We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality and value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeview Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 27 Stranraer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top quality and value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed for two nights whilst we did a day trip to Belfast. Friendly welcome and 2 lovely clean and very well prepared rooms. Excellent breakfasts. All you need for a stay in this area. Recommended very highly. Stay for two nights and take a £5 return day trip to Belfast in between.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianWood94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    18
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
39
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

A pleasure to stay in this Luxurious B&B. Great hosts Alan & Elaine. Four of us stayed for one night whilst golfing at Stranraer. Rooms and facilities are as good as 4 star hotels in the uk. Great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMcLaren20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
451 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Really friendly welcome from Alan who as well as showing us to our room was happy to recommend a place to eat for Dinner. Clean and comfortable rooms which appear to have been recently refurbished ( tastefully ) and come complete with tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast cooked by Elaine was tasty and plentiful, served on quality crockery !
Very centrally located and within a 10 minute drive to the Belfast ferry......

Room Tip: Room 5 ( family room ) does not have an en-suite toilet / shower albeit this facility is 'next d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nauj63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed over at this B&B before catching the Stena Line ferry to Belfast the next day. This place is the perfect place to stay if you're doing the same. Elaine is an excellent hostess, very accommodating and rooms were fabulous. Tasteful décor, very comfortable beds and small but spotlessly clean bathrooms. No noise problems at all! Breakfast was excellent, with a good range of continental options and hearty Scottish cooked options.
Stranraer itself has lots of local amenities such as shops, and a very good restaurant, namely The Bay House, with excellent food to be had.
Overall this place was excellent for us and can recommend to anyone whether for a stopover or longer visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThamesDanube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here recently for business and received a warm welcome. My room was very comfortable however I did have to share my bathroom with another room. Nice view from the top bedroom window. Breakfast was tasty. Overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claireward23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just back from a fantastic night to staying at the Lakeview. My husband and I were in Stranraer for a wedding, we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. We were warmly welcomed on our arrival even though we were a little earlier than expected. Our room was very nicely decorated, full of home comforts, beds were very comfy, plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits - we were even shown where extras were kept if we required any more :). Excellent guest information pack provided. No request was out of reach - Elaine could not have been more attentive. Bathroom was newly decorated and stocked with essential toiletries. Room faced onto lovely garden area. Great choice for breakfast - would highly recommend the cooked breakfast was very tasty. Was very close to main street with all amenities and just across from a lovely park.Very reasonable price, much nicer than many hotels we have stayed in which have cost more. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraJohnMcMahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is how a B&B should be. Very warm and friendly welcome. Excellent room, comfortable bed with the decor and furniture that bit more than the norm. The breakfast was good and very well presented with a large choice. I would highly recommended this B&B It’s better than some 4 star hotels I’ve been in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevezzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stranraer hotels
0.4 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stranraer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
8.6 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
0.5 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stranraer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbour Lights Guest House
Harbour Lights Guest House
#2 of 27 in Stranraer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thornbank House
Thornbank House
#1 of 27 in Stranraer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cross Haven Guest House
Cross Haven Guest House
#9 of 27 in Stranraer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Guesthouse

Property: Lakeview Guesthouse
Address: 19 Agnew Crescent, Stranraer DG9 7JY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Stranraer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeview Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the seafront, Lakeview Guesthouse Bed and Breakfast Stranraer overlooks Lochryan and all Irish ferries. We are within walking distance of Stranraer town centre, the Stena Line ferry terminal and the railway and bus station, from which we offer a courtesy pick-up. Cairnryan ferry port is a 7 minute drive away. There's ample off-road parking across from our Victorian town house with its original character that offers attractive accommodating bed and breakfast, and is ideally located across from Agnew Park which features a mini railway, children's play park and boating lake. Whether you are holidaying or here for business in the area there's something for everyone in Stranraer. You can be sure of a warm Scottish welcome from Alan and Elaine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Lakeview Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Guesthouse Stranraer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing