We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Thornbank House(Stranraer)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Swan Inn(Stranraer)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
87
38
7
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
38
7
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeppercorn saucefirst classpopular with localslarge bedfriendly and efficient staffmeringuelovely restaurantwould highly recommend this hotelexcellent foodlarge portionshaggistasty breakfastexcellent hotelroom was spotlessstayed here for nightssecond to noneloch ryan
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 135 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Dined with a group of about 15 at The Craignelder's restaurant this weekend and my goodness, what a treat it was! Smashing meal, great service and the prices were very reasonable. My husband had pre-ordered for me as we were a large group and he made some perfect choices. I had baked camembert with a cranberry and red wine jus - delicious. My main was roast lamb on a bed of mash with some sort of greens and a lovely gravy and there were plenty other veg brought to the table - new potatoes, turnip (unusual in restaurants and very welcome), broccoli and chips. My husband had a grilled salmon starter and it was a pleasantly large portion and for mains, he enjoyed his chicken stuffed with haggis and wrapped in bacon. We both took a zingy lemon tart with a delicious scoop of ice cream in a cute little chocolate cup and finished up with tea and coffee. Our bill came to £44 for two for a hugely enjoyable meal with good service. We would certainly highly recommend the Craignelder.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller2454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed prior to ferry to Ireland. Room recent refurbished, clean , being ground floor room noisy as at night had all traffic of folks comings and going. Morning the noise of kitchen. The room could have a hairdryer and a toilet brush please.

Had dinner in new resteraunt, the food was good and fairly priced.. Although please do not request that one can only have a table for a limited time, they nearly lost out. It was sorted for us which we really appreciated.
Breakfast was good and plentiful.
The staff were helpful and pleasant
They are good, they with a few additions would be the best place to stay in stranraer

Room Tip: Book if you want dinner
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjis22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Good location. Restaurant is very good. The rooms (single) are very small for the price they charge. My room and ensuite was clean, but the sheets not so.... Overall not a bad place, but should be cheaper! Not sure if I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and is a great place from where to explore the Rhinns of Galloway. The staff are friendly and professional. The breakfasts are ample and they serve a lunch and evening meal. Beware....the portions are large as if they are expecting a famine tomorrow

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnmhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel a few times now during my trips to Stranraer. It is well placed for the town centre and has a public garden nearby. The rooms are modern and comfortable as is the restaurant and bar areas. The food in the restaurant was first class with some nice touches consequently, you'd be advised to book a table at the same time you make the room booking as it gets very busy with local's and other visitors. The hotel has a function room attached to the rear bar and while it did have functions on last week-end they closed spot on time and any noise thereafter (outside) was short lived as the revellers departed. Breakfast was fine - the cooked stuff is great - but could do with a little more choice regarding cereals. The staff are friendly and very helpful - day and night. Parking can be tight at the front of the hotel if you are driving a large car but there is parking to the rear and in the side streets outside the hotel. Overall a nice place to stay for your holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front overlook the old harbour and out to Loch Ryan. There's a ground floor room for the less able (Room10). Stairs to all other bedrooms
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews