We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book another hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clonyard House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dalbeattie
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Book another hotel”
Reviewed May 25, 2010

The whole hotel needs a complete makeover. Its grubby outdated and neglected. Beware of staff overcharging. CHECK YOUR BILL.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sleepyeyesYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    34
    19
    8
    10
See reviews for
25
40
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Had been to this hotel about 5 years ago so although not staying there we booked a table for dinner. Arrived to find a drunk propping up the bar and swearing in a loud voice. No sign of any manager as the whole place seemed to be being run by about 6 young girls who clearly had no idea how to deal with the man. We told the girl behind the bar that we had a table booked but 20 minutes later nothing had happened. We spoke to a waitress and again said we had a table booked she simply said "Oh thats alright then as long as you have ordered" and turned and walked away ignoring our protests that we were trying to get someone to show us our table and take an order. Neredless to say after waiting 35 minutes we went elsewhere to eat.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dalesrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2010

I will keep this short,went for lunch. toilets clean,bar area is ok,lunch time menu we found to be in our opinion below average.one meal was supposed to be served with noodles (looked like sparghetti). Lasagne was average,side salads where very tired,on a good note desserts where tasty, though served dolloped on small side plates. Sorry to disagree with previous comments but overall i felt the standards did not match what you would expect from a 3* star hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rutland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2009

stayed at this hotel with the wife in November this year. biggest asset to this hotel is the chef. her sauces and how she employs them would not be out of place in a 4 star hotel. as to the hotel itself it is what you would expect from a 2 star hotel. We found the room certainally in need of some TLC but it was clean and functional. As with some of the hotels we have stayed in the plumbing was probably the thing that most opened the room up to question! we found the staff warm and friendly and would reccomend this hotel to any one who knows the expectations of a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seasonedtraveller67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We had a fantastic holiday a few weeks ago when my husband and I brought my gran to this beautiful hotel, where the service we received was the best in a long time.
M C. Preston UK

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank temboPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Unaware that it was a bank holiday weekend, we called a dozen places and finally ended up in the Clonyard House Hotel - the description sounded nice: wooded acreage, gardens, restored house.

The grounds are lovely. However, the hotel is old, ill-kept, and far past it's prime. Our room was the dirtiest hotel room that I have ever been in. Period. I didn't want to touch anything in the bathroom, and if we had had any other options, I would not have stayed.

We were greeted and shown to our room (#16) down two long halls in additions to the original house that look like they were modeled after the worst Vegas strip mall hotels (as my husband commented) - rows of rooms facing a windowed hallway that overlooked both nice gardens and storage areas. Everything is ground floor, and we had a door in our room leading to the small front gardens.

Now, I LIKE old houses, and I cut B&Bs and hotels that are in old houses a lot of slack -- things are not always in perfect working order, they are quirky, sometimes they are not scrubbed to shining whiteness in old bathrooms...that's fine. I don't have a problem with a room that is not perfect, as long as the basics are clean.

But this room was just dirty. Yes, the toilet was scrubbed (with a 'sanitized for your protection' banner, even), and the sink, but everything else? Not so much.

The carpet in our room looked like it had been pulled up and then just tossed back down over the floor (or hadn't been fastened down at all in the first place, as there were jagged gaps around the walls in the bathroom and near the door). The linens were gray (although they were clean, I think, just very old and worn - I took the bedspread off the bed immediately, though), the bathroom tiles were lined with blackened grout and mold around the caulk, the bathtub had holes in it where a handle once was. I was seriously squicked out, which is pretty hard to do.

On a good note - we had dinner in the bar with quite decent bar food and friendly service, and breakfast was served in the dining room, also with friendly, quick service.

Overall, the hotel is in need of a serious refurb and cleaning, with some attention to fixing the waterstained ceilings, missing light fixtures, and shabbiness in the public areas. It's a shame really - the hotel is in a lovely location and the restaurant seems to be very popular. Some of the other reviews are positive, so I have to wonder if we just ended up at the far end of the hall in the worst room.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank phouka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

While the linen was clean the bedding really needed replacing since the duvets and pillows were quite old. Although having said that, they were pleased to replace pillows in one room when requested. Lots of air fresheners in room so think there might have been a damp problem. Staff were very pleasant and believe the new owners are in the progress of updating the hotel. Car park was always packed in the evening so presume the restaurant and bar were popular. Breakfast was good.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — old bedding
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trillion001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalbeattie
3.8 mi away
The Birchtree Hotel
The Birchtree Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dalbeattie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
14.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anchor Hotel at Kippford
0.9 mi away
Rosemount Guest House
Rosemount Guest House
#1 of 4 in Kippford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clonyard House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clonyard House Hotel

Property: Clonyard House Hotel
Address: Colvend Rockcliffe, Dalbeattie DG5 4QW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dalbeattie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dalbeattie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clonyard House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clonyard House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clonyard House Hotel Dalbeattie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing