We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently good food”

Crown Hotel Restaurant & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $16
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Crown offers an extensive bar menu from noon till 9:30 PM everyday. We also offer A La Carte from 6PM till 9:30 PM. We have ben a previous winner of the AA's "SEAFOOD PUB OF SCOTLAND" With Lobster,Crab,Scallops and Mussels along with Seabass,Cod,Salmon and Plaice on the bar menu there is a great choice in Seafood. We also have locally sources meat dishes with seasonal dishes also available.
Morecambe9
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Consistently good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Crown Hotel has a lovely bar with a roaring open fire, perfect for relaxing after a day out. We ate here three times during a five night stay in Stranraer. There is a wide choice of food on the menu, from scones, to sandwiches and full main meals.

Every meal we had was cooked perfectly, was piping hot on arrival and the service was extremely quick.

The Crown has a warm welcoming bar, they have a wide choice of beers available and the food is served all day, which suited us, giving our days the flexibility we required.

We would definitely recommend stopping off here if you are in the area.

There is also plenty of seating outside to enjoy the view over the port.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morecambe9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    161
    58
    33
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Worth the trip every time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Normally go here on a Saturday but went Easter Sunday this time . We were looking forward to some fish as it is always great here but were tempted by the Sunday special of rib of beef. We were not disappointed - it was delicious and we managed to get a seat next to the roaring fire. Contentment!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very busy place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Party of six arrived here at 6.30pm hoping to miss the busiest time it was packed tho we were lucky enough to catch a couple just leaving and grab a table. I had salmon for starters which was delicious and scampi and chips for main. Everyone in party enjoyed their meal we were all totally stuffed as the portions are very substantial. Including beers and wine the bill was £147 which I would call a very cheap night. Thank you Crown for a lovely night

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunderlandPgj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food but get the menus sorted”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a short stay in Portpatrick and as usual the crown is the first destination. The food brilliant as usual but the menu in the front of house is very limited. When I checked our menu against one from another table I realised two pages were missing from ours and one page missing from the table next to ours.
The music was very good on the Saturday night 3 young guys playing requests- top notch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnboysupergolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food was great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Pheasant from Dunskey estate was wonderful. My wife's loin of cod au poivre was brilliant and really good value. The seared scallops were better than any we have ever had; succulent, delicate, melt in your mouth, sweet and just delightful. The bar is warm and welcoming by the fire.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Firmandveryfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown Hotel Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Crown Hotel Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing