We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food ever and great portions”
Review of Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crown Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Certificate of Excellence
Gatehouse of Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best food ever and great portions”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I visited the Crown Hotel for lunch on Sunday 6th January 2012 and so glad we did. The food was excellent, the staff great and will be returning soon. My husband, who is quite a bid lad ordered the cod loin au poivre with potatoes and veg. The portion size was amazing and also excellent. I had thai chicken sizzlers which were the best I have ever tasted. Cant wait to return when I will order the cod loin as it was quite remarkable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jinkyjoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    60
    19
    19
    14
See reviews for
47
125
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gullane
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was a birthday treat at the end of November 2012 which will find the village very quiet especially midweek. Crown is well situated overlooking the small harbour with stunning views over the Irish sea. Room 12 was exellent and well worth the small extra charge. Room has a coal fire which you light and look after and is all part of the charm. The restaurant is a must for seafood lovers and the seafood platter, crab claws, mussels and half a lobster a snip at £20.
Breakfast is huge and if you get fed up with the traditional bacon and eggs etc, try the smoked haddock with eggs how you like, massive portion of perfectly cooked fish. Bar is very homely with friendly and helpful staff, drink prices are reasonable as well. Live music in the bar at weekends. Housekeeping was to a very high standard and the hotel is pet friendly, what more can you wish for.

Room Tip: Opt for room 12 which is a mini suite with a huge double bed and a coal fire, well worth the small e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dibblegullane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Crown may be a hotel, but I've never stayed here, preferring to stay at the Portpatrick Hotel at the top of the cliffs surrounding Portpatrick Bay.

On the other hand, I only eat at The Crown when I stay here, as The Crown rates as one of the best seafood restaurants I've ever eaten at. It has a wonderful, friendly pub atmosphere, roaring fires (I always visit in January), and prices around 30-50% of those charged in quality seafood restaurants in Glasgow or other cities.

One of my favourite restaurants in the world.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed in Portpatrick for 4 nights, spent two evenings in the Crown Hotel, nice friendly bar staff and plenty of good beers to choose from. The second night was spent in the restaurant eating what can only be described as the most amazing sea food ever. Started with the mushrooms and wild herbs in filo pastry, and scallops wrapped in bacon. Then we shared the Seafarers Grand House, a magnificent selection of the freshest fish and shellfish served with a creamy sauce and fresh salad. Complimented with a couple of bottles of very nice dry white wine. A combination that sent the taste buds into overdrive. The chef and waitress' were very polite and efficient, while carrying out their duties perfectly. The whole evening was fantastic and with great value for money. What more could you want?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisandjohn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Please post how you get your chips so tasty, it sounds bad but i orgered scallops wrapped in bacon with a portion of chips ' a posh fish and chips' they were awesome. Even got the first ten minutes of the football before being dragged away by wife and kids. I would have stayed the night nice bar great food what more could you ask for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimOsullivan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the beginning of October. You get what you pay for and for £40 per person per night the food was excelent. The breakfast was huge, bring a good apetite with you. The rooms were old fashioned but clean. The bathroom needed a mirror over the sink. On the whole we were satisfied that we got value for money and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HansNiece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastleupontyne
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

It's after 12pm waiting for the drunken karaoke to finish so I can sleep. If you visit Portpatrick for a weekend and you don't want to join in a full volume karaoke in your bedroom then this hotel is not for you! I really cannot believe how the sound travels from the bar to the bedroom. As a last resort to try to cancel the sound : TV is almost on full volume but it's drowned out by the music !singing!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mon0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
0.1 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
511 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
273 reviews
5.8 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dunskey Guest House
Dunskey Guest House
#5 of 14 in Portpatrick
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Property: Crown Hotel
Address: 9 North Crescent, Portpatrick DG9 8SX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown is centrally situated in probably the most picturesque village in Dumfries & Galloway. Sitting yards from the water's edge, we offer unspoilt views across the Portpatrick Harbour and the Irish Sea. We have twelve individual en suite rooms, all well presented with tea/coffee facilities and over forty channels on our LCD TVs. AA awarded seafood & extensive bar menu in our Conservatory restaurant. Seafront terrace dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Portpatrick, Scotland
Crown Portpatrick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing