We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in lovely surroundings”
Review of Fernhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fernhill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2007

Spent a most enjoyable three days on dinner, bed and breakfast. We were looking to explore this neglected corner of Scotland and to have a relaxing break. The Fernhill is ideal for these aims and for golfers, anglers, twitchers, walkers etc.
Most impressed by the happy atmosphere and the friendly staff. Not cheap, but well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 347 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2007

We stayed at The Fernhill this week and it was absolutely lovely. The staff are very welcoming and efficient and make time to chat and exchange pleasantries. We took our dog with us and were given a balcony room (as requested) with stunning views over the harbour and the Irish coast.

The food was very good and the service excellent.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit, but the clients do seem to be in the more mature age group but all were very friendly and the atmosphere is very relaxing and calm.

We will certainly return!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radley-gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2007

The hotel has great views of the village, the harbour and out across the Irish sea to Ireland. The staff were all helpful and friendly. The bedroom was a bit OTT on the fabrics and furniture, a little more thought would have been nice as to what travellers want (luggage rack for example) rather than to cram it full of unnecessary furniture. The bathroom was fantastic, almost as large as the bedroom and well equipped. The food was very good if a little pretentious in the way it was described. Our only other comment was the wording inside the in room info brochure which was dicatotorial and patronising. In reality, the hotel had a nice, relaxed atmosphere which was a relief having read the info brochure. I would recommend the hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NottsGirlsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2007

My husband and I spent 2 nights there last year. We got lost finding the way so spent all day driving to get there and it was pouring of rain and cold. The hotel was very welcoming and we had a lovely room with the most spectacular view of the harbour. The food was great and the staff very very friendly. We did some sight seeing in the area visiting the lighthouse and getting a certificate for climbing up all the stairs but it was great fun and very interesting. We have lunch at a seafood restaurant in the town and my seafood platter was delicious. They had a sea rescue event running that week end so it was very busy but great. I loved it and would go back if ever I go down that way again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2007

Well where could I start my reveiw of the Fernhill Hotel in Portpatrick??

Lets start at the begining shall we!! ha ha

My friend and I stayed at the hotel on the 16th and 17th of march this year. The hotel itself was in such a beautiful surroundings that it would have been hard to find fault with the setting. The veiws over the harbour to which our room overlooked were absolutely spectacular..

The staff were excellent making our stay so very memorable. Ailsa and Janice (the receptionists) were so polite and efficient that we felt at ease from the moment we walked into the hotel.Enjoying our complimentary glass of sherry on our arrival added that extra "touch of class".

The location of the Hotel was very good too. Twaz just a short distance down the hill to the delightful bar of the Crown Hotel- again very friendly staff and a very warm welcome was given to one and all with live music from a traditional irish band.

The meals in the hotel were beautiful. They tended to every taste- and may I say.............. tasted gorgeous too! In the Dining hall we were looked after by Bob one of the Head waiters (not sure what his full title was) he was both professional/efficient/cheerful and a delight to listen to with his "merry banter" making meal times more enjoyable.

Overall a very enjoyable stay!!! I dont think that we shall forget this St Patricks weekend this year.

We shall certainly be going back again one day.

Thank you for such an enjoyable stay!!

Helen and Paul xx

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helencam390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2007

Stayed 2 nights (Friday & Saturday). Hotel was excellent, food superb. Service in the dining room was excellent on the Friday night, but not so good on the Saturday when they were busy.
I would highly recommend this hotel, with the proviso that it is up a steep hill, so not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties. However, the plus side is that the view over the harbour is excellent. We had a front facing room in the main hotel, which was very spacious and had a veranda big enough to sit out on.
The worst fault I could find was that the toilet roll holder was akward to get at !! Hotel is rated as a 3 star, but I would rate it as good as many higher rated hotels I have stayed at.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2006

A very nice hotel with fantastic staff and great food and views.

However, I think the room was overpriced by about £20 - £25 especially given the time of year and the fact that the hotel, on the evening I was there, was virtually empty.

Would love to say again but would not pay the same room rate.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Platz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
1.9 mi away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
553 reviews
5.7 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
271 reviews
11.4 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
17.4 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhill Hotel

Address: Portpatrick DG9 8TD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Price Range: $109 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fernhill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fernhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernhill Hotel Portpatrick, Scotland
Fernhill Portpatrick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing