haven Guest House
Cross Haven Guest House
#11 of 25 in Stranraer
89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour Lights Guest House
Harbour Lights Guest House
#2 of 25 in Stranraer
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Old Manse Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Thistle Inn
The Thistle Inn
#20 of 25 in Stranraer
76 reviews
4.9 mi away
Torrs Warren Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernlea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernlea Guest House

Address: Fernlea Lewis Street, Stranraer DG9 7AQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Stranraer
Price Range: $72 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fernlea Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star bed and breakfast in Stranraer. This detached Victorian villa has been owned by the Drysdale family since 1997 and had been tastefully upgraded. A beautiful B & B offering a high standard of accommodation. Bedrooms boast Laura Ashley decor and Dorma bedding for that extra special feel. Fernlea offers a free private car park for guests. All rooms offer en-suite facilities with towels and flannels provided. Each room has flat screen digital TV, hospitality tray with hot chocolate, biscuits, tea and coffee. Only 5 minutes walk to the town centre and perfect for ferries to Northern Ireland. A non-smoking bed and breakfast. Free wi-fi in public areas upon request. The village of Cairnryan is only a 10 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fernlea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernlea Guest House Stranraer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing