We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“New year 2016”

Review of Saffron

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen Bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Kitchen
Bedroom 1
Ensuite to bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Ensuite to bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Ensuite to Bedroom 4
Sitting Room
Sunroom
Kitchen
Sitting Room
Hall
Front drive, parking and entrance gate
Patio, Outside seating & BBQ
Shared bathroom
Garden
Utility room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
fiona302
Cumnock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New year 2016”
Reviewed January 18, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Spent a full week at this wonderful house ,very spacious and well equipped kitchen with enough room for 7 adults and 1child to dine together, the lounge is huge with very comfy sofas and sky a package ,the beds are amazingly comfortable with lovely white bedding,the power showers are also an added bonus the whole property was spotlessly clean ,the garden was large enough for us to enjoy some family games of rounders etc and it was totally enclosed which was great for our two dogs We also found Kim whom we booked with to be more than helpful So all in all a brilliant new year we have already booked this house for Christmas and new year for this year and can't wait to get back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneArthu...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Brothers and sisters weekend”
Reviewed April 13, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous place to stay. Amazing property for 8 of us to stay. Slight problem with hot water when a few of us were trying to either use the showers or run a bath. Spent most of the time in the conservatory as the seating in the living room was not as comfortable. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justmarga...
South Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic weekend”
Reviewed February 15, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

What a great house for large groups. Saffron is warm and welcoming. Downstairs is well laid out with ample space for our group of 9 adults and a toddler. The kitchen has all you need for for cooking and cleaning up, the big dining table is great. Sitting in the sunroom overlooking the garden and having a sea view was very relaxing. Upstairs the bedrooms and bathrooms are all spacious with plenty of storage space. The garden is lovely, our 18 month old grandson had fun running around. The house is in a very good location next to the golf club. The views are amazing. Our thanks to Kim for helping make our stay very enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large, airy rooms and location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan R
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quality”
Reviewed July 25, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had a great fortnight at Saffron with my family 6 adults and 3 toddlers. The house is Quality throughout and all you need is there especially in the kitchen. The bedrooms are perfect for a large family or group holiday. The lounge/TV room is great but I a agree with a previous reviewer that comfy sofas would be nice in there. Sunroom is wonderful to relax in with a drink and a good read. Garden is massive and great for the children to play in. All in all Saffron is "Quality"

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
523craign
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding Luxury”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We having been coming to Portpatrick for 6 years now and fell in love with the place. This is the first time we have stayed at Saffron which is an outstanding modern home with a touch of an older large cottage. The house has everything you need to make your stay enjoyable. A credit to Kim and the owners Mr & Mrs Baker ! We have already booked for next year. The house really is home from home and situated next to Dunskey Golf Course with incredible views. Thank you for our best week ever in Portpatrick !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katez2
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed February 19, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

No words can truly describe the wonderful house that is saffron. Our break was to celebrate my husbands birthday, we travelled with my mum and my mother and father in law and the family dog and the house was perfect. Kim was a phone call away and everything we could possibly need was situated in the house. The only critism we have is the lounge furniture, cosy sofas would be much better than wooden chairs. However we definately will be booking again next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ah0123
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful house with views to match”
Reviewed January 14, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

This was our second family visit to Saffron House we find it perfect for our get together and we always feel relaxed when we are there. The house is large, comfortable, well looked after with everything you need to hand it really is a home from home.

If you like golf, walking or just chilling out I'm sure you will find Saffron perfect too.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing