We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly ,charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Portpatrick Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

first time traveller to scotland,wow scenary incredible after what seemed alifetime on the coaches, not knocking coaches, clean and comftable, very informative driver,would travell, with them again just on a shorter journey nice stop off in gretna green, on to the hotel,commanding view of the north irish sea .just got there as the first of the storms where finishing, staff really friendly and helpfull, sevice at breakfast,and tea 1st class plenty of choice, of food and drink.rooms clean and comftable, and warm,only down point outside of hotel ,could do with a bit of a paint,and windowssealing properly, apart from that very pleasant place to stop,

Room Tip: up grade if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robert k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. You should try and come back in the summer months and see Portpatrick at its beautiful best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (553)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 553 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at the Portpatrick Hotel in November so we had a taste of our typical british weather, although it made the sea look fantastic, we could watch it from the window of our cosy bedroom. Because of my health problems we were provided with a ground floor room at very short notice and all the staff were very helpful and pleasant, the food was excellent and plentiful. The lounge area was comfortable and warm with marvellous views of the village, harbour and sea. We are looking forward to returning in the spring and will recommend this hotel to our friends and family, also the lovely village and surrounding area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabeth r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

The weather has not changed much since your visit but fortunately for us it nowhere near as bad as those poor people are getting on the south of England. Thanks for the kind review. It is always appreciated when someone takes the time to comment when they have enjoyed our hotel. I hope the weather improves in time for your next visit in the spring. We look forward to welcoming you here again at the Portpatrick Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the portpatrick in sept 13, the hotel is set above the town with a fantastic view across the port & the Irish Sea, the friendly concierge changed my room for a sea view with no fuss at all. The staff were very pleasant & friendly, my room was clean, warm & the bed was very comfortable, & boy, that view!! Looking forward to returning in March 14

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank williamtrafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

It was kind of you to write such a lovely review. I'm so glad your stay last time as well as our fantastic views. We look forward to welcoming you here again in March.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is our third stay at Port Patrick hotel and is a favourite place for us to stay each time seeing great improvements in the hotel and the decor.The staff were excellent and always had a warm welcome for the guests. Our room was excellent with all the facilities including a very large bathroom. The meals were very good and a good selection . The rooms all had good views but the ones at the front of the hotel had the best views across the harbour.The walk down to the harbour is difficult as there are no railings to hold onto to aid walking.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jack N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thanks for the lovely review. It is always appreciated when someone takes the time to write positive comments about the hotel. Hopefully it wont be too long before we see your return to the hotel. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

a very well run hotel from booking in to leaving
reception pleasant polite and efficient
restaurant clean ,good choice of food well presented and service with a smile
Hotel bar and lounge spacious good view across the harbour, however the young lady serving was off hand and her uniform was torn and untidy , her advice on the wines available was to read the menu ,or check what's available the list is on the wall
Room quality clean tidy but some what small more of a large single rather than a double distance from bed to wall 12 inches and 9 inches to wardrobe
Bathroom adequate however the rubber hand held shower had to be connected to two individual taps i.e. hot cold ,the bath had a single mixer tap ? still trying to work it out water pressure not good to washbasin and hot water was intermittent
room service very good with very pleasant house keeping ladies
TV reception hit and miss on BBC channels
finally a big thank you to the Irish gentleman on reception nothing was a problem and was very patient helping connect to the cloud wifi system

Room Tip: avoid room 210 its so small could be a safety issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pappaConsett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for the review. I will look into the issues you’ve raised and see what can be done to rectify them. I do hope you enjoyed your overall stay none the less. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Had a great time all the staff housemaids, kitchen staff, chef, bar staff, receptionists, and managers were excellent and very friendly. Meals were great, brunches (so we got a lie in), gala dinners, afternoon tea with xmas cake/shortbread/mince pies, free fruit, wine, chocolates, in the room. A special mention to Kelly, Melvin, Phil, Carlos, for making Hogmanay really special. Entertainment every night and a piper for the bells. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tonyswife14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

The New Year seems some time ago now already. Thanks for writing the review and I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comments onto the staff and look forward to seeing you when you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Fantastic journey from Lancashire ,the A75 from Carlisle to Portpatrick has stunning views along a mostly coastal route.
We arrived to a friendly welcome from Melvin and Norman took the cases up to the room for us.
Room 119 is the only twin bedded room with a walk in shower.
This is remarkable in an hotel that caters mainly for older clients and it would appear that more walk in showers have been asked for but the powers that be will not be advised by those who know better.
The room has a fantastic view over the quaint harbour but has very old sash windows which cause the curtains to billow out,as the hotel being on a cliff is open to the elements,which usually means it is very windy.
We tended to go for dinner around 7.30 so the coach crowd had mainly gone to get their seats for the entertainment on certain nights.
The menus were well thought out and had plenty of choice,with good sized portions.
If you wanted to eat off the a la carte menu then you got a discount so that was good value if you fancied something completely different and you could mix and match,which was great.
Breakfast was about nine for us,again we missed the rush.
The girls were really friendly and helpful and efficient.
We started with fantastic porridge,thick and rib sticking.
A good choice of juices and lots of different cereals to pick from too.
Tea or coffee also fruit teas were available.
Fantastic choices from the full English to smoked salmon and scrambled egg in other words you could have as much or as little as you wanted.
Toast you did yourself on the two machines available,good quality brown or white.
Nothing was too much trouble for the girls looking after us
Wi-fi was available in the downstairs areas.
As we went last week the Christmas decorations were out in full force and looked very pretty and there were plenty of lights and cute Christmas animated figures.
Portpatrick is a lovely picturesque town and harbour with a lovely shop called the Smugglers Cave,so much to see and choose from at reasonable prices.
The choice of trips out is fabulous so much to see,coastal routes with lots of small towns and the Mull of Galloway is a must with its superb lighthouse,which was lit up on the Thursday as it was foggy.
We found the roads to be very quiet and the price of petrol no dearer than at home.
All in all the holiday was very enjoyable and we would recommend the Hotel Portpatrick with its fabulous views and it is fantastic value for money .
A big thank you to Melvin,Norman,Kayleigh,Carlos and May and the girls in the restaurant,also the biggest thank you to the fantastic chefs in the kitchen for the great food and for catering to my chicken fad,much appreciated.
You will see us next year,we had a lovely time

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for the views, most rooms have baths with hand held showers in them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LaLa1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you so much for the lovely review. I will ensure all concerned see your comments. It’s always nice to receive positive comments. It makes the hard work, worth while. Hopefully it wont be too long before we welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
0.2 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
271 reviews
5.8 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
109 reviews
2 mi away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
285 reviews
11.5 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portpatrick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portpatrick Hotel

Address: Heugh Road, Portpatrick DG9 8TQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Price Range: $80 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Portpatrick Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portpatrick is a small fishing village set in a peaceful and unspoilt corner of Southern Scotland. The Portpatrick Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore this delightful area. The Portpatrick Hotel is a spectacular property standing on Galloway’s clifftops in nine acres of grounds, overlooking the village and its secluded harbour. The area is a haven for lovers of sports and the outdoors, with its own tennis court and 9-hole golf course. You’ll also find a variety of wonderful opportunities for birdwatching and fishing. From the hotel you can enjoy day trips to nearby Stranraer, magnificent historical sites and gardens, or even a trip by ferry to Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Portpatrick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portpatrick Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing