We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Swan Inn
Ranked #19 of 27 Stranraer B&B and Inns
Elgin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Only stayed the one night, after driving from West Cork, then Stena Llne Ferry. Had another 6 hours travelling after. Arrived fairly late at night, but that was no problem. Left early after having breakfast.

The room was really well decorated. It was above a pub, so continental breakfast. Everything catered for. Very impressive. Would definately recommend, and stay there again next time we go to West Cork.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
7
16
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed at the Swan as we were meeting the Ferry from Northern Ireland to pick up a puppy. We wanted a dog friendly B & B to take our dog with us. The atmosphere was fab, the family were lovely (especially Murphy the dog!!). I could not fault the place, the family feel was fantastic especially the well mannered children, the beer garden was lovely and very relaxed. The breakfast being in the room as continental was fab - no early alarm clocks!!! I would recommend the Swan to anyone who wants a friendly family orientated chill-out B& B. If you take a dog there is a fab park a few yards away which has lots of bins!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tinny10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the swan inn, the atmosphere is so relaxed and coming and going outside of opening hours was very easy, no "be back by 11 or we lock the doors"! :-) Would definately stay there again, staff are very accommodating and room was cosy and well equipped. 10/10 :-)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nicola-pearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, Ayrshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

I've stayed in various B&B's but the friendly welcoming atmosphere of this B&B surpasses all the rest the couple that run this place are very friendly and welcoming the rooms are very well equipped and very modern in decor I would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the area and I would stay again as it is very good value for money

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank huneyxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2009

we stayed for one night before going for the ferry to northern ireland the room was lovely and the couple who run the inn were very helpfull the breakfast left out for us was nice and the locals in the bar were very friendly

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bluebellsareblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stranraer hotels
0.6 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stranraer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
8.4 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
0.7 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stranraer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Thistle Inn
The Thistle Inn
#23 of 27 in Stranraer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Lights Guest House
Harbour Lights Guest House
#2 of 27 in Stranraer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thornbank House
Thornbank House
#1 of 27 in Stranraer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Inn

Property: The Swan Inn
Address: 17 Sheuchan Street, Stranraer DG9 0EA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Stranraer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently acquired by new management The Swan Inn is perfectly located on Stranraer seafront offering great views of Loch Ryan , we currently have 2 rooms with en-suite available. Free parking and Free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Inn Stranraer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing