We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“J & M Brown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Harbour House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Portpatrick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
steeton village
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“J & M Brown”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I just spent 3 nights here with another couple and I have to say it was excellent. The rooms have all been refurbished we had room 5 and 8, bathroom a bit small in room 8 but didn't spoil it for us. Breakfast was delicious, staff were very helpful. Before we left we booked in again for next August lifeboat week, cant wait to go back. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 & 5 are the best with fantastic views of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holajulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    40
    14
    7
    7
See reviews for
32
84
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed for 3 nights on the recommendation of a family member who visits regularly and we were not disappointed. We stayed in room 4, which was equipped with a massive bed that we didn't want to get out of on a morning, 2 singles, modern tv, DVD player, electric fire and the shower was amazing! The views out of the window of the Harbour were breathtaking and on a clear day you could see over to Ireland. The staff were wonderful and accommodated us very well with my other half whose a fussy eater, the general atmosphere was laid back and the locals as well as the hotel staff were more than welcoming! Will definitely be back and can't praise the Place highly enough!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sarthurs0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Have eaten here several times this summer and have never had a complaint, even from the fustiest kids.

Great value for money and fantastic views. Food alway excellent quality.

There was a bit of a wait at very busy times but this was also sorted as soon as possible.

Staff very helpful and polite.

Love the new extension!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mummybear31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night here while at a friends wedding nearby. The hotel was excellent in all respects. We found the staff very helpful and welcoming, and they dealt with our check in and out with speed and efficiency. We ate lunch, dinner and breakfast here, and all were very tasty - there is lots of competition in the town and this place really holds it's own. Our room was modern, with high quality fixtures and fittings, and had excellent views over the harbour. When we checked out we vowed to return for a longer stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank vicelikegrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Harbour House Hotel is a friendly B&B ideally located in the village of Portpatrick with sweeping views of the harbor and coast. We had a lovely first floor room (2nd floor U.S. style) with one windowseat/window overlooking the sea, another overlooking the village, and a gas fireplace in between. The hotel has been recently remodeled and the large rooms (we had No. 4) have been very tastefully furnished. Breakfasts were cooked to order and the staff couldn't have been friendlier. We especially appreciated the beautiful bouquet of flowers waiting for us in our room when we checked in (we were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary). You can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terrymarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the night when down visiting a family member, room was comfortable, very nice Decor and homely, dinner and breakfast was lovely, view was stunning, staff was very helpful, thanks to Linzi for the call about my I phone charger I left many thanks will use again very soon

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bluebabe31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just back from a few days break in portpatrick, at the harbour house hotel. Stayed in a fantastic room, recently refurbished, with wonderful views. Breakfast was great and so were the staff. Ate here in the evening one night and couldn't fault the food. Will definitely be back again next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjb78531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
0.1 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
107 reviews
5.8 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour House Hotel

Property: The Harbour House Hotel
Address: 53 Main Street, Portpatrick DG9 8JW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Portpatrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour House Hotel Portpatrick
The Harbour House Hotel Portpatrick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing