We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cosy cottage”

Review of Moir Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

LizzyJo17...
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely cosy cottage”
Reviewed April 3, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The cottage is in an excellent location, and Portpatrick has some great restaurants and pubs which are only a few minutes walk from Moir Cottage. Everything you need is provided and it is very comfortable. I would definitely recommend it, and I would happily rent it again. I have only not given it five stars because some of the instructions were a bit confusing, and the water heating was a bit of a pain to operate.

Date of stay: March 2016
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2016
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Portpatrick. Thank you for pointing out the misinformation about the towels. We have corrected that and towels are definitely provided. The hot water is a nuisance but can be managed by using the immersion heater for which there is no extra charge.
We would be pleased to see you in the cottage again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
984smc
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cottage right on the sea”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a great week in Moir Cottage. It's literally opposite the harbour wall, so the view is ever-changing, and the harbour turns into a tiny little sandy-with-a-couple-of-rockpools beach when the tide is out, which our kids loved. Portpatrick is low key, with 3 or so quirky shops, 2 convenience/food type shops and a couple of pubs, cafes. Views out to Northern Ireland on a clear day. Fish and chip van in the harbour. Good coastal walking. No midges for us, but we might have been lucky!

The cottage itself was clean, tidy and we found it charming. Three big bedrooms, downstairs bathroom across three floors. Lots of white walls dotted with lovely pieces of art, cosy sitting room, small but fine kitchen, nice quality bedlinen on good beds (we slept like logs!).

Enjoy!

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2015
I am so pleased you loved the view and the location. We really want our guests to have a comfortable and happy holiday.
Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael C
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb”
Reviewed April 9, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We have not been here for 20 years and the cottage has changed drastically, great location by the sea over looking Ireland. The cottage was very well furbished and had everything we needed great to see all the kitchen utensils even if you want to bake a cake.lovely dining area leading to courtyard. Lovely to have a washing machine and dishwasher, with detergents To use. There was 4 adults and we found their was lots of room, the shower was lovely. Great to have wifi to use anywhere in the cottage. Lots of things to do, from relaxing in the 2 pubs with great food, lots of walks, recommended walk to Dunsky castle. Local people are very friendly and helpful finding out about the ferry to belfast.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view from the top bedroom was exquisite.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2015
Hi
I am so pleased you found the cottage so comfortable and well equipped and that you had a good holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lab201169
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great location,great seaviews”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

myself,my husband and our jack russell have just spent 3 nights at moir cottage.looks small from the outside but had 3 huge double bedrooms.good sized livingroom looking on to portpatricks seafront and broadband.location could not be better,close to hotels which all do food and are very dogfriendly.putting green and village shops close by too.

Date of stay: April 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2014
It is always nice to hear that our guests have had a good stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannahyes...
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“From the top bedroom you can wake up to blue sky and sparkling water all the way to Ireland”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Moir Cottage is a proper cottage not a purpose-built "holiday let". It has age, history, eccentricity and touches that root it firmly in Portpatrick tradition. It's right at the heart of the village, yards from the little beach and all the harbour activity but with easy access to the castle, cliffs, moors and glen for longer walks.
There's a happy mix of modern and practical [smart shower; well-equipped kitchen] alongside the occasional well-loved piece of family furniture and an inspired choice of artwork. Its snug - without being smug and precious.
From the top bedroom you can wake to a huge blue sky and sparkling water all the way to Ireland: and from the living room window savour a different sunset every evening.
I've stayed 7 times and will return in 2014: any problems have been resolved immediately and graciously. Long may it continue!

Date of stay: February 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and snugness
Liked least: Lack of outside space - but there's the whole of Portpatrick!
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueCerexh...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If only .... the conservatory (?) had not been leaking - and in a poor state!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage, well appointed, with nice touches. However, needs some T.L.C - and that awful " dining room " ( conservatory ) needs some repairs, cleaning and a smaller table, ect..
The whole cottage is quite cluttered.
It would be good if the back enclosed patio - quite a good space - had been weeded and had some comfy chairs to sit out in.
We felt at the time of year we stayed, with the condition of cottage - for 3 of us - it was expensive.
As we said in the visitors book - love the cottage - ( on the whole ) - AND definitely love PORTPATRICK!!!!! XXXX

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view over Portpatrick Harbour!!!!!
Liked least: Kitchen, dining, back yard. Also - ground floor bathroom serving 3 double bedrooms.
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2013
Our main concern is that people enjoy this 150 year old cottage.We are very sorry the guests had a leaking conservatory. This was due to the neighbours' blocked drain and it has now been repaired. We always advise that people let us know if there is a problem so that we can attend to it immediately. We have many people who return year after year to the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.