We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in every way”

Campbell's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every way”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Popped in to book a table a few days ahead: the welcome and fabulous smells told me all I wanted to know.

Our party of three all had a a wonderful meal, service was excellent and prices fair ( house wine top notch)

Only tiny criticism is of the coffee, which (in common with everywhere else we had coffee in the area) was weak and uninspiring. The dinner and everything else made up for it though!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vic2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    95
    28
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Linton, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great set menu on Sundays”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Campbell's is great on a Sunday as the set menu makes it's very cheap. Food is really good and extensive wine list. Worth booking in advance as popular.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Seafood Experience”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Our first evening in Portpatrick and found the Campbells Restaurant on the harbour front but closed on the Monday so we booked for theTuesday. Good job we did as is was almost fully booked.
Our Family of 4 arrived to a warm welcome and seated on a table a bit small for us but the menu presented made up for it
Drink selection ok and served with a smile
Our starters were soon in front of us and were a little disappointing with the Scallops over cooked. Main courses were excellent and well presented. Overall this restaurant is very good with well prepared food and pleasant staff. Will certainly visit again

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frigiliana, Spain
Level Contributor
127 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A Cold And Windy Day, But A Warm, Attentive Welcome”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

It must be nearly twenty years since I was last in Portpatrick, and so Campbell's Restaurant was new to me. However it came highly recommended by my wife and daughter who discovered it last year, and so five of us (three adults and two children) booked in for Sunday lunch today. The contrast between the unseasonal weather outside, and the warm, friendly ambience inside could hardly have been greater.
The choice of dishes on the Sunday Special menu, though restricted, was still enough to present difficulties in choosing. I chose the Goujons of Plaice with homemade tartare sauce, and a herb salad to start, and to follow breaded lamb cutlets of local lamb on a bed of sauteéd onions with freshly made mint sauce, rosemary potatoes and a selection of vegetables. Dessert was beyond my capability!
Everything that we had as a party was beautifully cooked and presented and clean plates all round were the order of the day.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank payasoru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best steak in a long time!”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

This restaurant completely exceeded my expectations yet again. The fillet steak was cooked exactly the way I like it and was to die for. The chips looked homemade and were also really tasty. The rest of my group ordered lobster which they equally enjoyed! One of the best places to eat in the south west of Scotland!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank hughannak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Campbell's Restaurant also viewed

Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway
Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Campbell's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing