We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Start to Our Trip Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crown Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Certificate of Excellence
Karratha, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Great Start to Our Trip Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed one night at the Crown Hotel and would highly recommend it. The decor was superb, my Husband absolutely adored the atmosphere. Staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms very clean and comfortable. We had a room at the front with a great view of the Harbour. Bathroom and Shower were great. We had Dinner in the Restaurant The meals were excellant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    56
    19
    19
    14
See reviews for
45
120
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

My wife and I travel a lot - and I only put finger to keyboard on Tripadvisor for accommodation that is very good - or very bad - and 'The Crown' certainly falls into the former category - if not the 'Excellent' category - when you factor in the reasonable rates.
I can't understand some of the (minority) critical reviews of 'The Crown' - what do some people expect ?? The Savoy at a reasonable price ??
We have just thoroughly enjoyed out fourth stay at this hotel - which speaks for itself - and again - we were not disappointed. It has a very friendly feel to the place, with an overall excellent olde worldy ambience in the bar area (especially in the winter months with the coal fire burning bright). The staff are friendly, the bar always has a couple of good quality cask ales available, and the food is awesome. I have stayed at many establishments, and have never had a better 'Full Breakfast' served up - it's legendary - as is the seafood of an evening - try the 'Skipper's Choice Seafood Pancake' - absolutely delicious ………….
Our accommodation was very good too - we had to take room 4 at the rear of the hotel - as all the other rooms were occupied (good sign) - but the cleanliness and decor of the room, together with the obviously recently refurbished en suite, made up for the lack of a sea view.
Treat yourself to a stay at 'The Crown', in the charming little former port village of Portpatrick - you will not be disappointed !!

Room Tip: My first choice, which I have used previously, would be 'The Suite' - on the front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HondaSP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

The Crown is an old fashioned hotel with a very olde worlde bar. Lots of nooks and crannies and an open fire with loads of atmosphere. The small plain door and the restaurant sign is easily missed. Go through the door and wow! it opens up into a modern, spacious, beautifully furnished and comfortable restaurant.

We were greeted immediately, shown to our table and our drinks order was taken. We were presented with menus and then a problem arose. None of us could decide what to order .It wasn't an extensive menu but everything on it sounded delicious. We were just spoilt for choice.
Eventually I chose seafood. while the others chose the rack of lamb lamb.

It arrived quickly, and we weren't disappointed. The food was superb, perfectly prepared and presented with portions large enough to satisfy a hungry traveller.

The waitresses were first class, both friendly and efficient. It was very obvious that they had been well trained and were happy in their work.

We didn't stay in the hotel and so cannot comment, but the restaurant gets top marks and the bill of eighty pounds for two courses and two rounds of drinks for three people was extremely reasonable. We'll be back soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seenitdunit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Crown as dinner, bed and breakfast, all for the superb value of £240. The choice of and quality of food both in bar and restuarant is quite unrivalled for the money.

The room was a bit small and tired but actually adequate and compensated by the harbour view. The choice of spirits and beers in the bar is good and the service excellent. On Fridays and Saturdays there is live music, we were amused and not a little intrigued by the amount of amplification that appeared on Friday to support two guys, enough to support a small stadium in what is a small bar, after much to and fro'ing however they managed to get going and finished at midnight.......ahh bliss.

The weekend was only marred by a bunch of drunken irish golfers behaving like yobs, why do the irish have to shout at full volume to one another is there some genetic deficiency in their hearing, grow up lads, if you behave like that at home, your wives must have been glad to see the back of you, we certainly were...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimb_46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at a local ( fabulous Fernhill) hotel and had lunch on both days at the Crown . Weather was poor and so we were inside this time as we usually sit outside. It was no problem when we asked to share a scallop starter and a Ling main course. There was a large group of French tourists when we were there on the Saturday but the service was still great . Extra friendly bar staff. Seafood is fresh and well cooked. Worth a visit!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TinLizzie5269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn, Norfolk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Called in on the off chance whilst waiting for a ferry from Stranraer. Excellent service, delicious food and very good value. All served without question at 4pm. Highly recommended. Will definitely return

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Went to the bar for food and drink on a visit to Portpatrick. Was a bit windy to sit outside, but fantastic location on seafront . traditional oldy worldy inside. Enjoyed a fantastic half lobster salad for £15.excellent choice of seafood and other bar food, good prices.generous portions.staff very attentive , especially the barman.Enjoyed their Crown Royale Cocktails a little too much!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DumfriesJannyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
0.1 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
11.5 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
5.8 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stranraer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Property: Crown Hotel
Address: 9 North Crescent, Portpatrick DG9 8SX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown is centrally situated in probably the most picturesque village in Dumfries & Galloway. Sitting yards from the water's edge, we offer unspoilt views across the Portpatrick Harbour and the Irish Sea. We have twelve individual en suite rooms, all well presented with tea/coffee facilities and over forty channels on our LCD TVs. AA awarded seafood & extensive bar menu in our Conservatory restaurant. Seafront terrace dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Portpatrick, Scotland
Crown Portpatrick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing