We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mount Stewart Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Downshire Hotel(Portpatrick)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fernhill Hotel(Portpatrick)
$197
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crown Hotel(Portpatrick)(Great Value!)
$117
$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Portpatrick Hotel(Portpatrick)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Knockinaam Lodge(Portpatrick)
$387
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knockniemoak B&B(Portpatrick)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Dunskey Guest House(Portpatrick)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveler rating
83
40
16
17
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
40
16
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswallace roomlobster linguineswinging chairscameron suitebig roompiano playerluxurious roomsnice open firetrip to scotlandfor sunday lunchoatcakesamazing hotelstunning sea viewsgreat weekendserved by friendlyonly criticism would bechecking out
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 167 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2006

just stayed at this hotel for a couple of days on way to Ireland. stayed in the front two bedrooms just recently re-furbished, very nicely done.wonderful views. Food excellent. Owners very welcoming and are planning to upgrade hotel further during the winter. A really good atmposphere. candlelit tables every night, very romantic, good value DBB £49.00 pp.Only set back is up a slight hill for those who not that mobile but a great view advantage.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank yindee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2006

The Mount Stewart could bean excellent hotel - with a bit of investment and customer focus. However I would avoid going back there unless the other hotels in the area are full.

Check-in time is before 6pm, not very good if you are touring and lible to arrive late. There doesn't seem to be any reason for this as the bar is open until after 11 and there are always plenty of staff about. You also have to settle your bill the night before departure.

Rooms - we stayed in Room 6 which was a large family room with a double and two single beds. It was functional but totally uninspiring - the total furniture must have cost about £300, the shower unit was falling to pieces - you had to kick the door to get out and there was also quite a lot of noise.

We didn't eat in the restaurant for evening meals but had breakfast - it was quite funny as the old "wifey" who served clearly thought guests were an annoyance and mixed our orders up. Breakfast was only served 9-10.

On the plus side the views are fantastic and there are tables outside for eating and a drink. The dinner menu looked good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank HamburgerMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2006

This is a very strange place to review.

The views are stunning and could not be bettered.

The food is excellent. The staff were very young and very friendly but did not seem to know anything about the set menu that residents could opt for at meal times despite there being a sign in reception about it! We could still be waiting at reception to register had we not finally gone into the bar area where 3 staff were gathered and asked to sign in.

Breakfast is a hoot! Served by a delightful older lady whose choice extends to "You will have the full breakfast then!". There were no menus and it felt like it would be a great inconvenience to ask for scrambled eggs or some other treat! It is quite strange also to have breakfast strictly between 9 and 10 am.

The rooms were pretty basic and the bed was not the most comfy I have slept in. At £68 for B & B for two I would have expected slightly better. If you do not let the cleaning lady in by 10am your rooms do not get done as she finishes then. I have never had to check out a room as early as 10am anywhere I have stayed before.

J Fox
Falkirk

15 August 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
bispham blackpool
110
Reviewed December 5, 2005

A wonderful family run hotel offering 1st class food and views to die for. The owners are very much 'hands on' and made us feel special the minute we walked through the door. We had room 4 ( 4 poster room ) which had great views of the village and across the Irish sea. We wanted to book for New Year but they are fully booked and we can see why. We have booked for next year. We really feel we have found a little gem here and can't wait to return.

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews