We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great family get together”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of South Cliff House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dianebrow...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great family get together”
Reviewed July 21, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

A wonderful few days in Portpatrick. South Cliff House was in a super location. Very comfortable well equipped house. The views are stunning and the weather made it. Would highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2018
Glad you enjoyed staying at Southcliff. You picked a very good week. Hope to see you return soon. Laura & Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robson88
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First class accommodation with a warm welcome”
Reviewed February 28, 2018 for a stay in August 2017

Certainly a room with a view! Lovely house with friendly owners. Great breakfast. Everything was perfect for a quiet weekend in such a pretty little harbour town. Our room had a bay window with an enormous seascape view. Great modern bathroom and comfortable big bed.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen F
Mullumbimby
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great B and B”
Reviewed October 14, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Enjoyed two nights in a beautifully restored room with a wonderful sea view from a couch in the bay window. Andrew and Laura are great hosts. Good Scottish breakfast. Some nice scenic drives from Portpatrick, a quaint fishing port.

Rooms Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MollyWhit
Bembridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay, accommodating owners and amazing views.”
Reviewed September 19, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had to change our travel plans last minute due to traffic issues, however Andrew was extremely understanding and lessened our stressful situation considerably!
We visit the Port a couple of times a year on average, as know the area well.
When we did finally arrive, it was a beautifully sunny day and the view from our room (2) was exceptional. The room was huge with a sofa positioned to enjoy the view, immaculately clean with a really comfy bed, great linen and wonderfully fluffy towels and bathrobes. Fresh milk and water was provided in a fridge on the landing, along with homemade shortbread in a jar in the room. Much better than pre-packed milk and mass produced biscuits.
The bathroom was stunning (loved the floor tiles!), with an amazing view whilst you were showering. After a great nights sleep, we met Laura who as well as being lovely and friendly, cooked a great breakfast! The breakfast room was cosy, lovely views out to sea and we loved the decoration. We had pre-ordered breakfast when we arrived from a good choice of options (the veggie mushroom/spinach/poached egg was yummy), and also chosen our preferred 'time slot' - which actually worked out really well for us as we had a long journey home.
Southcliff is a stones throw from all the pubs/bars etc., and there are plenty of places to eat in the Port. There are also lots of places to stay - and we have stayed at the majority (Crown/Downshire/Fernhill/HarbourHouse) - but we will in future check on their website and if rooms are free would definitely stay at Southcliff again rather than anywhere else.

Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzie D
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely B&B”
Reviewed September 5, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Booked last minute when I decided to go to the Portpatrick Folk Festival. Laura was lovely had to phone a few times as we had trouble with traffic and road closures but she was very accommodating with our later arrival. Room was lovely, good quality duvet and huge, fluffy white towels. Tea and coffee were in room with the nicest shortbread I've ever had, Laura had left fresh milk and bottled water in a fridge just outside our room which was a nice touch rather than the small pre packed milks. Breakfast was great, hot food cooked to order - I had poached egg with spinach and mushroom which was delicious, choices of cereal, fruit and juice and Laura offered top up for tea. Overall a really nice stay right in the heart of the village I'd definitely recommend to anyone going to Portpatrick.

Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelang...
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“An exceptionally classy B & B”
Reviewed September 5, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A 6 out of 5 for this one! Southcliff House has been beautifully refurbished as a luxury B & B. £115 per night for the largest room might be considered top-endish by some but, I'd suggest, you get what you pay for. The warm and friendly hosts, Laura and Andrew, have either taken on board every single suggestion of every guest who ever stayed before we got there, or they thought of everything from the start.

Every need was catered for, and much more besides - a whole range of teas and coffee in the room, together with a jar of Laura's addictive homemade shortbread...and FRESH MILK in the fridge provided instead of these stupid little UHT cartons! BIG rooms to spread out in, with sofas overlooking the sea. super-comfy beds, BIG bathroom to relax in, classy toiletries, bathrobe and slippers provided. Delicious breakfast with home-made bread, and as much, or as little, as you want, hot or cold, (just ask on the sheet of paper provided if you want more than one egg!).

This was a wonderful, relaxing, two-night stay. Whenever we next feel like getting away from it all, we know to choose Southcliff House in this lovely little harbour in the area around Scotland's 'Land's End'.

Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine...
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointed”
Reviewed July 31, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Loved the big room and bathroom. Nice view(will comment on that later). Breakfast adequate(comment later). Comfortable bed. Nice touch with the binnoculars. Not a fan of the toiletries provided. Andrew the host was very pleasant and only met Laura the hostess on the morning we left. Seemed pleasant enough as well.

Here is a list of observations I was not entirely happy with.
No bath robe or slippers provided although this is stated in the advert provided.
Expected at least a small packet of biscuits on the tea tray for the price paid per night.
Fiddly bottles of toiletries which were out of date. Could do with something a bit bigger and more luxurious.
The windows in the room either need a good clean on the outside or if double glazed the seals are faulty. Hampered the view.
More choice at breakfast only orange juice provided. Apple or cranberry would be good as an alternative. Bread only supplied? Expected at least two poached eggs only one supplied. No offer of refill for beverage. No choice of alternative fruit.
On arrival no one to greet us as Andrew called out on the lifeboat and hostess was away. Note on the door to call. No signal at establishment so had to go further into the village. Answering service so left message. Andrew eventually called giving me instructions on how to get in and provided the room number. We eventually met him later that evening. Not a great start to the weekend break. With a few tweeks here and there this could be worth five stars on trip advisor. Maybe we just didn't pick the right weekend. As a seasoned traveller all over the world we were slightly disappointed as the title of my review states. For the price paid for two nights £230 I expected better.

Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing