We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portpatrick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rickwood House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Portpatrick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

I stayed at Rickwood with my son for five nights last week. The accommodation was immaculately clean and our room was extremely comfortable and had every convenience we could have asked for. Our hosts, Fred and Maggie, were tremendously helpful, and their service could be described as courteous and unobtrusive. Our breakfast was consistently excellent and dinner by arrangement is great value and should not be missed. The overall impression was outstanding, and we shall definitely return, soon I hope!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Martin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
131
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Thornhill
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We have just spent one night here but were delighted with the warm welcome.The breakfast was delicious and nothing was too much work for our wonderful hosts in this quaint, pretty village.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isa2do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
86 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We only stayed at Rickwood for three nights - but what a lovely place to stay and where we will return again. Delighted to see that Trip Advisor have justly awarded this lovely, family run hotel the five 'stars' - nothing is too much trouble for Fred and Maggie, they just make your stay perfect in every way. Maggie is a superb cook, whether it be breakfast or evening meal - and that shortbread - baked by Maggie and always available in a tin in the dining room - for a small donation - well worth while and so very tasty. We had Room 1 - on the ground floor with beautiful views of the sea - loads of room and comfort everywhere- as well as ideal with us having our Irish Setter - Harvey with us.Superb.

Room Tip: You would think having a ground floor room - next to the front door and hall might be noisy - not on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredfindlay, Owner at Rickwood House Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay at Rickwood and the Portpatrick area. Thanks for your much appreciated review and we hope to see you again before long! Best wishes Fred & Maggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalbeattie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

My fiancé and I stayed at the Rickwood for one night this weekend. We were greeted by Maggie, who was very helpful and showed us around. Our room was clean and tidy and had everything we needed. Breakfast was very good! Overall a nice b&b, only negative was the bed was quite uncomfortable and the en suite was very small, but this did not spoil our stay! Worth a visit!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alibeebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Colin and I and our little dog Bryan had a wonderful stay at Rickwood House, it was difficult to get booked as it was a busy weekend in portpatrick, thanks to a cancellation we managed to get booked for 2 nights in room 6. The room was bright and airy and it was a good size room for the 3 of us. The breakfast was tasty and evening meal was first class. The hospitality we received was great and I would have no hesitation in recommending a visit to this establishment. I will certainly be returning at some point and the other guests we met made our weekend visit just perfect. Thanks Maggie and Fred, we will be back..If you stay there you must taste the home made shortbread, for a small charity donation you get to taste the best shortbread ever,!!!!! Karen, Colin and Bryan :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen374_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Kathleen and I just left after a 6 night stay for the seventh time. Still as good as the first time. Evening meals first class + breakfast also good. How can you improve on perfection? Portpatrick and surrounding area well worth a visit complemented by a stay at Rickwood.

Will be back next year for the EIGHTH time.
David

Room Tip: Upstairs front rooms excellent views across the town and harbour to Northern Island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Chris and I plus two Golden Retrievers stayed for five nights, b & b plus evening meal from Tuesday, 12 to Sunday, 17 June.

The upstairs room was great for us and our dogs, plenty of room to move around and well maintained. Lovely and clean.

Maggie and Fred were very hospitable and helpful.

I recommend you should try Maggie's evening meals, a great cook!

We will certainly visit Maggie and Fred again. Thank you both.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portpatrick hotels
0.1 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunskey Guest House
Dunskey Guest House
#4 of 14 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rickwood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rickwood House Hotel

Property: Rickwood House Hotel
Address: Heugh Road, Portpatrick DG9 8TD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Portpatrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rickwood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning B&B with hot tub in Portpatrick,South West Scotland. * Adjacent to golf courses (18 & 9 hole) * Within walking distance of Portpatrick Harbour * Virtually on the cliff-top path at start of Southern Upland Way * Evening meals available by prior arrangement & drinks licence * Portpatrick is ideal base for touring the Rhins of Galloway * Near Scotland`s most southerly point - the Mull of Galloway * Outdoor Hot tub ( new for 2015) * More gardens within 30 mins by car than anywhere in Scotland * Dog & Pet friendly * Packed lunches, maps and help with walks available ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rickwood House Hotel Portpatrick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing