We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place on a special place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Harbour House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Portpatrick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We booked the family room for one night and the girl who took the booking sounded like she was really keen to see us.
We arrived in the middle of a storm but this did not dampen the occasion and our room was fantastic with a big double and 2 singles.
The bathroom was clean and modern with a great shower.
Flat screen tv with DVD player very comfortable.
Bar prices are cheap and so is the food. The meal was good too nothing to fancy but good value and the kids loved their meal too.
The whole place and people where really friendly the locals even lent the boys some DVDs to watch in the room.
Everyone in the bar made a fuss of our dog and really we should stayed longer what a smashing place.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
There are newer reviews for The Harbour House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 190 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed at the Harbour House on 23rd November 13, My son was taking part in a Golf Competition at the local Portpatrick Golf Club.
We arrived early well before check-in time, however we were given the key to our room right away and allowed to put our case in the room, the modern contemporary decor made the room very pleasant, the bathroom had a modern shower, w.c. and wash basin.....most important of all the room was spotlessly clean, with fresh towels on each bed in this twin room.
After the Golf we returned to the Hotel and ate in the new annex conservatory, our meal was beautifully prepared and I must recommend the Rib-eye Steak and the Onion rings are the best ever, Breakfast in the morning was equally delicious.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I just spent 3 nights here with another couple and I have to say it was excellent. The rooms have all been refurbished we had room 5 and 8, bathroom a bit small in room 8 but didn't spoil it for us. Breakfast was delicious, staff were very helpful. Before we left we booked in again for next August lifeboat week, cant wait to go back. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 & 5 are the best with fantastic views of the harbour
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holajulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed for 3 nights on the recommendation of a family member who visits regularly and we were not disappointed. We stayed in room 4, which was equipped with a massive bed that we didn't want to get out of on a morning, 2 singles, modern tv, DVD player, electric fire and the shower was amazing! The views out of the window of the Harbour were breathtaking and on a clear day you could see over to Ireland. The staff were wonderful and accommodated us very well with my other half whose a fussy eater, the general atmosphere was laid back and the locals as well as the hotel staff were more than welcoming! Will definitely be back and can't praise the Place highly enough!!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank sarthurs0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Have eaten here several times this summer and have never had a complaint, even from the fustiest kids.

Great value for money and fantastic views. Food alway excellent quality.

There was a bit of a wait at very busy times but this was also sorted as soon as possible.

Staff very helpful and polite.

Love the new extension!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Mummybear31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We spent one night here while at a friends wedding nearby. The hotel was excellent in all respects. We found the staff very helpful and welcoming, and they dealt with our check in and out with speed and efficiency. We ate lunch, dinner and breakfast here, and all were very tasty - there is lots of competition in the town and this place really holds it's own. Our room was modern, with high quality fixtures and fittings, and had excellent views over the harbour. When we checked out we vowed to return for a longer stay.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank vicelikegrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Harbour House Hotel is a friendly B&B ideally located in the village of Portpatrick with sweeping views of the harbor and coast. We had a lovely first floor room (2nd floor U.S. style) with one windowseat/window overlooking the sea, another overlooking the village, and a gas fireplace in between. The hotel has been recently remodeled and the large rooms (we had No. 4) have been very tastefully furnished. Breakfasts were cooked to order and the staff couldn't have been friendlier. We especially appreciated the beautiful bouquet of flowers waiting for us in our room when we checked in (we were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary). You can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank terrymarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
0.1 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
109 reviews
5.8 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
371 reviews
11.6 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour House Hotel

Address: 53 Main Street, Portpatrick DG9 8JW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Portpatrick
Price Range: $64 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour House Hotel Portpatrick
The Harbour House Hotel Portpatrick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing