We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOW MANY STARS WOULD YOU GIVE OUR HOLIDAY ?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Portpatrick Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Arrived after a long day with Simon, an excellent driver, to find that pre-ordered flowers for my wife's birthday were not in my room as arranged. Spoke to an Irish gentleman on reception who took this error out on one of the receptionists. I received no apology and had to "get him out of a hole" by having them delivered on Wednesday's Wedding Anniversary. Despite requesting a low room we spent an uncomfortable night in our attic room and in the morning found one mattress had protruding springs and the other was covered in ugly stains from previous guests. The shower was uncontrollable and when I complained to the Irish gentleman his suggestion was that I would have to get up at three in the morning to overcome this problem. No entertainment whatsoever was provided in the hotel despite the fact that many guests were unable to climb the 83 steps down to the minimal number of attractions in the village
However the Scottish staff employed in the hotel were excellent and whilst the food was good, portions were minimal - the first Shearings hotel we have visited (out of many) which offered a la carte meals. Perhaps that says it all.
The hotel decor was black and white with fifteen shades of grey - not at all warm and welcoming but quite the reverse. The trips out were excellent in spite of the weather and we did have the excitement of seeing the lifeboat launched one evening.Coupled with the fact that it took 12 hours to get back home ( why dont Shearings take us straight to Washington Services any more?) I will leave the reader to make their own mind up on the number of stars to award !
PS The toaster was EXCELLENT

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Thank you for the review. I ‘m glad you got your flowers. The normal procedure for this is to order them yourself through interflora or someone similar. This way you get exactly what you want for your partner. The Irishman (Melvin) chose to take this on himself and get flowers for you. Unfortunately he forgot to orginise them for your arrival but did get it for your anniversary, as requested. This involved driving 16 miles round trip to get your flowers at the hotels expense. Thanks again for your review and kind comments regarding the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 537 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

Fantastic harbour view from our room
Staff were very very good
Meals were ok but it is a budget holiday so dont expect too much
Room was good but the shower had a mind of its own
plenty of hot water so had to resort to baths
mattress was not very comfortable you could feel the springs
But at the end of the day we had a very good break
would i go back yes

Room Tip: always ask for a sea view it is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happyholidays48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Thank you for the review. We are very fortunate with the views we have. I will pass on your comments to the staff. Hopefully we will see you here again soon. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a long weekend break and our final destination was The Portpatrick Hotel. We arrived on Friday evening and despite a very strong breeze the sun was shining and it was quite warm. Got out of the car overlooking this beautiful little fishing village and the lightly painted houses looked really picturesque in the sunshine.

We were greeted at the reception and booked in with no fuss. We were given Room 224. This is located at the side of the hotel and offered no views of the village but we were able to see our car on the car park and a little of the sea.

The room was very clean but the decoration was at best passable at least lacking the professional touch. it was very draughty as the strong breeze/wind continued throughout our stay and it did get quite chilly in the room as the tempreature dipped on the day following our arrival. The portable heater just about coped. The bed was very comfortable and the towel's and linen were very clean. We were well served by our housemaid.

If there is one point of complaint it was the shower. It was almost amateurish and the flexible pipe between tap and shower head was the worse for age/use/fw&t.. It was impossible to adjust the tempreature and it ran hot and cold intermittently. Very frustrating as this is in my humble opinion a very important feature of one's stay.

We have friends living in Portpatrick and so we did not dine in the evening. I am quite glad this was the case as the breakfasts were mediocre although acceptable. The waiting staff were very pleasant and friendly.

like all Coast and Country Hotels the bar prices are prohibitive. £6.00 for a glass of pinot Grigio wine. Needless to say we drank very little in the hotel.

All in all the hotel is comfortable and the ground floor is fresh and modern. I have no hesitation in recommending it as a short break hotel.

Room Tip: There are some much better rooms than the one we were given. Worth discussing with reception when yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barneyb69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for the review. All 108 year old hotels tend to have water issues which is very unfortunate. Our wine is £5.55 for a 250ml glass. It has not, as you say, reached the £6 mark just yet. We have a bottles on sale for only £14.95 with a £1.00 off voucher for your next bottle. Competitively priced I personally think.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and was a very comfortable stay but the rooms really do need re-decorating and refurbished.

The location is great and the view from the rooms is amazing overlooking the harbour but the rooms really did let the place down. It was a clean and well sized room and couldn't fault the staff or the breakfasts.

I would definitely stay here again but only if it gets a makeover before hand.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ILOVEWINE123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thanks for the review. We are in the process of costing to refurbish bedrooms. This can be quite a slow process with the costs involved. Thanks again for the review and hopefully it won’t be too long before your back visiting once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed for a week and everything was AOK apart from breakfast. Order poached eggs on toast and that is what you get, order poached eggs on toast and bacon - guess what - no toast. It seems if you order anything else to accompany poached (or scrambled) eggs on toast you get no toast. You have to do it yourself on a crazy machine that always has a queue at it, and you have to pass the bread through twice to get it brown. Of course, by the time you have done this your breakfast is cold! We have stayed at about 10 other Shearing Hotels and this is the first time we have come across this!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TD_Scribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thanks for the review. Similarly to a large number of hotels now, we do have self-serve toast making facilities. This allows the guests to personally make as much or as little and also when they want it. I’m not sure what happened to your order but I am assured that when guests order poached egg on toast with bacon, that’s what they get. If they only order poached egg and bacon, that is also what they get.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I have enjoyed a few trips to this hotel over the last few years, it has always been most enjoyable.
The hotel itself is located in a stunning location with tremendous views over the harbour and the Irish sea.
The last time we were there the hotel gave us a free upgrade to one of their premium rooms which obviously we were very grateful for.
The room was large, clean and comfortable, everything you want really.

Can`t comment too much on the food because we only had breakfast, but that was fine, there was a good selection and the staff were helfpul and pleasant.

There wasn`t any entertainment on when we were there but that wasn`t really an issue for us as we preferred to walk down to the village. The walk back up from some of the local pubs isn`t as easy as going down is though.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and we have already booked to go back next year on our anniversary.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are simply stunning. It`s well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you very much for the review. I will pass on your comments to the staff. Portpatrick seems to be a place where people like to return time and time again. The stunning views, friendly atmosphere of the whole village I think, are the reasons for this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in a stunning location on a hill overlooking Portpatrick harbour The Hotel is very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful The food is very good with a good choice of menu at breakfast and dinner. Only downside was the fact that although a lunch menu was offered, it was not available due to no chef being on duty. Also the advertised entertainment failed to materialize. so a bit disappointing in that respect. Overall it is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for the review. The entertainment will return later in the year. We have found over the summer months that it is little or not used while the weather is fair. Sorry about lunch, we had staffing issues which have now been resolved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
0.2 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
375 reviews
11.5 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mount Stewart Hotel
Mount Stewart Hotel
#6 of 14 in Portpatrick
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portpatrick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portpatrick Hotel

Address: Heugh Road, Portpatrick DG9 8TQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Price Range: $96 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Portpatrick Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portpatrick is a small fishing village set in a peaceful and unspoilt corner of Southern Scotland. The Portpatrick Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore this delightful area. The Portpatrick Hotel is a spectacular property standing on Galloway’s clifftops in nine acres of grounds, overlooking the village and its secluded harbour. The area is a haven for lovers of sports and the outdoors, with its own tennis court and 9-hole golf course. You’ll also find a variety of wonderful opportunities for birdwatching and fishing. From the hotel you can enjoy day trips to nearby Stranraer, magnificent historical sites and gardens, or even a trip by ferry to Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Portpatrick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portpatrick Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing