We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“12th of 12th, 2012 - Wedding stopover”
Review of Powfoot Golf Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Powfoot
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Powfoot Golf Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Powfoot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We have to comment on this hotel as it was so much more than we expected. The welcome was a warm and friendly as the open fire which kept us warm in sub-zero temperatures. We stayed here for a couple of nights whilst a family member got married at Gretna Green. The rooms were clean, tidy and very comfortable. We also had our wedding breakfast in the hotel which was really lovely. The staff could not do enough for us and even when we asked for something that was not quite on the menu, they still managed to deliver it.

A great stay, beautiful area and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pocket Rocket B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for Powfoot Golf Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 146 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

We got married at nearby Comlongon Castle on 26 January 2013 and ourselves and 11 of our guests stayed here on 25 and 26 January 2013.

From the moment we arrived, the service was excellent. All staff were professional and polite. The food throughout was first class. Nothing was too much trouble. I was a nervous wreck on the day of the wedding and Ellen very kindly took over the decorating of the tables and made them look far better than I ever could.

There were two young children in our party and they were made to feel as welcome as the adults even though they were quite excitable!

There was heavy snow coupled with bright sunshine and this made the views amazing over the Solway.

Some of our guests loved it so much they stayed for an additional night!

In short, we loved it and intend to return again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view over the Solway. Also the lounge upstairs is great for sitting in and...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EH1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on Sunday 3rd February at a wedding reception. Well worth a 5 star review, staff very friendly and could not have been more helpful, food good quality and reasonably priced ( especially the Scottish cooked breakfast!), comfortable room, high standard bathroom,
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Would have no hesitation in recommending to friends

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

After entering the hotel and having to search for a member of staff to ask about our booked table I didn't think it was a good start to the evening, although the young girl was polite and helpfull. Two young waitresses where pleasant , friendly had good customer attitude which is more than can be said for the senior member who spoke quite sharply , was condescending , and could not cope with any order that was out of synchronization ,eg.we could order after dinner drinks untill the dessert order was complete! The meal it's self was reasonable, although there was a good wait for it to arrive at the table, and unfortunately a couple of meals where spoilt because salt had been put in pepper pots! The experience on the whole was very disappointing. which was a shame as we had traveled 300 miles to visit family and enjoy an evening out. On a brighter note Powfoot is a very lovely village with beautiful views over the Solway.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 186342Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed over New Year. Staff were fantastic - couldn't have done more for us to make our stay special. Contacted local bars and restaurants for opening times and bookings, arranged taxis, even offered to run us into Annan if we were stuck for transport. Made to feel very welcome by all staff. Rooms very clean, good size and well presented. Excellent food in restaurant. Highly recommend this hotel - Will definitely be making a return visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Six of us stayed here for three nights over new year an excellent hotel fantastic staff very helpful booked taxis and restaurants suggested place to go good food would recommend this hotel overlooks the sea

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trina64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just return from a fantastic weekend visiting family in scotland. We chose this hotel as its only about 200 yards from where they live and altough it took an hour for us to check in the hotel was very comfortable. It does need updating and the bath room was adequate but does need some work. I would recommend this hotel as it close to all the sight seeing places

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bristolbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Powfoot
3.0 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
2.9 mi away
Queensberry Arms Hotel
7.7 mi away
Golf Hotel
Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Silloth
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
659 reviews
10.9 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
6.3 mi away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powfoot Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powfoot Golf Hotel

Address: Links Avenue, Powfoot DG12 5PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Powfoot
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Powfoot
Price Range: $81 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer luxury en-suite accommodation, fine food, golf breaks, weddings, functions, and much more in the charming village of Powfoot near Annan in Dumfries and Galloway, South West Scotland. The original house, which was built in the 19th century as a private residence, has been modernised to create a stylish and comfortable hotel. There are wonderful views stretching for miles over the Solway Firth toward the Lakeland hills. Most of the 25 bedrooms overlook the sea or Powfoot Championship Golf Course. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Powfoot Golf Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing