We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only eaten but nice experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mount Stewart Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Portpatrick B&B and Inns
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Only eaten but nice experience”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

My wife and I have eaten here on several occasions as we are only a 40 mile drive away,we have always been made welcome as we enter the bar area where a fine choice of meals are served from the menu and the specials board, the meals are served hot, fresh and with a smile, there is also a log fire which ads to the overall warm feel of the adequate dining area.If you are lucky enough to get the window table you can view Ireland over the sea,sensibly there is the provision of binoculars for those who want a better view.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gemma55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    30
    12
    16
    9
See reviews for
24
55
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

On our last two trips to Port Patrick we have had an evening meal here and on both occasions the food and service has been excellent. The location of the hotel is high up and over looks the sea, so book the window table if eating just before dusk! Sally behind the bar is very good at her job, but one word of warning she will talk you in to having a naughty pudding even if you don't want one! The intrerior design is very interesting and looks splendid when all lit up with candles and a roaring fire in the grate. Great place to eat and drink.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank punkrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2011

I would like to thank Diane and her staff for the service they provided for us during our weekend break at the hotel, when i called to book for two rooms at the hotel for the Sept Weekend Diane had said that one of the rooms was a standard but would upgrade to a larger suite the following day and true to her word we were both upgraded at no extra cost, and the rooms were excellent both with sea views. the food was excellent and the service came with a smile. the views from the hotel overlooking the sea and portpatrick were stunning and to watching the sunset. the locals who also frequent the hotel were very pleasant. great weekend

Thank you once again.

Don Kesson

Room Tip: if available choose a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Very dissapointed with this Hotel, does not live up to the pictures and reviews. Bed very uncomfortable, we expected to eat in the Dining room, this was closed and we had to eat in the bar. Service was very slow, had to go to the bar and ask for our sweet. we booked for three nights only stay one.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diddlydiScotland, Owner at Mount Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Hello Margaret, I am Diane the owner of the Mount Stewart and it was I that served your breakfast on your first morning. I am sorry that the mattress was not to your liking, we do have hard and soft mattresses to try and suit all our customers and I did offer to show you other rooms but you said you were moving on because of the weather. We are in our low season now and find that our open fire and cosy bar best suits the weather but if you had prefered to be in the dining room we would have gladly opened it for you. I hope this does not affect how you feel about Portpatrick and that you return again if not to the Mount Stewart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Such a privelege to stay in such a romantic fishing port overlooking the atlantic. Thankyou

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgbutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Just wanted to say thanks for a great stay when we were down in April and got that great spring weather again .... does Portpatrick have its own little microclimate..?

We all had a great time, were made very comfortable and to feel very much at home. The food was grand and a few good beers with your friendly locals were enjoyed too.

What a lovely village - it was nice just to get the cars parked and let the feet it for the whole weekend.

The weather made the golf great at Dunskey and we even managed to get 'round the Glen' to get some air into the lungs and walk off your hearty breakfasts (back to the Gym now..!!)

Thanks to all the staff particularly that nice big barman. Hope to see you again later in the summer if we can all organise our diaries..!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michaelpGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poulton le fylde
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed at the Mount Stewart over Easter weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a lovely room with a seaview and the food was exceptional. Staff very friendly and happy to spend time with you. I would definately recommend this and will be returning very soon.

Thanks to all the staff

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackpool87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portpatrick hotels
0.3 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.7 mi away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Harbour House Hotel
The Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Stewart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Stewart Hotel

Property: Mount Stewart Hotel
Address: South Crescent, Portpatrick DG9 8LE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Portpatrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six bedroomed boutique hotel with bar and restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mount Stewart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Stewart Hotel Portpatrick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing