We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay at the Waterfront” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waterfront Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portpatrick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Portpatrick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another great stay at the Waterfront”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Having just arrived home from my third stay at the Waterfront Hotel in three years, I am happy to say that everything is still first class as I expected. David and Geraldine are perfect hosts. Anne was brilliant with everybody as usual (There were 12 of us in our party who stayed for 3 nights to take in some golf). I'm not sure which hotel "Morecambe9" was eating in but you could never call the food at the Waterfront disappointing - it is excellent. We have already booked agai for next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    69
    19
    14
    9
See reviews for
48
139
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had a lovely room with two comfortable window seats, directly overlooking the harbour - and the narrowest bathroom imaginable! However, it had everything we needed, just no elbow room. Delicious breakfast and friendly service. Ideal situation for touring the Mull of Galloway and on to Stranraer.

Room Tip: Harbour front would be first choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mami L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We spent three nights at The Waterfront at Easter and the staff (especially Anne) couldn't do enough to make sure our stay was comfortable. We ate at the hotel twice and the food was great both times. Breakfast was good, especially Anne's scrambled eggs which I think are the best I've ever tasked. The room was comfortable with a beautiful view of the harbour. Yes, the shower room was tiny, but hey, we didn't visit Portpatrick to spend time in the bathroom. It was functional fit for purpose. I have family in Portpatrick and visit every year, I've stayed in just about every B&B & hotel in the village and can honestly say that we will be booking the Waterfront for our stay next year.

Room Tip: Try & get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 402JulieH402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe9
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Having researched where to eat, we chose The Waterfront and rang to check opening times and to see if we needed to book. (We were told this was not necessary)

However on arriving we were quizzed as to whether we had booked and it seemed to be an issue that we hadn’t, despite there being a total of only five other people eating during our whole time there.

It took an age to have our order for drinks and food taken, as the staff were busy chatting and joking with someone outside.

The food was certainly below expectations, the cajun chicken sizzler was a strange offering of chicken in a pink milky tasteless liquid. The chicken was well cooked but there was certainly no sign of any cajun spice.

The braised lamb was very dry and the lack of jus (or sauce of any description), made it quite hard going.

Save your time and money, go next door to The Crown Hotel, they serve lovely food all day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morecambe9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

First impression based on the rather stark decor were disappointment as it lacked atmosphere . However, the room was comfortable although the shower room was very cramped. Better quality bedding would add a touch of luxury. Lovely view over the harbour from the top bedroom. The food was the saving grace of the hotel. It was well prepared and as there were also locals eating there this suggests it has a good local reputation. Great place to use to explore surrounding area.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judihood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We ate at The Waterfront on Friday and even though we were the only people dining in the restaurant, the place was very welcoming. The meal was one of the best we have ever eaten, everything was cooked to perfection. We had the chowder and the scallops to start with, then both had a whole grilled lobster, accompanied with a lovely fresh salad and new potatoes. The presentation of the food was beautiful and the service was great, quick, efficient and friendly. It was a long journey but worth it. Would recommend having a meal here to anyone who is visiting the area (Portpatrick is also a great place to visit, beautiful little town!).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

A very cosy hotel in a beautiful village. We were made very welcome. Breakfast was great. Beer election was poor, but I was told that was a temporary problem with the beer taps. We had a room at the top facing over the seafront with a fantastic view. I'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: The view from the front is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
0.2 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
1.8 mi away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
5.8 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stranraer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Hotel

Property: The Waterfront Hotel
Address: 7 North Crescent, Portpatrick DG9 8SX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Portpatrick
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront Hotel is situated directly on the harbour in the scenic village of Portpatrick and has 14 high quality en-suite bedrooms, many with sea view which provides the perfect venue to experience first class food and hospitality in this stunning corner of Dumfries and Galloway, south west Scotland. The hotel can comfortably provide accommodation for up to 30 persons and has a selection of rooms including two family rooms as well as two annex facilities which can be booked to provide private accommodation including lounge and garden areas, these annex amenities also have private access to the main street and are excellent for small groups or families. Our menus, which are changed regularly, are complemented by a carefully chosen selection of house and specialty wines. Our elegant restaurant serves an exciting and innovative selection of dishes to suit all tastes - vegetarian dishes are also catered for. Bar meals are also available and our popular Terrace area is the perfect way to ‘people watch’ and take in the stunning views of the harbour and across the Irish Sea whilst enjoying a drink or some delicious seafood. We also offer very attractive seasonal breaks including midweek packages and weekend breaks and for that romantic occasion or getaway, we provide all the little extras that will make your time with us memorable. Just let us know when you make your reservation and we will take care of the rest. The area has many activities to offer - fishing, walking, golf, tennis, riding to name but a few - you may well extend your time in Portpatrick to fit them all in or you may just wish to check in, unwind and enjoy everything that the hotel has to offer. The hotel can also provide hospitality facilities for small corporate functions and parties and is the perfect size host small scale conferences, meetings, seminars, corporate hospitality and training events as well as board meetings. The hotel can be booked exclusively and local area provides many activities to create team-building events and leadership programmes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Portpatrick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing