We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL PLACE, EXCELLENT WEE BREAK.”
Review of Fernhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fernhill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a two night break at the start of july, and what a lovely stay we had, friendly staff, beautiful location and fabulous food, from walking into reception we got a lovely friendly welcome, we had a nice large room downstairs (no7), I noticed straight away that the hotel is spotlessly clean, our room was large and had lovely views, we ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was delicious, fresh and tasty, all staff were very professional and not over friendly, nothing was too much trouble, even a wee late night glass of wine on a hot sunny evening late after dinner.. no trouble at all, portpatrick is a very small wee village but great for a relaxing quiet few days, we will DEFINITELY be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsgmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 344 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

I would echo most of the points in other reviews. The glass of sherry on arrival was a nice touch but the friendliness and cheerfulness of the whole staff team made us feel valued anyway.
The restaurant team were quite young but again very friendly, courteous and efficient. The dinner menu was somewhat limited but everything we had was delicious. (Like another reviewer, we did experience tables being cleared and moved whilst we were still eating but this wasn't done in a noisy manner. Another slightly unusual arrangement is that we appeared to have been allocated a table which we kept throughout the 2 days. Luckily it was a good one although to be fair I don't think there were any bad ones.)
The breakfast menu was excellent and hot dishes were freshly cooked rather than kept warm as a buffet. There was a little bit of noise from the building work next door but nothing excessive.
At first glance our bedroom looked perfect. A 6' bed and armchairs by the picture windows looking out over the harbour. On closer examination some of the décor was a little marked and tired and the shower curtain was less than ideal, but none of these things detracted from the comfort of the room which was a very pleasant place to while away the hours looking out over Portpatrick harbour and the sea (and Ireland on the first day).
All in all, a very pleasant hotel with friendly and courteous staff and excellent food.

Room Tip: Room 48 has the option of being made up as twin beds or a 6' double bed. Lower floor rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Two night short break in Portpatrick and decided on the Fernhill taking into account trip advisor reviews. Hotel is in a great position with lovely views of the town and harbour with easy access to the village and local walks. Reception helpful on arrival and we were given a room downstairs near to reception. The room itself was a good size, clean, fairly good beds and a patio type area outside where we were able to sit with nice views. The en suite was also a good size but was a bit tired looking with the most annoying thing being that the shower head was fixed to the wall in a position suitable for someone at 5 ft 2in and totally unsuitable for someone like me at over 6 ft.
The position of the room became a concern only when I heard the boiler firing up time and again as people were most probably showering prior to dinner. I then heard the washing machine as it went onto spin dry mode. I raised my concerns with reception but as the hotel was fully booked I could not change rooms. Decided that due to the time of year the boiler was hardly likely to be in use during the night and after agreeing a reduction in price, kept the room. I did explain that this room should not be charged at the full rate in any case and this was confirmed when I returned to the room after dinner and could hear the washing machine(s) again which went on until 11pm. Thankfully an early night was not on the agenda. The boiler did fire up again at 5am. My wife was not overly disturbed by the boiler it's probably because I am a lighter sleeper. Annoying!
Food was excellent both dinner and breakfast, service was also very good although on the second night a couple of the staff appeared a bit huffed that we had come to the bar for a nightcap at 10pm, they were probably hoping for an early finish to their shift and I don't think they knew that my wife could see their display of attitude. We took the drinks to our room as we felt rather unwelcome. This was the only blip in service which was generally excellent and I was impressed with the service in the dining room in particular. I give the hotel overall an average rating due to the room position next to boilers and laundry and originally being charged full rate, the tired en suite and lastly the display of frustration by staff when arriving at the bar at 10pm. Probably wouldn't use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Don't pick the downstairs room nearest to reception as it is next to the laundry and boiler
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank CommandahP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Still great value especially for golfers! We took the golf package and played at Dunskey and Stranraer. The hotel staff are excellent and always make you feel welcome. This was our sixth year - I think that says it all!

Room Tip: Ground floor garden rooms have balconies, so nice to sit out and admire the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We booked a two day golf package at the Fernhill Hotel, the staff were very efficient at the reception when we arrived and they booked our times at the chosen courses we had picked, we were shown to our room which was spacious and well appointed, with a small terrace over looking the bay, the bathroom was clean and bright but the shower was one of my pet hates, a shower in the bath with a curtain, YUK. The evening meal was average, but the staff need a little training on service, we ordered a bottle of wine which was was a screw top, the waiter just left the bottle on the table unopened and we were not offered a tasting, also they were clearing tables and setting for breakfast before we had finished our meal. The breakfast was freshly cooked and good. We enjoyed our stay and may return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank w33pea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

From checking in at reception we were welcomed like old friends and this lasted all though our stay. as others say the food is extremely good and well presented. our room was large and had ample facilities. the view over the bay is wonderful and makes just sitting looking down a novel experience. seagulls flew passed the window as if at their normal height.
we shall return.

Room Tip: we were in room 35 which had good views over harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DumbartonMaurice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I've eaten at Fernhill once or twice most years over the past 30. It's always been above average and one of the best places in the area.

Earlier this week we booked a table in the conservatory (really the only place to eat at Fernhill as you can sit and enjoy a panoramic backdrop of views out over the village and across to Ireland). The entire evening/experience was excellent. A warm welcome and top-level service by attentive, efficient, friendly and relaxed restaurant staff. No rush. No obsequiousness. Nothing too much trouble. The sort of service you dream about but rarely get.

When the complementary (meat/fish) canapés arrived we pointed out there was a vegetarian in our group and almost immediately a beautiful vegetarian option was provided.

The meal itself was excellent. The service couldn't be bettered.

Overall an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Charles J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
0.2 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
266 reviews
5.7 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
25.2 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
109 reviews
17.4 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhill Hotel

Address: Portpatrick DG9 8TD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Price Range: $123 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fernhill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Fernhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernhill Hotel Portpatrick, Scotland
Fernhill Portpatrick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing