We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxed Luxury”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
The magnificent library with brass fireplace and gorgeous classic details
The upper loch with the boathouse and boat for guests to use. Two swans live on this loch.
The front door and the landscaped pathway.
The lower loch on a calm day.
The historic McKenzie & Moncur glasshouse.
The Castle in autumn with magnificent colours.
Loch fly fishing on a bright summer day.
The pathway to the courtyard.
The lower loch with its own boat for guests.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
14 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 36
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kathleen...
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Relaxed Luxury”
Reviewed August 6, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the castle for a family celebration. The accommodation is breath-taking with magnificent views from the bedrooms. Although furnishings are opulent in the extreme in the rooms, we did not feel restricted even with two young children in our party. the owners were exceptionally welcoming. The public rooms are stunning with open fires and wonderful furnishings. The accommodation is not 'staged' and you feel you are in a family, albeit , luxurious home. We were given access to all crockery, cutlery etc so ideal for a celebratory dinner.
Highlights :
the owners being accommodating even converting one of the downstairs rooms into a bedroom for one of our party who has mobility problems. This was done at no additional cost.
The opulence of the entire place
Plenty of play area for the children
The grand piano!
Comfortable bedrooms with original features
Authenticity of this Edwardian house.
Friendliness of the estate staff.
Fishing on the lochs (additional charge for this but includes use of boat)
The Four Seasons Café on the estate- serves lovely food
The Maze- free admission if staying in the castle
THe Gardens- again free admission
Lovely walks through glen to Portpatrick
The feel of being away from it all yet within just a few minutes of Portpatrick with its lovely shops and restaurants
Friendliness of owners
Family Kitchen- nice space if in need maybe of an update. All facilities there though- AGA, dishwasher, microwave etc.

Things to maybe note:
We were not aware of the different wings in the castle. We were in the West wing which was wonderful but access to other parts of the castle are restricted because of other guests staying there. If booking again, I would ask which part of the castle we were to be in. Although we were delighted to be in the west wing, we had hoped to see the library. However , this did not detract from our stay.
If booking for anyone with mobility problems, no showers in the bathrooms but showers would probably detract from the authenticity of this magnificent building. (Loved the original tiling).
Dogs not allowed in this part of the castle.

Would definitely book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sheer opulence of the building- great place for a celebration
Liked least: Would have liked a shower room
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B4324ZApe...
Fenwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great place for a family gathering”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Spent a fabulous long weekend here in a large family group of 15 people, ages spanning one to eighty-three. The owners Alastair and Anne were very welcoming and helpful. They live in another part of the house although you would never know it because it's very separate and the property is so huge, plus they were never intrusive. The grand old kitchen was the focal point of the house for us and drinks in the library in front of a roaring fire was a lovely way to start each evening. We also had a wonderful meal served in a huge dining room (another roaring fire). Next time we go, we will make more use of the catering which is offered - the pheasant stew sounded rather good. The grounds are lovely offering plenty of options for walking our dogs - the beach is a 20 min walk down a path past a waterfall and is well worth going to. There is a tearoom in the grounds, a splendid walled garden, a maze, a large lawn area plus the pretty town of Portpatrick a 5 minute drive away. Loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the owners are charming
Liked least: The weather
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith I
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best hide and seek ever ! Fantastic venue for a special long weekend”
Reviewed February 10, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Where to possibly begin ?
I booked the house for my husbands 50th birthday party and a long weekend break.
Having never been to Scotland let along a remote South Westerly corner it seemed like a bit of a risk - especially when asking 25 other guests to travel from the Southcoast of England and even as far as Geneva ! The risk certainly paid off.
We arrived as a small group of 5 initially and we were a little daunted by the size of the area i had rented, but very quickly we became completely at home.
Our first evening meal was left in the aga by our amazingly helpful and friendly hosts - Anne and Alistair. ( The house is actually their family home )
A couple of days later more guests arrived and the aga was in constant use - bread, stews soups and even an amazing birthday cake for the main event - everyone cooked and really enjoyed the huge kitchen !
People came and went, walked, talked played golf and had an amazing time.
Our age group ranged from 18-70 we are an energetic bunch that used the whole house including the full size billiards table in the attic space which is VAST and the craziest place to play hide and seek ! Absolutely hilarious ....
This is all before the main party night on the Saturday evening !
We set up a bar in the library with a roaring fire while 4 courses were served in the main dining room, Delicious before long we were being lead to the front terrace for fireworks and bagpipes. Absolutely brilliant - it honestly couldn't have been better.
there's so much to say it would be quicker for you to drive up and see for yourself ........

Thank you so much for an amazing time xxx
Ps please dont change anything - this original honest house is charming as it is !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: new furniture
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsTHove
Hove, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fabulous venue for a party or wedding in a stunning setting”
Reviewed February 3, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Our friends had booked Dunskey for a big birthday celebration, and although we had our doubts about going to Scotland in the coldest month of the year, it was a fantastic choice. As a party of 25, we had the run of half of the house, with its quirky details and individually decorated bedrooms, which also included the massive kitchen, the library and dining room. Our hosts, Alistair and Ann, couldn't have been more hospitable and made us feel very welcome.
There are some beautiful walks on the estate and beyond, not forgetting the maze in which we all got lost at various times. And there's table tennis and billiards for those with any energy left. The main party night was excellently catered for and was topped off by a piper, fireworks and our own disco... we weren't given a time curfew either!

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing