We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommended”
other travelers have booked this property
The Attic is a relaxing haven for man and beast alike!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Attic is a relaxing haven for man and beast alike!
Chill with a good read! Cook ?  Trip to local seafood restaurant ? Takeaway? Choices choices?
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
The Attic is a relaxing haven for man and beast alike!
Chill with a good read!
Cook ?  Trip to local seafood restaurant ? Takeaway? Choices choices?
Want a sofa day? Go ahead?
Have an enlightening experience at The Attic!
Soak all the stresses away !
Don't forget your wellies and explore our beautiful coastline and Scottish countryside.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mabel8888
1 review
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed May 21, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

everything you need is provided in the flat to make it cosy and homely. The location is perfect, in the centre of the village but in a nice quiet street so no noise disturbance and only a one minute walk to get to the seafront.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C
Arklow, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment in a fantastic village”
Reviewed February 25, 2017 for a stay in August 2016

I stayed at the Attic from August 2016 to End of February 2017 and felt at home from day one. Steve was fantastic and left the usual welcoming gifts of wine, tea, coffee and milk. If I needed anything Steve was just a phone call away and responded almost immediately The apartment itself is a like a Tardis with the inside being far bigger than the outside suggests, it is also very comfortable and has all the required implements. The village and surrounding area is so peaceful it's just amazing. The locals are very friendly and you can get good food from the Portpantry and Campbell's restaurant. You can also get takeaways from the Portpantry or the Galloway at the caravan park on the hill, the Crown pub has different real ales every week and a homely feel.
All in all I would definitely recommend this place and can't wait to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine M
Middlesbrough
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great hideaway and only 2 minutes from beach”
Reviewed August 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Great accommodation, clean with all you need for a self catering holiday. Beds very comfortable. Well equiped kitchen. Greatly appreciated the mini toiletries, milk and wine. We only ate breakfast in the accommodation as there are local pubs, restaurants and takeaways to try. Lovely takeaway pizza locally which has a restaurant open some evenings which looked very inviting, unfortunately we had dogs so missed out. Owners of property very helpful in booking process and popped round to see us but we missed them. Many excellent beaches around. We went to open air theatre in the grounds of a ruined castle for some culture! Lots of lovely walks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic holiday accomodation - we will definitely be back again”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We recently decided to visit Portpatrick with our two children aged 4 and 3 for a couple of nights. We were recommended this accommodation and so pleased we decided to book with the attic. It was a great size for the four of us, the beds were really comfortable, it was extremely clean and equipped throughout. The accommodation is a minutes walk from the beach, shops and also the pubs/restaurants where we had some amazing food for dinner. The kids loved their time in Portpatrick and felt at home in the attic accommodation and so did we. The extra special touches were also noted and showed how much Steve & Christine cared about providing an excellent rememberable experience to their guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweeneyfa...
Shotts, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great apartment, deceptively spacious, 1 minute from beach”
Reviewed June 5, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We were the first to rent this cracking wee flat, and couldn't have been happier. Stephen gave us half an hour to get settled in then arrived to make sure everything was ok, (he'd even left milk, tea, coffee,...and a bottle of wine for us!). He made us feel very welcome and didn't leave until we were shown where everything was and we were happy and content - true gent.
The beds were very comfortable, the decor was tasteful and there was more than enough room for all the family. The kitchen-diner was a great space and could easily cope with a bigger group. Superb location too,..it was literally a 60 second walk to the beach, restaurants and pubs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No garden space - but it is an attic apartment !
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing