We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, Brilliant Decorations.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portpatrick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Portpatrick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Visited as a group, recommended by some of the other members in our party. Restaurant was decorated for Halloween, and brilliantly done so I might say, really nice atmosphere because of this. Staff were friendly but non intrusive so we had a relaxed night with just the right amount of time between courses. Meal was absolutely delicious and well presented, however I think there could have been a few more vegetarian options. Also love the cocktails! - Really nice touch. Would say the value for money was just about spot on.
Had a really nice night, looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank DarkCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
There are newer reviews for The Waterfront Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 317 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

Visited for a family meal. Restaurant looked very atmospheric decorated ready for Halloween. Friendly and efficient staff. Meal was super. Make sure you leave room for dessert. Relaxed, unhurried atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank hattiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Met up here for an evening meal with some family members. Good menu choice, including a fair vegetarian selection, and tasty, well-presented food in atmospheric surroundings - the hotel had obviously gone to some trouble with the Halloween theme. Service was more polite and efficient than warm and welcoming (just smile a bit more, ladies!), and there wasn't an alcohol-free beer available for the driver in our party. But those minor points aside, it was all very professional and enjoyable and we'd gladly return to the Waterfront.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rickenbacker_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Went with my husband for a drive to portpatrick and went to the waterfront for lunch. Food was excellent great selection of fish/seafood for my hubby! Lovely vegetarian Cajun veg dish, good service and a great fire what else would you want on a cold Sunday in October! That's right a nice chilled glass of savignon.
Will be back soon

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Tempted back by a wonderful meal a year ago we thought we'd go for a 3 day package. A great decision!
Staff so friendly and helpful, and the food really is outstanding.... sea food wonderful but so was everything. We had a seaview room, although a tad small it was beautifully furnished, warm and comfortable. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: I guess the sea side could be noisy in good weather.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizg126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just returned from a two night golf break with a group of friends. Acc ommodation and food was excellent, even though the rooms are fairly small. Would reccomend the cottage which sleeps 4 or 5 in first class accommodation. The staff were very helpful and friendly and I have no hesitation inreccommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iainmacleod3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here before starting the SUW Walk and it hurried us on our way! On arrival we were taken into a small house near the hotel and given a twin room that was so small one of us had to lay on the bed whilst the other walked round the room!.
The en suite was a miracle of space management being in a cupboard -but in fairness it did work well.With all our gear it was a nightmare.
Next morning the Chef had not turned up so one person was trying to manage on her own with a dining room of guests which she did to the best of her ability but it did mean we were late getting off.
Not a place I would rush back to and certainly not recommend to fellow walkers

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevind281050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontPP, Owner at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Regarding the review from Kevi281510.

The Waterfront has for many years’ assisted national walking organisations and indeed many walkers from all over the world to ensure they get what is a challenging walk off to a good start. Whilst we are aware of the situation regarding the morning in question and the problem with breakfasts, it is disappointing that despite all our efforts and apologies and after being re assured that everything was satisfactory that Kevin281510 felt the need to provide us with a poor review. With regards to the room size it is even more disappointing is that he was unable to voice his dissatisfaction during his visit thus allowing us an opportunity to provide a level of service that we aim to provide to all our customers should they only give us the opportunity - by simply speaking to us at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
0.2 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
530 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
336 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
109 reviews
5.8 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
371 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Harbour House Hotel
The Harbour House Hotel
#9 of 14 in Portpatrick
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Hotel

Address: 7 North Crescent, Portpatrick DG9 8SX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Portpatrick
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront Hotel is situated directly on the harbour in the scenic village of Portpatrick and has 14 high quality en-suite bedrooms, many with sea view which provides the perfect venue to experience first class food and hospitality in this stunning corner of Dumfries and Galloway, south west Scotland. The hotel can comfortably provide accommodation for up to 30 persons and has a selection of rooms including two family rooms as well as two annex facilities which can be booked to provide private accommodation including lounge and garden areas, these annex amenities also have private access to the main street and are excellent for small groups or families. Our menus, which are changed regularly, are complemented by a carefully chosen selection of house and specialty wines. Our elegant restaurant serves an exciting and innovative selection of dishes to suit all tastes - vegetarian dishes are also catered for. Bar meals are also available and our popular Terrace area is the perfect way to ‘people watch’ and take in the stunning views of the harbour and across the Irish Sea whilst enjoying a drink or some delicious seafood. We also offer very attractive seasonal breaks including midweek packages and weekend breaks and for that romantic occasion or getaway, we provide all the little extras that will make your time with us memorable. Just let us know when you make your reservation and we will take care of the rest. The area has many activities to offer - fishing, walking, golf, tennis, riding to name but a few - you may well extend your time in Portpatrick to fit them all in or you may just wish to check in, unwind and enjoy everything that the hotel has to offer. The hotel can also provide hospitality facilities for small corporate functions and parties and is the perfect size host small scale conferences, meetings, seminars, corporate hospitality and training events as well as board meetings. The hotel can be booked exclusively and local area provides many activities to create team-building events and leadership programmes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Portpatrick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing