We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“attention professional moaners”
Review of Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crown Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Certificate of Excellence
wirral
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“attention professional moaners”
Reviewed August 29, 2009

The hotel is not the ritz but if thats what your after then dont stay there.It wasnt the best place Ihave stayed but it was o.k.The staff were friendly and the food was lovely.It is a bit run down but it gives it a quirky feel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank spikesmum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    60
    19
    19
    14
See reviews for
47
125
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Just back from The Crown Hotel in Portpatrick and never again. The whole place needs a re-vamp, and they certainley need to start again with the staff. They had no interest in their guests especially the woman behind the bar, all she went on about was having to work late the night before and how the owners just took advantage of her, not really what you want to here from the staff. When we went down for breakfast the waitress had no personality, and when we left there was no member of staff there to take our money what a carry on they need to employ a manager to run the place properly and for that reason we won't be back the staffs attitude certainley spoilt our weekend.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank ScotlandJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2009

Stayed here on our third visit to The Crown on one of their 3 nights for the price of 2 deals. Check-in was uninspiring, being done at a table which had a used cleaning cloth lying on it. Our room, on the top floor, facing the sea, was very small and great care had to be exercised moving around due to the low ceiling. Unfortunately, the tea-making facilities were in the corner at the lowest point in the room, so we tended to walk around with a permanent stoop! But then came the bathroom!! It was obvious that some attempt had been made to make the best of a bad job here. The sanitary ware was clean and soap and towels were fine, but.........the flooring!! Ugh!! The carpet (ugh again!) was severely stained, especially around the toilet bowl (double ugh!!). I cannot adequately describe how hideously filthy this was. Just walking on it with shoes on was a bit of a thought. There was an accumulation of dust around the Velux window an inch thick - no exaggeration! In short, the bathroom needed a complete revamp, but surely no self-respecting hotelier could possibly have thought the current state of this room was acceptable - at ANY price. Yes, we were getting a bargain rate, but that in no way made up for the state of this room.
We ate in the restaurant on our first night. Food was fine, service okay, but we were the only diners in this sizeable room. Breakfast was perfectly acceptable too, as is the bar food, but there is no sense of an owner's presence here. We didn't feel 'wanted' as guests, didn't have any 'contact' with any member of staff in particular (unusual in our experience of hotels) and left with a feeling of disappointment. The Crown is in such a splendid location and obviously doesn't want for customers, but there is a terrible lacking here. The Waterfront next door looks much better, and as previous reviewers have indicated, the Fernhill and especially Knockinaam Lodge if you can afford it, are much better bets. But it's the bathroom at The Crown which I shall remember and have nightmares about for a very long time. Do any hotel inspectors ever visit here I wonder?

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AyrshireHolidayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathclyde
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We have stayed at the Crown at least 5 times over the years but unfortunately as I understand it, it has changed owners.

I did not even get past the initial phone call!! I was made to feel stupid for trying to book a one night stay on a weekend.

The gentleman, not that he was one, informed me, in an unpleasant tone, that I would be lucky to get anywhere and that they (every other hotel in the port) were all looking for at least a minimum two night stay. I could not believe the tone of the conversation I was so taken aback that I could not say anything....However, I called the Waterfront Hotel, next door to the Crown and fortunately they had a room available and had no problem with the one night stay.

I was astounded to find out that the gentleman I spoke to was co owner of the Crown. If that is how he treats every customer, its a wonder that they have any business at all!!!.

I do not know why I have never stayed in the Waterfornt before. The level of customer service, food and rooms were exceptional. I will never stay at the Crown again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GGStrathclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran Canaria, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2009

Having read some of the comments from previous reviews I must say I was a little bit apprehensive prior to my visit.
I along with 3 friends checked into the Crown on a Sunday evening having been travelling since 5:30am that morning catching the ferry and playing 18 holes of golf in the interim. We were greeted warmly and promptly shown to our rooms. Our accommodation comprised of 2 twin rooms to the rear of the hotel.
One must bear in mind that this is an old building and as such the rooms are quite small, however they are adequate, clean, comfortable and the ensuite facilities fulfil their requirement. If travelling as a couple the little extra premium for room 12 would be a good investment if it is available.
My friends and I stayed at the Crown for 2 nights as B&B guests however we ended up having dinner also on both nights and lunch on the day of our departure. There is a choice of Bar Menu, Table d’hote or A la Cart which offers a wide range of very well priced dishes to suite all tastes. The food is of a high standard and served by friendly and attentive staff either in the bar or in the restaurant. The wine list like the menu is well priced and offers a good choice. The portions are generous and just the ticket after a days golfing, walking, fishing or sailing.
Overall you will find the Crown excellent value for money and you will be treated well.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavers001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2009

Just returned yesterday from a three night stay. Food was wonderful. Same could not be said about the room. We had the best room in the house, so we were told. Room 12. Fab sea views but the decor was dire. The bathroom was just awful. The bed was like a brick. However, the room was nice and cozy. Breakfast was very nice, although the surroundings were awful. The ceiling is in dire need of decoration. Don't think the place has been refurbished since the new owners took over 10 years ago. We also ate at Campbells, belonging to the persons that used to own the Crown. The proprietors of the Crown should take a look at that Restaurant. Wonderful surroundings and wonderful food. We will return to Portpatrick but will not stay at the Crown. Some of the staff were nice, others just couldn't be bothered (especially the 'lady' behind the Bar) Entertainment was okay. Television was a no, no. Only two channels watchable. The flat screen tele should have been on the wall as it was right in front of a window. They should also have had a coffee table in the room as there was no table upon which to put drinks.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank luvthaiGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2009

Booked this hotel because we had eaten there several times before and the food was always very good.
We booked a front facing bedroom with views over the harbour, the view was certainly lovely and for all that the hotel is on the roadside it was very quiet. The bedroom unfortunately was certainly not up to the standard you would expect from a three star hotel, poor quality fittings and not overly clean, bathroom in desperate need of refurbishment.
Breakfast in the morning, service was a little bit hit and miss but the food was very good and plentiful.
Will return here to eat but will not stay over night again.

  • Liked — outlook and food
  • Disliked — bedroom and bathroom dirty and in need of refurbishment
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank nessy22121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
0.1 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
511 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
273 reviews
5.8 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dunskey Guest House
Dunskey Guest House
#5 of 14 in Portpatrick
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Property: Crown Hotel
Address: 9 North Crescent, Portpatrick DG9 8SX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown is centrally situated in probably the most picturesque village in Dumfries & Galloway. Sitting yards from the water's edge, we offer unspoilt views across the Portpatrick Harbour and the Irish Sea. We have twelve individual en suite rooms, all well presented with tea/coffee facilities and over forty channels on our LCD TVs. AA awarded seafood & extensive bar menu in our Conservatory restaurant. Seafront terrace dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Portpatrick, Scotland
Crown Portpatrick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing