We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Waterfront Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Downshire Hotel(Portpatrick)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Knockinaam Lodge(Portpatrick)
$392
$304
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crown Hotel(Portpatrick)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fernhill Hotel(Portpatrick)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Glenapp Castle(Ballantrae)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveler rating
198
79
20
15
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
198
79
20
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafood chowderwhitebaitcooked to perfectionnothing is too much troublelovely foodevening mealbreakfast was excellentstaff were excellentgreat weekendwarm welcomegeraldinemenuensuitemanageressweatherdinersrear
Filter
Updating list...
314 - 319 of 322 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2006

Spent one night at the Waterfront and although the room was very tiny and the bathroom has to be experienced to be believed, we had a lovely time. It was very expensive and I've had much better breakfasts and beds for half the price! The breakfast was not up to much at all and if it hadn't been for the view I would probably have complained! The waitress (bless!) should perhaps not have come out of retirement - the food was mediocre and the description "a stack of pancakes" actually means "2". We were very, very grateful to Anne for supplying us with a bottle of wine to take to the room after the bar had closed - in fact Anne was FAB! All in all Portpatrick is deffinately an experience worth having - sipping a pint watching the sun set on the harbour was lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MiaParkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2006

Our welcome felt all-too-much like Faulty Towers! A grim central European barked at us: 'Before I give you the key, I will tell you the rules.'! He later turned out to be helpful and polite, but his manner was unfortunate and spoiled our first impression.

The rooms are small, though well-furnished. The bathrooms are literally built into fitted wardrobes. Anyone with a BMI of more than 24 would find difficulty in getting inside and closing the doors! They were well-fitted-out, though, and couldn't have been cleaner.

The low point was the restaurant. Both at breakfast and dinner there was canned music / radio played much too loudly. (I particularly resented Radio 2 at breakfast!). Breakfast was served in a bizarre order I've met before in Scotland, so perhaps it's a local custom: first the toast is brought to the table; then the coffee; finally the hot food, so that by the time you've eaten your eggs and bacon, toast and coffee are stone cold!

The location is lovely, overlooking the harbour. But this hotel has a lot of work to do to justify its price and communicate a sense of welcoming hospitality.


  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank musica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2006

A very pleasant place to stay. Bedroom was small but very comfortable and the view was good. I thought the price was rather high for both accomodation and food, but we did enjoy our short stay. The staff were friendly, nothing was too much trouble

We had a bad experience at the Fernhill across the harbour, so were very pleased with the Waterfront

We would recommend it

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DM3R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2006

We have just returned from a second long weekend at the Waterfront Hotel and, as before, really enjoyed our stay. Lovely setting (overlooking Portpatrick Harbour), friendly service and great food (particularly seafood). Our room was compact but nicely furnished and well maintained. We wouldn't hesitate to stay at the same hotel again if (when) we return to Portpatrick in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank a_stevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2005

We never actually made it to the The Waterfront! We booked in January 2005 for an Easter break; they did not have the tariff available so far ahead and had to call us back with a rate later that day. We accepted the quote but did not receive confirmation from them, so we contacted them again. The rate quoted this time around was considerably higher than when we made the booking! We asked to cancel due to the difference now being quoted, at first they said they would do so and return our deposit. Later they called back and said they would not return our money!

Gill Charlton of the Daily Telegraph tried to intervene on our behalf and printed the facts in the paper on Saturday 7th May 2005.

To this day we have still not heard anything from the hotel. American Express were magnificent and did refund our deposit and we have given the money to charity, perhaps that will shame the hotel in to changing its ways!

11  Thank englandabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews