We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Port of Call” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blinkbonnie Guest House

Blinkbonnie Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blinkbonnie Guest House
Ranked #9 of 14 Portpatrick B&B and Inns
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“First Port of Call”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

You could not go wrong with this place. We stayed in Portpatrick last week on a whim and had remembered this place from a time before, we were glad that they had a free room! It was just the same, really friendly, clean and tidy and more could not have been done for us.

We were pleased that we went back and will do so again when we next happen to be in Portpatrick.

Oops: I accidently marked excellent for fitness cdoesn to suffer for this : )

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorrabubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at the Blinkbonnie as part of our honeymoon around Scotland after getting married at Gretna Green. We could not have asked for a more pleasant and welcoming environment for our first 2 nights. The hosts were a lovely couple and Lesley made us feel very welcome indeed.. a bottle of spakling wine and a card in the roon were such a nice touch, Thank you. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the views from the patio area were fantastic. It was just a short walk into the beautiful town of Portpatrick and the local pubs and eateries. The breakfast was excellent and the room again had fab views over the harbour. Thank you again to our hosts for a brilliant start to the honeymoon.. we'll be back to visit Portpatrick again and definitely looking to stay at the Blinkbonnie..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woody1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

From the moment we arrived, Robert assisted with our bags, showed us to our room and made us most welcome. The room was clean, bright and very comfortable, and breakfasts were the best we have had in our B & B experiences, cooked by Lesley, and served by Robert.
Lesley and Robert do try to make you feel at home, in an un obtrusive way. We would certainly have no hesitation in recommending our friends to stay at Blinkbonnie.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DHM15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrow, cumbria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We just needed one nights accommodation as we were heading back home after spending the weekend with friends. Portpatrick and Blinkbonnie were suggested as a good place to visit and we were not disappointed. Portpatrick is a lovely place with very friendly locals happy to pass the time of day with visitors. Blinkbonnie is set up a hill overlooking the harbour and has a beautiful well tended garden were you can sit and admire the view.The rooms are all situated on the ground floor and are cosy and spotlessly clean. The ensuite shower was quite small in our room but perfectly adequate and again spotless. The owners Lesley and Robert are very welcoming and served a good hearty breakfast. I wish we had had the time to stay longer hopefully next time we will.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandylou42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for five nights, the room was very nice and spotlessly clean. Lesley the owner could not do enough for you. The breakfast was lovely. The area around Portpatrick is absolutely gorgeous and Blinkbonnie is ideally situated for exploring. We will definitely be returning to Blinkbonnie

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankstretton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Blinkbonnie Guest House is beautifully situated at the end of quiet lane overlooking Portpatrick Harbour and the sea. I can imagine sitting on the front terrace in the sun - the seats were there, the sun wasn't!
We had two wonderful days away, met up with friends and enjoyed the beautiful walks and views.
The breakfasts were lovely (thank you Lesley) and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to going back again to Blinkbonnie.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliBCoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

After spending two nights at blinkbonnie we wished we had booked four,comfy beds,immaculately clean room,a warm welcome from lesley,and fantastic breakfast,throw in a brilliant view from the terrace what more do you need?we wll be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yammyxj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
0.2 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
1.8 mi away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunskey Guest House
Dunskey Guest House
#6 of 14 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blinkbonnie Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blinkbonnie Guest House

Property: Blinkbonnie Guest House
Address: School Brae | Stranraer, Portpatrick DG9 8LG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Portpatrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blinkbonnie Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blinkbonnie has 3 double en-suite and 2 twin en-suite rooms, all are located on the ground floor, rooms have digital tv and hospitality trays. We have our own private off road car park next to the Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LateRooms, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Blinkbonnie Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blinkbonnie Guest House Portpatrick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing