We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay in Portpatrick”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Portpatrick Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We have stayed at other Shearings Hotels and so when we wanted a hotel with all round good quality relaxing without having to do anythng we chose Portpatrick and we definately were not disappointed. We upgraded to a Superior room which we though was a bit expensive but the size of the room and the views were excellent. The room itself was very good but the only thing which hadn't been upgraded were the windows which were old wooden sash windows in poor condition. The bed and quilt were comfortable, the roo was warm wih the option of 2 elctic radiators as well. House keeping was also very good.

The meals were of a reasonable quality, you know they are catering for large numbers so you accept the table d'hote menu has to be prepared in advance. Having said that, we thoughly enjoyed all our meals. We had the option of ordering from the a la catre menu but nver did because we were happy with the table d'hote. Service was always good although I know why some people have said the staff are laying up tables as they serve you.

The entertainment was also good but I was surprised it was not laid on every night as in other hotels we have stayed at. Portpatrick is a good base to explore Galloway and we enjoyed a trip to Belfast. We walked down to the village which has some lovely pubs and restauants.

To summarise we had a lovely week, the hotel lived up to expectations, the staff were great and we would cetainly recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a superior room which was spacious, wonderful views, but perhaps a little expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Your comments are very much appreciated and I will pass them on to the staff . the windows are an issue in some of the rooms, and being a listed building, it is not quite as simple to resolve as we would like. Thank you again and hopefully we will see you sometime in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 557 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was the second Shearings hotel we stopped at on our recent holiday. The hotel is well situated for views over Portpatrick. It has had some money spent on the public areas which look very clean and smart.

The rooms are tired and, as other reviewers have said, need a make over. The management appear to be addressing these issues so there is no point in going over old ground and commenting further.

The meals consist of frozen vegetables, Aunt Bessy roast potatos and yorkshire puddings, etc. and meats/fish smothered in sauces in an effort to make out they are fancy dishes.

However, all this must be put into perspective with regard to what you pay to stay here. We paid £43 each per night, half board. And, although this is not as good value as our previous hotel (the Eden Arms) it still reflects well on what you get.

The highlight of the stay was David Kerr, the entertainer on the Saturday and Tuesday of our stay. He was an excellent entertainer and well worth watching and hearing. It is a pity there is not entertainment every night as there is very little else to do in the hotel (no gym or pool) and it is a drag to get down into the village on foot as there is no lighting on the steps down from the front of the hotel and the road down does not go direct into the village.

My only concern was when the fire alarm went off early one morning. When we got down to reception, the night porter was unable to silence the alarm. He did not instill confidence in me and did not appear to know what to do with an emergency situation. People were milling around reception and he did not give any instructions. He kept saying it was a false alarm and left the building to try and get a signal on his mobile phone. I would have expected him to still insist on evacuation until he could silence the alarm and demonstrate that there was no emergency. I feel that the hotel's policy on emergency evacuation procedures needs to be strictly applied as few people left the building, the lift was used and some people remained in their rooms despite the alarm.

Despite all of this, we enjoyed our stay and again would recommend the hotel on the value for money grounds, but do not pay full price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fussydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for the review of your recent stay and the positive comments.

We roast our potatoes freshly every day. They are not “Aunt Bessy” as you suggest. The sauces over the meat/fish dishes are not to make them “fancy”, but to complete the dish as described on the menu. All meals can come without sauce if requested to do so.

I do understand what you are saying regarding the fire alarm but it is the responsibility of EACH INDIVIDUAL to evacuate the building. The Night-porter does not switch the alarm off until it is safe to do so.
Each bedroom has instructions on what to do in the event of a fire. The lift also has signs saying “ In the event of a fire, Do not use the lift”. Nowhere in any of our instructions does it say, mill about reception until your told to leave, just stay in your room till you see flames or smell smoke or it's ok to use the lift regardless of what the signs say.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My family and I stopped at this hotel over the August bank holiday, The view from the hotel over Port Patrick where excellent and that is where the good thinks about this Hotel stops,
The main meal where of very poor quality on the Friday night the food was just not fit to eat even when paying extra for the A la carte menu, The food over the weekend was poor to say the least , On the Saturday we went down to Port Patrick to have some real food even though we had paid for the food in the hotel on our package.
The room are in need of a full make over my first room had running water coming down the wall broken window know door on the wardrobe a rag was tied to the radiator to collect the water that was leaking from it,
When I inform the Staff of the water running down the wall all she said was oh is it still leaking are you sure that it wet and not just a stain! Well it was wet,
Sorry but I will not be stopping here again,

Room Tip: dont stop here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank geordieinwhitby500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for your comments.

As I remember, it was a very wet weekend and we did have problems with water coming in. The room you were first allocated should have been checked and put off. Unfortunately it was not until you checked in, but as you say, you did not stay in it, you were move to another room.
We do in fact provide “real” food. I do not know of any other kind.
With around 100 guests staying that weekend, you are the only one that we know of that didn’t eat their 3 dinners. This indicates to me that we must be doing something right and that they found it “fit to eat”!

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Having been recommended this hotel we were really disappointed. We were in a basic room but for what we paid would have expected higher standards. no duvet on bed just a sheet and a fleece and bedspread, no duvet as you would expect. Although the linen was spotless.the overall cleanliness of room left a lot to be desired, skirting boards thick with dust and cobwebs above bed.wallpaper was coming off in places, room needing totally revamped. Old portable tv which kept turning off. The shower was ancient with a shower curtain like paper. Also seemed to be hot water only at certain times. The dinner on the first two nights was passable, but nights three and four were awful, the chicken was so dry and stringy and my fish was full of bones and when I mentioned this I was met with a stare by a very surly waitress. The breakfast was good and a good selection. This was our first visit here and can safely say it will be our last.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maida B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Firstly thank you for your comments.
I actually have no idea who you are, when you were here or what room you stayed in. The nature of Trip advisor allows people to say what they want and remain anonymous so this does make it harder to respond to a review.
We are, at present, in the process of changing all bed to duvets. Within the next 3 week our TV system shall be updated. The hot water is on 24 hours a day 7 days a week. The menu changes daily and if it was not to your liking, you could have eaten off the a-la-carte, which is also available daily.
Did you bring any of these complaints (especially the cleanliness complaints) to anyone when you were here? If you had I am sure they would have been acted on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Lovely Edwardian Hotel on a clifftop overlooking Portpatrick. Friendly staff, excellent food, adequate accommodation and a place to return to....mind you I had 7 rain free days there. A great base for visiting Dumfries and Galloway, Ayrshire and Northern Ireland. Great seafood bars and restaurants in the village. I WILL certainly go there anytime. Look at the economics - exceptional value for the price I paid

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johnmhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind comments. Having good weather does always help but even in stormy weather, the views of waves crashing over the rocks is spectacular. Hopefully we will see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My first visit to this hotel. I was impressed with the staff, all of whom were local, now theres a pleasent surprise
My room was a bit shabby and the TV tiny, but all in all very
comfortable
The bar did not stock my favourite malt, but I was only there for four nights!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geoff_from_cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you for your comments.
We are lucky here to have all local staff . It seems to be a popular comment from travellers who visit other hotels and complain about the language barrier.
Our TV system is be updated within the next few weeks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Well thats the best bit really, downhill all the way after that. The food is just shocking, lights etc. need a good dust and there is a serious lack of staff. We were downstairs in a superior room, wouldn't like to see a normal one, with a teeny weeny en suite. The food served in the restaurant is poor quality, small portions and the lack of fresh produce was evident. Supermarket economy sliced bread, tissue thin sliced meat and frozen or tinned veg just about sums it up. The problem here is that you have to pay in advance and so they can serve up any old rubbish and get away with it. Lunch sandwiches are ok but anything more isn't worth trying. The location is the best feature of the hotel but they don't enhance the experience for the guests.

Room Tip: Look before you buy, sea views also bring wind noise with them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dyspepsicdiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

One of the previous reviews “Our Jubilee Bank Holiday Break” stayed in the same room as you did and obviously had a completely different experience and opinion to yourself.
I am not sure what size of bathroom you needed but the one you had, had bath/shower, toilet and a wash hand basin. To have increased the size of the bathroom, the bedroom would have had to be made smaller. Most guests prefer more room in the bedroom area as that is where they spend most time.
We use Hovis (one of the market leaders) bread products for both breakfast and lunch not supermarket economy sliced bread as you suggested. Each night we use both fresh and frozen vegetables and we also have the option of our a-la-carte where everything on it is cooked to order.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
0.2 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
272 reviews
11.5 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
288 reviews
25.3 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
110 reviews
5.8 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portpatrick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portpatrick Hotel

Address: Heugh Road, Portpatrick DG9 8TQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Price Range: $57 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Portpatrick Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portpatrick is a small fishing village set in a peaceful and unspoilt corner of Southern Scotland. The Portpatrick Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore this delightful area. The Portpatrick Hotel is a spectacular property standing on Galloway’s clifftops in nine acres of grounds, overlooking the village and its secluded harbour. The area is a haven for lovers of sports and the outdoors, with its own tennis court and 9-hole golf course. You’ll also find a variety of wonderful opportunities for birdwatching and fishing. From the hotel you can enjoy day trips to nearby Stranraer, magnificent historical sites and gardens, or even a trip by ferry to Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Portpatrick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portpatrick Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing