We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“popped in for lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterfront Hotel and Bistro

Waterfront Hotel and Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Bar, Seafood, International, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
dumbarton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“popped in for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

good service and good food situated on the level at harbour side with reasonable parking spaces close by.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DumbartonMaurice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    38
    14
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“excellent fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We ate here a couple of times whilst recently in Portpatrick, one lunch and one dinner.
The lunch was delicious even at first the chef had forgotten to put the feta on the feta salad....easily rectified and it was lovely.
For dinner we shared big plate of whitebait and then both opted for the sea bass. The fish was cooked to perfection and beautifully presented.
We did have a few drinks outside at other times of the week, all the staff we met we lovely. A particular thank you to one of the women who was kind enough to bring some water and a biscuit for our dog.
All in all a smashing place

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mazzaManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were visiting the area and called in for Sunday Lunch - not bad lacked a flavour but the meat was delicious. As it was open all day and seeing the battered fish on another diners meal - we decided to go for Lunch later in the week - yuk! on entering the hotel there was a odd damp smell and put us off. So we visit another place further along the water front.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LizzyBen830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great for seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

We were visiting friends in the area doing the Springfest arts festival and were booked to eat in this recommended restaurant. Staff were very helpful and friendly, and we were shown to a lovely table near the window. Specialises in seafood- and there was a great choice- all well cooked and freshly served. Our party particularly enjoyed the seafood chowder, the scallops and the lobster- I ordered 1/2 a lobster but was brought a whole one as it was a 'little smaller than normal'. It was delicious.
Service was perhaps a little slow, but it was very busy on a Saturday night and we were there for the evening anyway.
Most people eat early- last bookings seemed to be about 8.30pm for food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank suziehbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We arrived at a busy time but were still invited to eat in the bar area. Food was really nice, outside there is a great beer garden on the "waterfront".

Would recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller_eon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Hotel and Bistro also viewed

Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Waterfront Hotel and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing