We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Portpatrick Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent for a break”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is the first Shearings holiday that we have been on. We chose Portparick on recommendation from a family member who had been there with them last year. The (standard) room was spacious and clean and there was plenty of hot water for the bath/shower. We had the included meals, and can especially recommend the breakfasts, which were freshly cooked and not at all dried up and rubbery as we have experienced in other hotels. The staff were friendly and attentive. Beer was 'safe' (Worthington Cream-Flow) but good pubs in the village provided proper ale and that made it all better again!

Room Tip: We asked for a well-ventilated room and were given one at the sea-ward end of the hotel. It was quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks for the review, it is always nice to read something from guests who have enjoyed their stay and are positive about the hotel. Thanks again and hopefully we will see you sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    206
    81
    30
    18
See reviews for
56
330
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

From the minute we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The hotel is in a fantastic location. The staff were friendly and professional. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. One room was a premier room which was extremely spacious. The only slight problem was the style of bed. Because of the height and it was a four poster, the mattress being inside the frame made it difficult to get out of. Once in the bed, it was very comfortable but not practical for people with mobility problems. The meals were good but I'm afraid that.contrary to the current cooking styles, we prefer our vegetables to be cooked rather than so hard that you couldn't put a fork in. Thoise two issues aside, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: I would definitely pay the supplement for the sea view. It was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarionAnne64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks for your review, I will pass your comments onto the staff. The four poster beds do cause some guests some problems and we are looking at ways to resolve this. Thanks again and hopefully we will see you sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have stayed in several Shearings hotels and found this to be one of the best. The hotel is in a fantastic location. Efficient check in on arrival. Our standard bedroom was clean and spacious. Yes, as previous comments, the TV was small and the reception was not good (but this is out of the hotels control). But who cares, we had not gone on holiday to watch TV. Public rooms were clean, modern in style and nicely decorated. Restaurant staff were friendly and efficient. Service and choice of food was good. Breakfast - plenty of choice on menu including fresh fruit, yoghurt, croissants etc, you only have to ask. Dinners - there were good choices for each course plus an A la Carte menu should you wish to have something different. All were nicely cooked and well presented. Excellent value for money at approximately £40.00 per night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeDeeHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for you’re your kind comments. Our TV systems has now been updated and all rooms have flat screen TV’s with Freeview. It is so good to hear when a guests acknowledges the excellent value for money that we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend mid September. Hard to find at first - no signs. Beautiful inside. We had booked a premier room (123) which on the website looked very big. In reality it was small. Nice corner with chairs and amazing views over the sea. On trying the bed we knew instantly that we wouldn't be able to stay. It was very tall and had a wooden surround which you sunk down into, I couldn't get off. My husband went down to reception to ask for another room. They were expecting it, they had had loads of complaints about the bed. We were given the choice of a superior or an apartment, we chose the apartment which didn't have the view but was very spacious and had a kitchen. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, especially the lady who worked in the bar and made us our first ever cocktail. Would highly recommend the al la carte menu, the food is far superior. £3.00 for pitch and putt just outside the hotel. Steps down to the village which is very pretty with some lovely shops. Loads to do in the area. can see it being busy during the week when there are coaches in. Will definitely go back for a weekend. Would love someone to tell us how to get in and out of the premier room beds.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireandGrahamW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for the review. The beds do seem to be too high for some people, but not all. I’m glad you enjoyed the apartment, staff and hotel in general. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We are just returned from a four day break.
Some reviews had caused us a sense of unease and the failure of Shearing to reply to our communications did not assist in dispelling
this disquiet. however there were answers to some of the points raised in the reviews which covered a few of the points to a degree.
We need not have worried.
We had a wonderful time .
The staff were excellent and the friendliness contagious.
Each and every guest enjoyed the atmosphere and not one word of
complaint was to be heard.
The guests at this hotel have proved most friendly on all our visits and this was no exception to that norm.
Congrats to all!

Room Tip: The sea view is much to be commended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJBScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I will ensure all staff see your comments. They are very much appreciated. We do try to ensure that all guests enjoy their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We always wanted to visit port Patrick and booked this hotel for 2 nights b&b in September. Hotel itself was nice, breakfast was also ok although no fresh fruit at all. However our bedroom was an absolute disgrace. We had no shower, the bath was badly cracked, the sink was even worse and cracked all over. The plaster and paint above the bath was peeling off, the curtains were hanging off the curtain rail and when we went into bed we found a big hole in the blanket. When we spoke at reception, we were asked if we requested a shower, unbelievable ! then we were told that the next time we come , remind the staff we had room 217 as they always make sure guests do not get this room twice. It was an absolute disgrace and spoiled our weekend. My husband and I were insulted to be offered this bedroom . If going to, PortPatrick which is lovely, do not go to this hotel, there are many more which I am told are excellent. M.Slevin.

Room Tip: Do not accept room 217 and inspect other rooms before agreeing to accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for the review. Your points have been noted and we are working on rectifying these. I would be very surprised if any staff member said that comment about not getting that room twice. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We spent the August bank holiday there and it was fantastic, we even got the last of the sunshine. Our room overlooked the harbour and part of the Irish sea it was breathtaking. It really came to life around the Harbour on Sunday and we had crab sandwiches washed down with white wine al fresco at the pub/restaurant. We were half-board at the hotel and the food was very good as were the staff, very friendly and helpful. We went into Stranraer via bus on the Saturday and the buses were very regular. We played crazy golf, went for walks, took photograps and enjoyed the sunshine. Overall, we had a great time!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
So pleased you had a great time at Portpatrick. It was nice to read your positive review. We do have a lovely village with friendly people living and working here. Hopefully we will see you again in the near future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
0.2 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dunskey Guest House
Dunskey Guest House
#7 of 14 in Portpatrick
84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mount Stewart Hotel
Mount Stewart Hotel
#5 of 14 in Portpatrick
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portpatrick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portpatrick Hotel

Property: The Portpatrick Hotel
Address: Heugh Road, Portpatrick DG9 8TQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Portpatrick Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portpatrick is a small fishing village set in a peaceful and unspoilt corner of Southern Scotland. The Portpatrick Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore this delightful area. The Portpatrick Hotel is a spectacular property standing on Galloway’s clifftops in nine acres of grounds, overlooking the village and its secluded harbour. The area is a haven for lovers of sports and the outdoors, with its own tennis court and 9-hole golf course. You’ll also find a variety of wonderful opportunities for birdwatching and fishing. From the hotel you can enjoy day trips to nearby Stranraer, magnificent historical sites and gardens, or even a trip by ferry to Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Portpatrick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portpatrick Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing