We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful hotel in extensive secluded grounds.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clonyard House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dalbeattie
Newcastle-under-Lyme
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A peaceful hotel in extensive secluded grounds.”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel a number of times in the past but this was the first time out of season.
The guest rooms are mostly in a courtyard extension to the house and all have French Window access to an outside patio. The rooms have recently been refurbished and the staff remain friendly but few in number in October; one person cannot cope adequately with breakfasts and checkouts!
Even the normally excellent dinners were below par and one meal was almost inedible (not charged for when we complained).
The hotel location is very good for access to the tiny resort of Rockcliffe and attractive fishing port of Kippford.
There is a "Breakaway" rate for stays of 3 days - not available for on line bookings!

Room Tip: Lower numbered rooms are closer to the house and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    37
    21
    11
    12
See reviews for
29
43
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

love the kippford area and have stayed in log cabin before struggled to find somewhere decent to eat passed thru and had lunch here earlier in the year and noticed garden rooms which although look a little 70 ish were ideal for us as we take our dog everywhere. we stayed for one night last saturday on our way home and couldnt have been more pleased wasnt expecting much but the rooms are clean and have everything you need beds comfy loads of hot water ok the bathrooms a bit dated but spotless. meal s were excellent good choice and value . i would not hesitate to stay here again.value for money what more can you ask for

Room Tip: garden rooms ideal for dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mustangsuzy264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I would reiterate the comments that have already been made about this venue, which we stayed and dined in for two nights. On the positive side the food is excellent with a good range of choices freshly prepared each evening. The staff were generally friendly, but the waiting staff desperately need more training and were incredibly slow.

Our room in the garden wing was clean with a pleasant aspect, but the curtains were wholly inadequate, so our baby did not settle until it was dark and woke very early. The walls are very thin, so we were woken each time anyone came to bed, so had two terrible night's sleep. Also, dogs are allowed to stay in the rooms, which added to the noise and made me nervous to let my daughter crawl on the floor.

I was very glad to have read reviews prior to attending, we were part of a large party and on checking our bill we had been overcharged by £400!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FuturaMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at clonyard hotel for two nights as we had a wedding in Colvend and most of the wedding party were booked in there as well.

I do not agree with the comments about cleanliness...our room was very clean and although the decor was not modern the room was incredibly comfortable and I slept very well (my room was very quiet and looks out into a lovely garden).

We had dinner there on the first night and the meals were yummy. I had steak pie and my husband had a sirloin steak which he thought was excellent.

The owner of the hotel, Nick, was really welcoming and incredibly helpful. I have a new born and the staff made sure we were well looked after and had everything we needed.

I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a good quality 3star hotel with great food and comfortable rooms.

It was a lovely part of the country for a wedding (if a little cold) and although the wedding didn't take place at Clonyard it was a great place to stay for the weekend

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millymoon14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2011

A group of six (all male) stayed at the Clonyard for 2 weeks. We worked irregular hours, often leaving early, sometimes returning late. The best thing for us was that nothing was too much trouble for Nick, the owner and chef, or his friendly helpful staff. The menu was full of good, wholesome options (often provided late in the evening for us, without a grumble) and the bar cosy and welcoming.

The bedrooms were were adequate; sufficiently spacious, kept clean for us, beds were comfortable and the setting very quiet. Bathrooms were functional.

I think the best one-word description for the Clonyard House Hotel is unpretentious.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-3 are in the main house, 4 and higher in the annex wing. Annex rooms are all ground floor w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We had booked our table of 10 in advance and upon arrival was taken into a dining room which was half lit and was so cold as none of the radiators had been switched on. I had to ask the waitress to put them on. Whilst the bar area ( with plenty of tables with people eating) was buzzing, our room was dead! The food we ordered was okay. Not even good value for money. We all left promptly after our mains. Never to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Noddyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dalbeattie hotels

Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

The hotel is a country House situated in lovely grounds with a lake. The rooms are a little tired but were kept clean. The majority of the rooms are on the ground floor but they are great for the less able bodied and have a small patio and seating, with a view over the garden.
We stayed on a B & B basis but chose to eat dinner in the hotel restaurant.
Breakfast was partly buffet with help youself selctions of cereal, yoghurt, fruit juice etc., and a menu of cooked items made to order, I can especially recommend the smoked haddock with poached egg!!!
The menu for dinner was superb and diverse, all served with a separate selection of vegetables and potatoes or chips.
The bar area had an open fire which made it a welcoming and cosy place to spend the evenings.
The area around the hotel is beautiful, with the beautiful villages of Kippford, Rockcliffe and Sandyhills well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nettie004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalbeattie
15.6 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
422 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#5 of 5 in Castle Douglas
482 reviews
14.9 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,058 reviews
6.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
86 reviews
15.1 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clonyard House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clonyard House Hotel

Property: Clonyard House Hotel
Address: Colvend Rockcliffe, Dalbeattie DG5 4QW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dalbeattie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dalbeattie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clonyard House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Clonyard House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clonyard House Hotel Dalbeattie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing