We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but shabby room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Portpatrick Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but shabby room”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hotel sits in a beautiful location, lobby area is beautiful, friendly gentleman on reception on arrival, we paid quite a hefty price for a shabby room, dirty green coloured carpet, would benefit from upgrading to the same perfect standard of the lobby, breakfast must be the children's portion, full breakfast was tiny! Lady who served us could do with a training course on giving a wee smile!

Room Tip: Would like to go back to a nicer room as I loved the location of this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for the review. I’m sorry your experience was not as expected. Hopefully, if you return, you will experience, as the vast majority of our guests do, is a much nicer time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    205
    81
    29
    17
See reviews for
54
330
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed at the Portpatrick Hotel for one night last weekend. I had booked through booking.com and requested a room with a sea view and was happy to pay to upgrade. The manager at the hotel phoned me and left a message to say he would see what he could do.. (it was worth the request to hear the Irish accent!) Anyway, I did get a room with an amazing sea view and I wasn't charged any extra for it (thankyou!) It was room 118 which someone on here as named as a room with problems. So the mattress wasn't the Ritz quality, but so what! The room was spacious, fantastic views, plenty of tea and coffee and good quality toiletries. The room was clean, I was really very happy with it. It's an old hotel, it has character and charm!

I had to login online and do some work whilst I was there. There is no wifi in the rooms, (but there is downstairs I believe) however, the phone/mobile broadband signal for '3' is more than excellent there and I tethered through my phone to get online.

Breakfast was great, finding a hotel that actually has a veggie breakfast on the menu is a rarity, but they do here and it was spot on. The waitress was pretty glum (think Olive from On The Buses lookalike ) but she was efficient.

I really enjoyed my stay at the Portpatrick Hotel and wouldn't hesitate to go back, The location is fabulous, the staff are friendly, the hotel is clean and spacious, the food is great. One thing missing, I didn't see a ghost! Can you fix it for me to see one next time please :)

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whooooooosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
It is very refreshing to read a review where someone actually appreciates the value for money we offer. We are not, nor do we pretend to be a 5 star hotel, we do try our best to ensure everyone who stays, enjoys it. Thanks again for this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a rewarding little haven after a lengthy, scenic drive. A rich in character, French-chateaux, inspired, structure, with a most welcoming staff with Phil the manager, plus his Irish No.2. Breakfast and dinner were well prepared and professionally served.There was no entertainment, but it was enough to savour the idyllic, grandstand, situation after a tasteful days cliff-top and uncommercialised harbour-strolling walk. Certainly an inexpensive holiday for the discerning and exclusive visitor. Can't wait to return. Many thanks to Shearings.

Room Tip: A sea view room, a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thanks for the kind comments. Portpatrick is the type of place where people return time after time.. I hope we see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Arrived after a long day with Simon, an excellent driver, to find that pre-ordered flowers for my wife's birthday were not in my room as arranged. Spoke to an Irish gentleman on reception who took this error out on one of the receptionists. I received no apology and had to "get him out of a hole" by having them delivered on Wednesday's Wedding Anniversary. Despite requesting a low room we spent an uncomfortable night in our attic room and in the morning found one mattress had protruding springs and the other was covered in ugly stains from previous guests. The shower was uncontrollable and when I complained to the Irish gentleman his suggestion was that I would have to get up at three in the morning to overcome this problem. No entertainment whatsoever was provided in the hotel despite the fact that many guests were unable to climb the 83 steps down to the minimal number of attractions in the village
However the Scottish staff employed in the hotel were excellent and whilst the food was good, portions were minimal - the first Shearings hotel we have visited (out of many) which offered a la carte meals. Perhaps that says it all.
The hotel decor was black and white with fifteen shades of grey - not at all warm and welcoming but quite the reverse. The trips out were excellent in spite of the weather and we did have the excitement of seeing the lifeboat launched one evening.Coupled with the fact that it took 12 hours to get back home ( why dont Shearings take us straight to Washington Services any more?) I will leave the reader to make their own mind up on the number of stars to award !
PS The toaster was EXCELLENT

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for the review. I ‘m glad you got your flowers. The normal procedure for this is to order them yourself through interflora or someone similar. This way you get exactly what you want for your partner. The Irishman (Melvin) chose to take this on himself and get flowers for you. Unfortunately he forgot to orginise them for your arrival but did get it for your anniversary, as requested. This involved driving 16 miles round trip to get your flowers at the hotels expense. Thanks again for your review and kind comments regarding the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Fantastic harbour view from our room
Staff were very very good
Meals were ok but it is a budget holiday so dont expect too much
Room was good but the shower had a mind of its own
plenty of hot water so had to resort to baths
mattress was not very comfortable you could feel the springs
But at the end of the day we had a very good break
would i go back yes

Room Tip: always ask for a sea view it is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyholidays48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for the review. We are very fortunate with the views we have. I will pass on your comments to the staff. Hopefully we will see you here again soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a long weekend break and our final destination was The Portpatrick Hotel. We arrived on Friday evening and despite a very strong breeze the sun was shining and it was quite warm. Got out of the car overlooking this beautiful little fishing village and the lightly painted houses looked really picturesque in the sunshine.

We were greeted at the reception and booked in with no fuss. We were given Room 224. This is located at the side of the hotel and offered no views of the village but we were able to see our car on the car park and a little of the sea.

The room was very clean but the decoration was at best passable at least lacking the professional touch. it was very draughty as the strong breeze/wind continued throughout our stay and it did get quite chilly in the room as the tempreature dipped on the day following our arrival. The portable heater just about coped. The bed was very comfortable and the towel's and linen were very clean. We were well served by our housemaid.

If there is one point of complaint it was the shower. It was almost amateurish and the flexible pipe between tap and shower head was the worse for age/use/fw&t.. It was impossible to adjust the tempreature and it ran hot and cold intermittently. Very frustrating as this is in my humble opinion a very important feature of one's stay.

We have friends living in Portpatrick and so we did not dine in the evening. I am quite glad this was the case as the breakfasts were mediocre although acceptable. The waiting staff were very pleasant and friendly.

like all Coast and Country Hotels the bar prices are prohibitive. £6.00 for a glass of pinot Grigio wine. Needless to say we drank very little in the hotel.

All in all the hotel is comfortable and the ground floor is fresh and modern. I have no hesitation in recommending it as a short break hotel.

Room Tip: There are some much better rooms than the one we were given. Worth discussing with reception when yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barneyb69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for the review. All 108 year old hotels tend to have water issues which is very unfortunate. Our wine is £5.55 for a 250ml glass. It has not, as you say, reached the £6 mark just yet. We have a bottles on sale for only £14.95 with a £1.00 off voucher for your next bottle. Competitively priced I personally think.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and was a very comfortable stay but the rooms really do need re-decorating and refurbished.

The location is great and the view from the rooms is amazing overlooking the harbour but the rooms really did let the place down. It was a clean and well sized room and couldn't fault the staff or the breakfasts.

I would definitely stay here again but only if it gets a makeover before hand.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILOVEWINE123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks for the review. We are in the process of costing to refurbish bedrooms. This can be quite a slow process with the costs involved. Thanks again for the review and hopefully it won’t be too long before your back visiting once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portpatrick hotels
0.2 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dunskey Guest House
Dunskey Guest House
#7 of 14 in Portpatrick
84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mount Stewart Hotel
Mount Stewart Hotel
#5 of 14 in Portpatrick
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blinkbonnie Guest House
Blinkbonnie Guest House
#8 of 14 in Portpatrick
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portpatrick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portpatrick Hotel

Property: The Portpatrick Hotel
Address: Heugh Road, Portpatrick DG9 8TQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Portpatrick Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portpatrick is a small fishing village set in a peaceful and unspoilt corner of Southern Scotland. The Portpatrick Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore this delightful area. The Portpatrick Hotel is a spectacular property standing on Galloway’s clifftops in nine acres of grounds, overlooking the village and its secluded harbour. The area is a haven for lovers of sports and the outdoors, with its own tennis court and 9-hole golf course. You’ll also find a variety of wonderful opportunities for birdwatching and fishing. From the hotel you can enjoy day trips to nearby Stranraer, magnificent historical sites and gardens, or even a trip by ferry to Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Portpatrick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portpatrick Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing