We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Cedar Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HJD14
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Home from home”
Reviewed August 1, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a fantastic week at cedar lodge in July. We visited Portpatrick with our two sons aged 13 and 10 and with both sets of parents. We were even able to bring our two small dogs with us. When booking I was drawn to cedar lodge because all the rooms were en-suite and it had a generous living space and decked area with a garden; it didn't disappoint. We all were able to have our own space and with a touch of luxury too. Kate certainly made us feel welcome with her personal touches and the homemade cookies went down well. Portpatrick itself is quite magical; it's a unique little picturesque part of Scotland. We played putting and tennis several times. The courts were free, just remember to take your racquets and balls. There are plenty of walks round about and places to visit and eat out. With two active boys and dogs we weren't stuck for things to do.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We're so pleased all the family had a great time at Cedar Lodge and in Portpatrick - you're right - it really is a magical spot. With the secure decking area outside and all the bedrooms having en suites, it definitely makes for a more relaxed holiday. Thank you for your top tip about the tennis courts - we've played there quite a few times now! Many thanks once again for choosing Cedar Lodge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine M
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!”
Reviewed January 23, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

I stayed at Cedar Lodge with 7 girl friends for a long weekend. From the moment we walked in we knew this was special. It was a real home from home with luxurious fixtures and fitting, fab powerful showers, plentiful kitchen appliances and dishes, glasses etc and a beautiful location. Everything was taken care of from toilets rolls, to tea, coffee, cookies and bin bags.
There are 4 bedrooms, sleeping 8 (inc one bunk room) and all were beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The en-suites were absolutely immaculate too and beautifully done.
We are already talking about going back to do it all over again - a good sign. :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 23, 2017
Thank you so much for your glowing report of Cedar Lodge. We're delighted you all had a great weekend in Portpatrick and I do hope we can welcome you back soon for the next group birthday celebration.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice L
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heavenly Lodge”
Reviewed October 1, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Wow. Fab 4 bed/4ensuite tastefully furnished bolthole with every need catered for. The openplan kitchen/dining/lounge is a delight, ambiance perfect. The glass wall opens onto decking which is flooded with sunlight all day and views of the sea and distant N.Ireland especially memorable at dusk. The internal area is also heated by the sun, negating the need for central heating, although, this is available, if required. The Lodge is very clean and obviously well cared for, every need catered for by the owners, Angus and Kate Carrick-Buchanan. A call by the owners to give local info and to confirm the satisfaction of their guests is made and confirms the commitment of this couple to a personal first class service to every guest. A wonderful holiday in this great Lodge situated in a lovely part of the UK. You will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Every single thing! The Lodge itself, view, comfort, ambiance, cleanliness.
Liked least: Not a thing personally
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2016
It was such a pleasure having you all to stay at Cedar Lodge and thank you so much for taking the time to do review. We're so pleased you loved our holiday house and appreciated all the thought and hard work we've put into it. You're right the views from the deck over the sea to Ireland are just stunning. I do hope we can welcome you back very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 6, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 15, 2016
Thank you so much for your review and for choosing Cedar Lodge for your holiday in Portpatrick. We're so pleased you took full advantage of everything Dumfries and Galloway has to offer from the beautiful beaches to the exotic gardens. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 23, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being beyond expectations
Liked least: Didn't stay longer
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 15, 2016
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Cedar Lodge - thank you so much for all your kind words about our holiday house. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Castle Douglas
Reviewed September 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 15, 2016
Thank you so much for choosing Cedar Lodge and for taking the time to leave a review - we're so pleased you all had a great holiday in Portpatrick.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing