We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and good”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portpatrick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Portpatrick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

this is a perfect hotel in a lovely location, all the staff are friendly and helpfull,
rooms are spotless and comfortable, the food served in the restaurant was
superb, local produce very well presented and tasty,would'nt hesitate to
recommend to all.

Room Tip: the annex as a lovely private seating area, great if you are travelling with a pet.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alec d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
There are newer reviews for The Waterfront Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 317 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

This place didn't seem as busy as the rest so thought that reflected on the quality. We this was not the case. Bit pricier than other restaurants in the town but food far better. Service excellent, staff friendly. Food excellent, I recommend the mussels.
I will return

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank H0lidaymakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed here when in port Patrick to celebrate a friends wedding. Great service from the start, even let us in for breakfast at 11am when it says finished at 10am! The sea view room ( no 1) was great, had a wee couch in it too. The bathroom was tiny but adequate. All in all a great stay in a gorgeous place. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa1876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Went with family, service top notch and were very friendly with kids. Food was well presented and delicious. Had the scampi and highly recommend. Also a great place to sit outside watch the world go by and have a good pint of Guinness.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andymcm75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We recently stayed here for 2 nights and were utterly delighted by the welcome, the food and the views. From the huge comfy bed to the power shower we could not have been more pleased with the room. The coastal walks are as nice as anywhere we have been in Britain with lovely coves and secluded beaches. Having worked up an appetite we had a delicious meal in the hotel restaurant. I highly recommend the seafood...while my husband recommends the steak! The wine list was extensive with something to suit all tastes and budgets.
Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onfon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I'd stayed at the Waterfront Hotel in 2012 for one night and, as I got the last room, assumed I had the smallest one. However, I now discover that all the rooms are as tight as the one I had previously. In 2013, at the rear of the hotel, my room was tiny and very claustrophobic, but scrupulously clean. The best place to dress/undress was on the bed. Even fully opened, the miniscule window didnt create enough air movement to compensate for the effect of the very hot heated towel rail (couldnt be turned off - in July!) in the ensuite - the room was stifling and I dozed through the night on top of the bed in a pool of sweat. Luckily I was on my own - it would be even worse as a couple. On a business trip, I was in rather less than good form the next morning. What a pity - the setting is perfect, the staff positive and helpful, the food adequate and the rest of the hotel (if you discount the decor which cant quite decide what theme it wants to follow) perfectly ok. Poor value for money when you consider the choice and cost of hotels in Portpatrick. I certainly wont be back to the Waterfront Hotel. Next time I'll consult Tripadvisor BEFORE I travel!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Crown Hotel next door are much superior and considerably cheaper.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tferret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Just spent 3 highly enjoyable nights at this lovely hotel. Great view overlooking the harbour of this wonderful village. Staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The rooms aren't large as previous reviews have pointed out, but are very cleverly designed so that you have everything you need and they are spotlessly clean (as is the rest of the hotel). The food is excellent, always freshly prepared and to your liking. Locals in the bar were also very friendly. Highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
0.2 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
530 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
336 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
109 reviews
5.8 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
371 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Harbour House Hotel
The Harbour House Hotel
#9 of 14 in Portpatrick
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Hotel

Address: 7 North Crescent, Portpatrick DG9 8SX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Portpatrick
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront Hotel is situated directly on the harbour in the scenic village of Portpatrick and has 14 high quality en-suite bedrooms, many with sea view which provides the perfect venue to experience first class food and hospitality in this stunning corner of Dumfries and Galloway, south west Scotland. The hotel can comfortably provide accommodation for up to 30 persons and has a selection of rooms including two family rooms as well as two annex facilities which can be booked to provide private accommodation including lounge and garden areas, these annex amenities also have private access to the main street and are excellent for small groups or families. Our menus, which are changed regularly, are complemented by a carefully chosen selection of house and specialty wines. Our elegant restaurant serves an exciting and innovative selection of dishes to suit all tastes - vegetarian dishes are also catered for. Bar meals are also available and our popular Terrace area is the perfect way to ‘people watch’ and take in the stunning views of the harbour and across the Irish Sea whilst enjoying a drink or some delicious seafood. We also offer very attractive seasonal breaks including midweek packages and weekend breaks and for that romantic occasion or getaway, we provide all the little extras that will make your time with us memorable. Just let us know when you make your reservation and we will take care of the rest. The area has many activities to offer - fishing, walking, golf, tennis, riding to name but a few - you may well extend your time in Portpatrick to fit them all in or you may just wish to check in, unwind and enjoy everything that the hotel has to offer. The hotel can also provide hospitality facilities for small corporate functions and parties and is the perfect size host small scale conferences, meetings, seminars, corporate hospitality and training events as well as board meetings. The hotel can be booked exclusively and local area provides many activities to create team-building events and leadership programmes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Portpatrick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing