We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very peaceful”

Dunskey Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunskey Guest House
Ranked #9 of 14 Portpatrick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed there early last year, it was fantastic! Very welcoming and very peaceful. Wonderful breakfast and great location. Just booked again for another visit with the kids. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thecardoness2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 86 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2011

I stayed here for two nights with my cousin. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable with excellent long distance views. There were tea, coffee and chocolate making facilities in the room. Breakfast was excellent and service was efficient and friendly. We had a very pleasant stay and happily recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalehelms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

stayed here for one night. Portpartick is very picturesque and the Dunskey guest house is in a good location near to the centre of the village, although up quite a steep hill. The bedroom and bathroom were very clean, the room was spacious enough, tea and coffee were provided and the breakfast was good. The host was very pleasant and keen to please. I would recommend staying here

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaymakerstirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We found this guest house very disappointing - I had specifically asked if they offered a vegetarian cooked breakfast and was told they did but it only meant a meat one without the meat so the choice was very limited ( no veggie sausage or anything). Also the room had a bathroom down 4 steps with no handrail and my husband is disabled so it was a problem, particularly during the night. No tea or milk in the room when we arrived and no soap or shampoo or biscuits. Small portable type TV with limited channels. We did not expect luxury as price was reasonable but felt it was "bare minimum".
Bed was comfortable though.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxlady37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We had a family room in the Dunskey guest house for 3 nights at the end of July. The room was fresh and clean and had tea/coffee making facilities and an ensuite bathroom with toiletries.
We were made to feel very welcome and the breakfast was delicious. The children were also made to feel welcome and nothing seemed to be too much trouble.
We would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l0vefamilyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Stayed three nights whilst golfing in SW Scotland. Only 50 yards from Portpatrck Golf Club, excellent course the 13th signature hole is worth the green fee alone! Accomodation was clean and comfortable. Good hearty breakfast served by Gareth comp secretary at the golf club and owner of the Dunskey Hotel was perfect for a day's golf. Nearby Stranraer GC is also worth a viist but tough when windy, 5th is a briliant hole if you can keep your ball out of the sea!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyAnnPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Just got back from 2 nights at the Dunskey hotel in Portpatrick, the room was large as was the bed both beeing very clean and comfortable, breakfast was superb nothing was too much trouble for Gareth and his wife, they were not in your face but were there if needed, Portpatrick itself was charming , we ate in the Crown hotel both nights where the meals are lovely and plenty of it , we fell in love with the place and will definately return and would stay at the Dunskey again and will be recomending it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank makemSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portpatrick hotels
0.1 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
271 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Knockniemoak B&B
Knockniemoak B&B
#2 of 14 in Portpatrick
60 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mount Stewart Hotel
Mount Stewart Hotel
#5 of 14 in Portpatrick
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blinkbonnie Guest House
Blinkbonnie Guest House
#8 of 14 in Portpatrick
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunskey Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunskey Guest House

Address: Heugh Road, Portpatrick DG9 8TD, Scotland (Formerly Dunskey Golf Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Portpatrick
Price Range: $79 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunskey Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dunskey Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunskey Guest House Portpatrick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing